We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Church Street

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
33 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Minehead, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

hampshire...
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 6 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed in this delightful cottage over Christmas. We wanted a traditional dog-friendly property with a log fire and a pub close by, and we could not have picked a more perfect property! The cottage is much larger on the inside than it looks from the outside. It was a bit chilly when we first arrived but I think the property may have been empty for a couple of weeks before we got there. It soon warmed up once we'd got the log burner going (had to clean it out first) and stayed warm throughout our stay with the help of storage heaters throughout. There are 2 good sized bedrooms, thoughtfully furnished, though I would suggest supplying a couple of extra blankets or thicker duvets for the winter months. There is a lovely big bathroom off the main bedroom and a smaller shower room next to the second bedroom. The kitchen was well equipped and we managed to cook Christmas dinner, once we'd figured out how to work the induction hob! There is no dishwasher which is something we did miss and would recommend the owners consider adding if possible. There were plenty of pots and pans, utensils and crockery. Some of the cutlery has seen better days though. The garden was great for our needs as we just needed somewhere to let our dog out occasionally and it was fully enclosed so he could have a good walk round and sniff without us worrying. The village of Timberscombe is lovely. The pub is just 2 doors away from the cottage, and was very welcoming - dogs allowed. They weren't serving food while we were there. There is a church opposite and we went to the crib service on Christmas Eve where our youngest was delighted to be a shepherd and lead a real live donkey round the church! There are no shops aside from a small post office. However Dunster and Minehead are very close where you can find shops, restaurants and supermarkets. We had a couple of lovely walks from the village, through fields and across rivers. We would definitely recommend this property and really appreciated the little touches that had been added by the owners such as Christmas decorations and supplying necessities that you tend to forget, like toilet rolls, towels and washing up liquid! We hope to return again to have more time to explore the area and enjoy the peace and quiet sitting by the fire!

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The log burner
Liked least: No dishwasher
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
923natash...
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wish we had more time!”
Reviewed 3 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

The cottage was lovely, clean, spacious, comfortable and well equipped (with unexpected niceties such as loo roll, bin liners, coffee and washing up liquid), and in a lovely village.

The booklets with the walks in were extremely helpful, with their descriptions you could not miss a thing, and they were very accurate, we didn't need to use our map at all.

Key things to note;
if you are planning to walk (the dog) at night, you need a torch as the roads are not well lit.
There is a large Tesco on the way to Minehead, so it is not hard to get bits and bobs at all
A lot of places are closed in the winter, but there was a lovely tea shop in Porlock that served home made food and also allowed dogs, and a lovely deli in Dunster that served local cheeses!!
Get your scouts fire lighting badge before attempting this in a cottage - we novices smoked the place out on more than one occassion!

Thank you for a lovely break, I only wish it could have been for longer!

Tasha, Paul & Scooby (the dog)

Date of stay: November 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The fire was a treat
Liked least: The local pub was not serving food
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suma S
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spacious cottage in a lovely village setting.”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

It is a very nice sized cottage, especially for a family.Located in an excellent location for exploring exmoor and north devon. And minehead is just couple of miles away, so very convinient for shopping as well. Sandra and James were very helpful. Only issue was the garden is laid out with pebbles, so my boys couldnt play much.

Date of stay: August 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location, fantastic holiday”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage was larger than it looks, plenty of room for family of 4 and a dog. Good location to explore Somerset and Devon. Locals friendly, local pub has nice food, but not every night and some nights it's worth booking. Cobblestones in dunster also had lovely food and friendly owner, who especially made my daughter feel welcome. Remember to pack basic essentials as no local shop in timberscombe and a drive to find a shop. One week not enough time to explore need longer next time...

Date of stay: August 2014
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PDG0569
Longhope
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, a real tardis”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Great cottage, such a good price in school holidays too. After initial hiccup with getting the key to the cottage had a lovely welcome from Sharon with a bottle of wine and ice lollies. Worth calling before to confirm location of key. Storm had caused problems the broadband and phone line so had to find owners house via the website. However, worth the wait as the cottage was perfect and it is much larger than pictures give it credit for. Beautiful courtyard garden, such a peaceful village and friendly neighbours. Was able to park by pub opposite cottage. Nice walks from cottage around village. Great location for reaching exmoor or the coast. Cottage was furnished well, clean and tidy and a real homely feel. Great value and perfect base with good road links

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location
Liked least: Shower
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.