We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't book here - extreamely disappointing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buxton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Chateau & Wye House Suites
Ranked #36 of 39 Buxton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 August 2012

This was the 4th time we'd visited and assumed things were to the same excellent level. Booked through their website so didn't see that they were in administration. Upon arrival told that the main house now no longer available and is now private. The Wye House "Suites" are anything but. Suite 16 suffers from the creakiest flooring ever and poor carpeting. More light bulbs were blown than working. Damp and mould around the kitchen power sockets, non functioning dishwasher and a complete mish-mash of kitchen utensils/crockery.

The master bedroom obviously had a kingsize bed in as the replacement double-bed did not cover the marks left by the wall mounted headboard!

The public areas were infested by an array of creatures from the insect and arachnid world

It would be better just to close up shop I think and was really quite a poor visit and a sad end to what was an annual break we all looked forward to in a lovely part of the country.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2012

It is true this accomodation is no longer 5 star, there are several minor repairs which need attention but this doesn't detract from a very pleasant and comfortable stay. The apartment we stayed in (number 12) was large, very well furnished, lovely kitchen and bathroom. We only stayed for a night but it was preferrable to any of the other family rooms that were available in Buxton on the internet. The apartment was quiet, apart from the squeeky floor boards but they didn't wake a 2 year old, the TV remotes didn't work despite new batteries but the apartment was clean. The patio doors took a while to close, but from outside with a little bit of encouragement at the bottom and then climbing in the bedroom window worked!!! We would stay here again and recommend to a friend, you just need to gloss over the imperfections.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We have visited the Chateau & Wye four times now and have had a lovely stay every time, in different apartments. The apartments are very smart though could do with some minor work - little bits here & there are in need of fixing. But if you can look past this, the apartments are clean, with big rooms, comfy sofas & large tvs. Dale who works at Wye House always does a great job of looking after us, recommending places to visit and assisting whenever we have any questions, making sure we are comfortable and have a pleasant stay.

I don't believe it is possible to stay in the Chateau itself, but the views from some of the apartments are wonderful - the grounds and particularly the fountain are lovely, especially in the good weather when you can sit outside & enjoy the surroundings. Even on cooler days it is nice to open the balcony doors and look out over everything. Definitely one of the nicest spots in Buxton to stay! In fact, I'm not sure we would consider staying anywhere else in this area!

The location is just fantastic - very easy to walk into town (it takes about 10 minutes) where there are lots of nice bars and restaurants. The Opera House is very close too as are the gorgeous Pavilion Gardens. There are also lots of fantastic attractions just a short car journey away - we would definitely recommend the Chestnut Centre where you can see deer, otters, owls, and have a lovely walk. Also the caves are spectacular, as is Chatsworth.

If you are looking for a relaxed holiday, in a lovely area with lots of exciting places to visit right on your doorstep, we would certainly recommend Wye House!

We are looking forward to visiting again soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a penthouse apartment looking over the gardens!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouiseAltonofYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Myself and husband just stayed in the 3 bedroom penthouse apartment for two nights, sadly we were disappointed. Although upon arrival we were told that the company has gone into administration but we still expected to stay in adequate facilities that you would expect for the price. The apartment's kitchen wasn't clean with dirty glasses, coffee spilt on the floor and cobwebs left hanging. The dishwasher wasn't in use but no washing up liquid provided. The patio doors didn't shut fully so had to be left unsecure all night. The carpet in the lounge was dirty. No hand wash provided in bathrooms. Much to my disgust - a huge box of empty used beer bottles left in kitchen cupboards! There is no Wi Fi at the apartments and the bar is boarded up. Overall the property seemed neglected and much needed a lick of paint and a good clean. It is a shame as these apartments could be lovely if they were just maintained properly by management!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ritarabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Having booked what we thought sounded a great apartment, the first sign of trouble was the agent's email cancelling our booking with less than a week's notice. After an angry phone call and email we were reinstated. (The owner wanted his flat back, apparently!)
Having later checked trip advisor we found on arrival that comments about it's downturn were true. An 8-year old apartment block (not the Victorian mansion in the website photo) quickly falling into disrepair: with excessive rainfall gutters leaked forming a waterfall over our entrance which had caused the door to rot and the hallway to be wet and mouldy. The apartment itself was modern and well furnished decorated and appointed, however we discovered the dishwasher broken, the shower tray blocked, the wifi non-functional despite agent's promises to sort, various bulbs blown, doors and windows sticking, very little supplied in kitchen beyond basics and every floorboard creaking. There was however an enormous TV and a whirlpool bath! A working shower would have been more use.
Basically with the place in hands of administrators no-one was looking after it properly and with a little care it could be splendid.
Like I said, a nice apartment spoilt by neglect. Very near town and station, pleasant area. Shame it rained most of the time but that's Buxton, no spring water without rain.
We also opted to pay cash on arrival in case it was awful rather than google checkout, but the promised receipt was not emailed, so am hoping no further charges are taken by credit card given to secure initial booking.
It was about a 3rd of the cost of a hotel but with above problems so trade off had to be accepted.
Could not recommend until managed properly

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WayneIngpowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
32.8 km away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,512 reviews
36.6 km away
Santo's Higham Farm Hotel
0.5 km away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
3,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29 km away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
896 reviews
35.6 km away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
1,064 reviews
0.5 km away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chateau & Wye House Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chateau & Wye House Suites

Address: Wye House Corbar Road, Buxton SK17 6RL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range: RM 546 - RM 873 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chateau & Wye House Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chateau is a Bespoke & Truly Unique Peak District Hotel.The Peak Districts leading accommodation, based in Buxton. 1,2 & 3 Bedroom serviced apartments which are chic and stylish, innovative and obliging with 5 star facilities. The ultimate in luxurious accommodation which you will find almost impossible to rival. Available for Individual and group bookings for the ultimate party, wedding or special celebration. Stunning Private Country Estates Location in 5.5 acres of private woodland.Free ParkingFree Wifi ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Chateau And Wye House Suites
The Chateau & Wye House Hotel Buxton
The Chateau Wye Hotel
Chateau Wye Buxton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing