We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great roast dinner”

The King Richard III Restaurant
Ranked #40 of 391 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Traditional Licensed British Restaurant and Bar serving good food and a wide selection of drinks all day. Indoor seating for 115, outside seating for 50, overlooking the harbour. Our menu is extensive and families are welcome; we have baby changing facilities in both the men's and ladies toilets and highchairs are available.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We met up here with some others from our family for a Sunday roast dinner. We had a variety of meals, mine wad roast chicken. Plenty of meat and lots to accompany it. A good meal.

Thank Charles_and_Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 61 of 479 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2018

Stopped for a quick bit to eat and pint. Lovely food, cooked fresh and fast service. Nice pint of Maltsmiths too!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bingonasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

We didnt go in for food but did stop for a drink. Good traditional decor, friendly staff and a nice pint.

Thank Ryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

Arrggggghhhhhhh what's happened to this place??
Last year on our spring break we ate here & loved it, couldn't wait to rush back again and fill our bellys.
We nipped in last week, eagley awaiting for a roast beef dinner (always have that when visiting this establishment) and I couldn't of been much more disappointed.
The meat was fatty & tubie, Yorkshire pudding tasted like it had been cooked weeks ago (burnt weeks ago) then half reheated, I know that's what happens but it was burnt & cold at the same time.
It was all very bland and sad looking.
Other guests in our group had nice meals though, nice chips, generous topping on jacket potatoes, fresh salad.
The bill was the final straw, I'm very sure prices have gone up a lot from last year, not sure if it's on the food or drinks (or both) but that was an expensive outting.
We stayed in Scarborough for two weeks, ate out every day, but unfortunately only once here. Was a real shame.
Maybe it was just unfortunate, on our way out there was children outside that had ordered ice-creams in a bowl, simple ice-cream... But someone in the kitchen had drizzled caremal sauce all over it, they obviously didn't like it so they all left.
I feel very uncomfortable complaining face to face , so didn't say anything, yes suppose I should of said something but I didn't want to be the person in our group to bring down a good time.
The till lad was lovely, I felt bad approaching him to say my meal was rubbish.
It wasn't very nice seeing kitchen staff eat there dinner a couple of tables behind us as we was leaving. It was a quiet day but never the less it looked unprofessional.

1  Thank familytrips280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018 via mobile

We always call hete when in scarborough however this time we called for brunch !! Yes the food was yummy i got a bacon and sausage butty .. one sausage !! ... plus it did seem a bit exspensive this time .. beans on toast .. scrambled egg on toast .. bacon butty .. plusy my previous mentioned butty !! 2 fruit shoots ( £1.95 each is way pricey ) .. cofffee £23 in totall ... while we do like the food .. we dont like the prices and may think again before we call again

Thank Carl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KR3Scarborough, Owner at The King Richard III Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with the cost of your food on your recent visit although we were pleased to see you did enjoy it. We do monitor our prices very carefully to check they are in line with our competitors along the seafront and to ensure we offer good value for money.
We have priced your choices ( 1 x beans on 2 slices of toast £2.95, 1 x bacon sandwich in a large bap, (3 rashers) £3.40, 1 x bacon and sausage sandwich in a large bap (2 rashers, 1 sausage) £3.40, 1 x scrambled eggs on 2 slices of toast (3 eggs) £3.80, 2 x cups of coffee £2 each, 2 x fruit shoots (large size) £1.95 each) at £21.45.
We are currently negotiating this year's prices with our suppliers in preparation for our new menu due out before Easter. Please be assured that we take all our customer feedback into consideration during this process.
Thank you for taking the time to review your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The King Richard III Restaurant also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to The King Richard III Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing