We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Out of this World!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tyas Cottage

5 star cottage, grade II listed for architectural interest
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
5 star cottage, grade II listed for architectural interest
We provide the first basket of logs for the wood burner Another view of the first floor living room with its ceiling open to the beams
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
5 star cottage, grade II listed for architectural interest
We provide the first basket of logs for the wood burner
Another view of the first floor living room with its ceiling open to the beams
A spiral staircase rises in the upstairs living room.  There is a conventional  stair to the terrace
The Cape Dutch armoire and an antique gilded mirror
The hand carving on this  antique bed invites close scrutiny - it never quite repeats itself.
A Georgian chest of drawers and a very old Cape Dutch chair
The upstairs twin bedroom
The ensuite bathroom for the upstairs twin
The down stairs bathroom only has a shower, unlike the two ensuites that have baths
Spiral staircase leads to first floor living room (gates to make safe for young children)
The York stone floor downstairs has underfloor heating (wood pellet boiler powered)
The replica Viking Isle of Mull chess set seems to be very well used
The large kitchen serves as a second living room
The food preparation area in the kitchen
The downstairs twin bedroom
The door into the kitchen - in the depths of winter
Private barbecue area with steps to the  balcony off first floor living room
The arbour garden with its spring fed water trough
Another view of the arbour garden
Swing next to stream and ancient packhorse bridge that adjoins the shared garden
An older bridge still exists under the current one.  It carries an ancient packhorse route
These sculptural pods (by Brian Fell) are a magnet to children and a perfect spot for bird watching
A winter view of the pods next to the millpond in the shared garden
Summer abundance in the shared garden.  Paul's Himalayan Musk climbs the purple leaved plum
The massive Belvedere rose takes over from Paul's Himalayan Musk
Espaliered apples in the parking area outside Tyas Cottage
Aerial view of Merrydale, showing route to pub
Don't miss breakfast in the artisan bakery in these buildings on the canal in Slaithwaite
There is a wonderful walk along the canal to Marsden - and you can take the train back if you like
Tunnel End has a visitor Centre and craft loft.  There are trips into the tunnel under the Pennines
This reservoir on the moors is about a half hours walk from Tyas Cottage -  if you resist the pub
Floor plan, note conventional external staircase (most useful for taking big suitcases upstairs)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tracy C
2 reviews
“Out of this World!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The most amazing, Idyllic cottage in a beautiful valley with outstanding gardens.
The whole cottage is like a work of art and the cleanest place I've stayed.
Would highly recommend this reasonably priced holiday cottage with extremely nice, helpful and welcoming owners. Five Star.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: surroundings
Liked least: lack of heating downstairs kitchen but upstairs living room and bedrooms toasty warm
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willowjun...
1 review
“Beautiful cottage with lovely garden and walks”
Reviewed 25 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

ovely time with family, beautiful views and walk and so peaceful. Magnificent setting, beautiful decor and we were very fortunate with the weather!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6Brooklin...
Brooklin, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A magical escape to an enchanting valley!”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

My husband, four children (ages: 6, 7, 11 & 13) and I recently spent a beautiful 5 days at Tyas Cottage. We had such an amazing experience and walked away with memories we will always share. The cottage is charming inside - beautifully decorated. The hosts are delightful, helpful and full of knowledge. They have created a stunning environment for renters to relax and enjoy the nature that surrounds the cottage. We hiked the forest trail with the children and ended at the Crown and Rose for a delicious lunch. The kids loved playing with the chickens and ducks, exploring the beautiful gardens, swinging on the various garden swings, using their imagination by making forts and emersing themselves in nature's abundance. They finished each day with dirty pants and shoes but huge smiles on their faces and lots to tell at the dinner table. For me, it was a photographer's paradise. The area proved to be a great location for day trips to nearby cities, such as Manchester. We wished we had booked longer and had been able to tap into John and Victoria's wealth of information about the area and its history. Hopefully, we can return one day (in the summer to appreciate the height of Victoria's magnificent gardens!). Missing the fresh, spring water to drink, too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beauty of the cottage and the land.
Liked least: The tricky driveway.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JES39
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Feel close to nature in this beautiful, relaxing, idyllic retreat.”
Reviewed 10 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013

I cannot recommend Tyas Cottage highly enough. As lovely as the photos are, they just don't do this property justice. From the second you walk in to the wonderfully equipped kitchen you feel your troubles melt away and you simply relax.

The furnishings are fabulous and the owners make you feel very welcome. There really is everything you could possibly need at the property. We were staying for my partner's 40th and had family coming for dinner in addition to the 6 of us staying. I had been worried about having sufficient baking trays, crockery and cutlery for all the party food, but I needn't have worried. In my opinion, the owners really have thought of everything when planning this accommodation.

I was slightly concerned about booking for a weekend in February having read one of the reviews on here, but I spoke to the owners and was reassured that, barring very heavy snow, we would be able to get to and from the cottage. I am so glad I wasn't put off because this really is a gem of a holiday home and we wouldn't have missed it for the world.

Thank you to John and Vicky for creating such a luxurious haven of tranquillity.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ambiance of the cottage and its surroundings and the feeling of getting back to nature.
Liked least: The steep hill might put some off, but it certainly shouldn't be seen as a negative.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naturalCe...
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A secret retreat in what was once England's industrial heartland”
Reviewed 11 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

You might not think a location just west of Huddersfield would be a very appealing place to stay - but you'd be wrong. This amazingly clever and sympathetic conversion of an old stone barn is utterly charming, warm and welcoming. It's full of antique furniture from the Cape area of South Africa (whence come the owners, who live opposite) and it is surrounded by an astonishing garden. Why astonishing? Because it is in the deepest, leafiest, mossiest dell - or 'clough' in the local language - you can imagine, and gardening in such a situation is far from easy, but somehow Johnny and Vicky manage it.

The surrounding area is full of history, with wonderfully characterful long buldings, whose upper floors with their rows of mullioned windows were where wool, cotton and silk weavers worked in the days when this was the principal centre of that trade in the country. We visited the Colne Valley Museum, only ten minutes away, and thoroughly enjoyed seeing the clog-making workshop, and learning about the developments in spinning and weaving techniques.

A word of warning if you are going to Tyas Cottage in winter. The lane to the house is extremely steep and the lower part is cobbled, and on the day we arrived it was hazardously icy. With winter tyres on our car, we just managed it but the other two couples who were joining us left their cars at the top and walked down. Even this was far from easy - so please, if you are going in winter weather, invest in some of those stretch, anti-slip shoe covers. Once we had those on our feet, we were fine - and the bliss of walking into that gorgeously warm kitchen with its heated floor, Persian rugs and Khelim cushions, was indescribable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We loved the whole atmosphere and warmth of the cottage.
Liked least: I recommend the location but it needs the warning above, about access in icy weather.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing