We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The only place I ever stay in Yorkshire.......wonderful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heritage Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heritage Suites
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The only place I ever stay in Yorkshire.......wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

I have stayed in the suites at least 7 times now and can honestly say that I have never had a bad experience. The Amour Suite is absolutely lovely, bright, airey and calm. It also benefits from a little kitchen area and a very spacious and deep bath. I have stayed there 3 times now and have another booking in a couple of months. The African Suite is also lovely with an equally deep bath and very comfortable seating area. When I first arrived at the Lofts, I stayed in 2 of the studios, which were perfectly lovely, again with a kitchen area. I have nothing negative to say about the accommodation or indeed the staffing. To be able to stay in such comfortable surroundings, be able to make my own food if need be, have access to a gym, be next door to a restaurant, easy access to Huddersfield town centre and the M62 is more than most hotels can offer and still keep competitively priced. I won't be staying anywhere else! See you soon.......

Room Tip: Any of the Suites for a more spacious or longer stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michelle b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    17
    4
    7
    4
See reviews for
9
30
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

I stayed in Studio 6.

Checking in was like an episode of Crystal Maze, with codes to get through doors, open up a safe to retrieve an envelope with keys and more instructions, before going into a coded lift and having to guess the floor and then swipe through another door. Not an amusing sequence when both hands are full with luggage.

The room, bed and bathroom were fine. Two windows had broken latches, which meant they couldn't be positively closed. Whenever the wind blew (floor 4 of a building on a hill, in Yorkshire -so the wind blows most of the time) the windows would rattle, and swing open and slam shut, sometimes the handle would swing down and get bashed into the glass itself.

The emergency contact number provided was incorrect, so my first 4 attempts to call/text them were in vain. It was only when I feared for my safety and possessions at 4am - due to the extreme violence of the windows being blown open and closed and the blinds being sucked out through the windows - that I found the correct number on a different document from them.

They had no other accommodation to offer me, and accepted that it was unacceptable for me to stay there. They denied having any maintenance issues - but I don't see how both windows could have developed the same fault on the same day, and hence previous occupants must have complained also.

The duty manager made alternate arrangements for me in another hotel, but this isn't what you want to be doing at 4am instead of sleeping.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harvey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

My partner and I spent one night in the African suite and from the moment we arrived were delighted with the difference of accomodation on offer. The apartment was clean and well equipped with amazing views over Huddersfield. The checking in system on weekends is self service and has received negative comments in some reviews, however we found it hassle free and simply added to the fun of getting in to this fantastic overnight stay. The lady I spoke with to book our room was very polite and helpful and I would definitely return to visit the other themed suites on offer. In short we felt no need to venture far and simply enjoyed cocooning ourselves for 24hours and enjoying this luxury pad. Very romantic!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bambiyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed in the African Suite at Heritage Serviced Suites which was a beautifully designed serviced apartment on the 4th floor of this converted mill. Attention to detail is incredible within the suite with some beautifully chosen ornaments, fabrics and decor. The bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in, in fact it made me go out and buy a new bed the week after!! Being on the 4th floor it also afforded an incredble view of the local countryside. The complex itself if also stunning, the food in the bistro exquisite and we fully exploited the on-site gym's sauna, steam room and relaxation area. There's also a lovely beauty spa on site where I treated my partner to a massage, he was most impressed! The check in procedure was quick and simple and the staff on site were incredibly helpful. We will most definitely be staying there again, can't wat to sample each themed suite!!

Room Tip: If you can stretch your budget, book a themed suite, you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

Stayed there earlier this year. Had problems with the hot water, a party on the site making a lot of noise, some nice staff but some extremely rude staff, couldn't park nearby, various workmen on the premises making it very hard to relax. Very drafty, leaking windows, damp and noisy, you can hear everything in the next room and on the corridors. Disappointing as it is a good idea, it's pretty obvious the people running this are not experienced in looking after people who use hotels regularly. WE arrived late evening and the check in process was a joke - nobody to meet you or help out, pretty shoddyObviously grievances that we felt we should get some sort of compensation for - never offered or received.

My advice would be stay away, unless you're paying £10 a night, not the close to £100 we paid.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller6994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huddersfield hotels
3.0 km away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
1.7 km away
Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax
6.9 km away
Premier Inn Huddersfield North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Premier Inn Huddersfield Central Hotel
3.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel
BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel
#10 of 17 in Huddersfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
1.3 km away
Briar Court Hotel
Briar Court Hotel
#12 of 17 in Huddersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Suites

Property: Heritage Suites
Address: Wellington Mills 70 Plover Road | 70 Plover Road, Huddersfield HD3 3HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Huddersfield
Price range (per night): RM266 - RM492
Hotel Class:4 star — Heritage Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our serviced studios and apartments are available for short, or long term stays. The booking process is very similar to hotels, but serviced apartments offer considerably better value for money.The main differences between using serviced accommodation and staying in a hotel include the provision of a kitchenette area with self-catering facilities, Freeview television and Wi-Fi. These are often things that are charged for at hotels. In addition, you are free to bring your own food and alcoholic beverages without the worry of utilising room service or eating at specified mealtimes.Our self check in service gives guests the freedom to check in as and when they please, and gives a greater sense of privacy, adding to that ‘home from home’ feel. Our Housekeeping staff will service your room with towels and linen every third day, and again this can be done at your convenience.The suites range from studios to one or two bedrooms and penthouses. We also offer themed suites which are ideal for special occasions, or just for a little extra luxury. These self catering suites were constructed and furnished in 2010, but still boast many original features of our Victorian textile mill, such as the exposed stone walls and impressive wooden roof beams. This combined with modern and contemporary décor and facilities present a stylish base for work, leisure or just a getaway.Don’t forget! We can negotiate preferential rates for frequent users and corporate guests. BreakfastOur Bistro onsite is open for evening meals and breakfast from 9am and there are many great quality restaurants around Lindley. If you would prefer a continental breakfast pack to be placed in your room prior to your stay, we would be more than happy to arrange this. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Heritage Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Suites Huddersfield, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing