We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So helpful and welcoming”
Review of Northfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Northfield Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Minehead
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2017

We stayed as a family unit to visit Dunster by Candlelight and celebrate my sister's 50th Birthday. We were made to feel very welcome and the service we received was excellent. We very much appreciated being able to bring our Siamese cat with us (he is after all part of the family) and even though we must have appeared somewhat eccentric having him follow us around, the staff made him welcome too and nothing was too much trouble. We had a lovely weekend and we'll definitely come back.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MurphysAunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trina J, Front Office Manager at Northfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Northfield in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2017

A welcoming and comfortable hotel with a warm friendly ambiance serving tasty but unpretentious quality food. The hotel also has the advantage (for dog owners) of being pet friendly (excludes dining room although the management permits well behaved pets in the bar area). Most of the rooms have been modernised and the bed we slept in on our most recent visit was extremely comfortable. The hotel is an ideal base for exploring this part of Somerset and great for a relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trina J, Front Office Manager at Northfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you to the Northfield in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

My partner and I were here to celebrate her parents birthday. There were 16 of us ranging in age from 7 to 80 everyone was made to feel so very welcome, the staff couldn’t have done more. The hotel is lovely and quiet, the rooms nicely furnished and the food delicious.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trina J, Front Office Manager at Northfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, you comments are very much appreciated, and we hope you will come back to see us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

What a treat to find a real old fashioned hotel offered exemplary comfort and service. I will certainly visit the Northfield again. Cannot fault the hotel and next time I shall use the pool!
Thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Valerie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trina J, Front Office Manager at Northfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

This was my fourth visit this year. It has all I want and none of the modern stuff I don't.. It is ideally located for Exmoor, Porlock, photography and especially for paintings. The Hotel is always most obliging.

An ideal place even out of summer season. The locals use it.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank guestb332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trina J, Front Office Manager at Northfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Thank you for your kind review. Your comments are appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minehead
26.3 km away
Apple Tree Hotel
Apple Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in Keenthorne
121 reviews
0.4 km away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
326 reviews
3.6 km away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunster
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 3 in Dunster
777 reviews
0.3 km away
Marston Lodge Hotel
Marston Lodge Hotel
#4 of 12 in Minehead
252 reviews
31 km away
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Wellington
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northfield Hotel

Address: Northfield Road, Minehead TA24 5PU, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Northfield Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Minehead
Price Range: RM609 - RM811 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Northfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minehead's Premier Hotel Accomodation for rest and relaxation. Located in the heart of Exmoor's National Park Minehead offers a delightful harbour setting with sweeping sandy beaches and the rugged Quantock Hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Northfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Minehead
Minehead Best Western
Northfield Hotel Minehead, Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing