We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub food”
Review of The Oak Wheel Pub

The Oak Wheel Pub
Ranked #100 of 391 Restaurants in Scarborough
Price range: US$6 - US$26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Traditional Family run Inn situated in the village of Burniston, 4 miles north of Scarborough and 16 miles south of Whitby, Offering a well stocked bar with real ales, Homecooked Meals with special Boards, Open log Fire, Garden Seating, Undercover Smoking area, 5 En-suite bedrooms (bed and Breakfast),Free Wi-Fi and Free Parking.
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

We were going to walk here but decided against it as it seemed a long way from Scalby Lodge. We were waited on and they even fetched us drinks. We ordered haddock and chips on a special deal of 2 meals for £16. The haddock was light and flaky, the batter was crisp, the chips were amazing proper chips! We had a desert, my friend just vanilla ice cream, I had sticky toffee pudding, which was one of the nicest I’ve ever had. The best was it all came to less than £30.

1  Thank 186400Caroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakwhee, Owner at The Oak Wheel Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Dear User 186400Caroloine

Thank you for taking your time to leave us a comment, we are glad that you where able to try our fresh local haddock and glad that you enjoyed it a well

Thank you again for your comment

Kind Regards

Mr S Hull & The Oak Wheel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

Went for Sunday lunch roast beef was delicious. Great Yorkshire puddings lovely veg. Chips slightly under cooked. Service spot on. Will be back soon

Thank MarinaYORK246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakwhee, Owner at The Oak Wheel Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Dear User Marina York 246

I would like to thank you for your comment with regards your sunday lunch with us at The Oak Wheel

We are glad that you enjoyed your meal with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind Regards

Mr S Hull & The Oak Wheel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

Visited recently for the first time with a friend, what a lovely welcoming place this is, Traditional decor which I love to see, I noticed a well stocked bar with a good gin collection & Birra Moretti on draft which is one of my favourites now too the food, as it was lunchtime when we visited I ordered a ham & cheese omelette with chips & salad, beautifully cooked & very tasty I must say, nothing was a problem for Shaun & his team so needless to say I will be back to hopefully sample a fish dish as the specials look yummy many thanks Shaun you do a cracking job & long may it continue

Thank pixiepotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakwhee, Owner at The Oak Wheel Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Dear User Pixiepotter

I would like to take this time to thank you for your kind comments that you have written about your visit to us at The Oak Wheel, we are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and enjoyed your lunch as we take pride in our food and service

I'm glad you noticed our Gin collection as this is a new starter to The Oak Wheel and we keep getting more!

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Oak Wheel and hopefully you can try another one off our homemade dishes lunch or evening

Kind Regards

Mr S Hull & The Oak Wheel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018

We were staying nearby and fancied eating away from our hotel. We were not disappointed. Great value, fish and chips £10, baked salmon £12, starters and sweets approx £5. It was quiet on our mid week visit so service was really quick. We would have no hesitation on eating here again.

Thank Plasmadreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakwhee, Owner at The Oak Wheel Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

Dear User Plasmadreamer

Thank you for your comment with your visit to or pub too eat, we are glad that you enjoyed your meal and time with us

We look forward to welcoming you to The Oak Wheel again

Kind Regards

Mr S Hull
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018

We booked at the Oak Wheel for a 'big birthday' dinner as we very much like this place and especially for the fillet steak. This meal is not a cheap option but for special occasions we like to push the boat out because of the quality and care taken with steak meals here. We've been lots of times before and never been disappointed with the welcome, ambience. customer service and overall value. I don't mind paying for good service and good food cooked professionally. Tonight's experience was abysmal. For the whole two hours we were there only 10 people either dining or drinking, a very flat atmosphere, two small junior school children being looked after in the bar/restaurant area, looked like the parent was one of the staff, and the quality of food when it eventually arrived was extremely poor. We waited almost an hour for two fillet steaks with salad and chips and a jug of peppercorn sauce. The steak and salad arrived several minutes before the chips, consequently the mushrooms and tomatoes were cold when the chips arrived. I told the waitress that the mushrooms and tomatoes were cold, the plates were taken away and the fillet steak heated up which overcooked it from medium to well done and tough. The mushrooms and tomatoes remained cold - the tomatoes were under-cooked anyway so little chance of improving without seasoning and a good few mins in a hot oven or grill. This meal was in no way prepared and cooked by a professional chef, more by someone who had no understanding,or training and especially no respect or care for the food or for the customer. A one course meal with a bottle of wine (£14.95) cost over £70 for two people - in no way did we have any value for money and we will vote with our feet and never go back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank jayandm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Oak Wheel Pub also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Burniston, Scarborough
Burniston, Scarborough
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Oak Wheel Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing