We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$115
US$95
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$88
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abode(Buxton)
US$92
US$75
Hotels.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$25
Pitchup.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Barms Farm(Buxton)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveller rating
104
22
6
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
104
22
6
6
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 145 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2012

It is true this accomodation is no longer 5 star, there are several minor repairs which need attention but this doesn't detract from a very pleasant and comfortable stay. The apartment we stayed in (number 12) was large, very well furnished, lovely kitchen and bathroom. We only stayed for a night but it was preferrable to any of the other family rooms that were available in Buxton on the internet. The apartment was quiet, apart from the squeeky floor boards but they didn't wake a 2 year old, the TV remotes didn't work despite new batteries but the apartment was clean. The patio doors took a while to close, but from outside with a little bit of encouragement at the bottom and then climbing in the bedroom window worked!!! We would stay here again and recommend to a friend, you just need to gloss over the imperfections.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We have visited the Chateau & Wye four times now and have had a lovely stay every time, in different apartments. The apartments are very smart though could do with some minor work - little bits here & there are in need of fixing. But if you can look past this, the apartments are clean, with big rooms, comfy sofas & large tvs. Dale who works at Wye House always does a great job of looking after us, recommending places to visit and assisting whenever we have any questions, making sure we are comfortable and have a pleasant stay.

I don't believe it is possible to stay in the Chateau itself, but the views from some of the apartments are wonderful - the grounds and particularly the fountain are lovely, especially in the good weather when you can sit outside & enjoy the surroundings. Even on cooler days it is nice to open the balcony doors and look out over everything. Definitely one of the nicest spots in Buxton to stay! In fact, I'm not sure we would consider staying anywhere else in this area!

The location is just fantastic - very easy to walk into town (it takes about 10 minutes) where there are lots of nice bars and restaurants. The Opera House is very close too as are the gorgeous Pavilion Gardens. There are also lots of fantastic attractions just a short car journey away - we would definitely recommend the Chestnut Centre where you can see deer, otters, owls, and have a lovely walk. Also the caves are spectacular, as is Chatsworth.

If you are looking for a relaxed holiday, in a lovely area with lots of exciting places to visit right on your doorstep, we would certainly recommend Wye House!

We are looking forward to visiting again soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a penthouse apartment looking over the gardens!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouiseAltonofYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Myself and husband just stayed in the 3 bedroom penthouse apartment for two nights, sadly we were disappointed. Although upon arrival we were told that the company has gone into administration but we still expected to stay in adequate facilities that you would expect for the price. The apartment's kitchen wasn't clean with dirty glasses, coffee spilt on the floor and cobwebs left hanging. The dishwasher wasn't in use but no washing up liquid provided. The patio doors didn't shut fully so had to be left unsecure all night. The carpet in the lounge was dirty. No hand wash provided in bathrooms. Much to my disgust - a huge box of empty used beer bottles left in kitchen cupboards! There is no Wi Fi at the apartments and the bar is boarded up. Overall the property seemed neglected and much needed a lick of paint and a good clean. It is a shame as these apartments could be lovely if they were just maintained properly by management!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ritarabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Having booked what we thought sounded a great apartment, the first sign of trouble was the agent's email cancelling our booking with less than a week's notice. After an angry phone call and email we were reinstated. (The owner wanted his flat back, apparently!)
Having later checked trip advisor we found on arrival that comments about it's downturn were true. An 8-year old apartment block (not the Victorian mansion in the website photo) quickly falling into disrepair: with excessive rainfall gutters leaked forming a waterfall over our entrance which had caused the door to rot and the hallway to be wet and mouldy. The apartment itself was modern and well furnished decorated and appointed, however we discovered the dishwasher broken, the shower tray blocked, the wifi non-functional despite agent's promises to sort, various bulbs blown, doors and windows sticking, very little supplied in kitchen beyond basics and every floorboard creaking. There was however an enormous TV and a whirlpool bath! A working shower would have been more use.
Basically with the place in hands of administrators no-one was looking after it properly and with a little care it could be splendid.
Like I said, a nice apartment spoilt by neglect. Very near town and station, pleasant area. Shame it rained most of the time but that's Buxton, no spring water without rain.
We also opted to pay cash on arrival in case it was awful rather than google checkout, but the promised receipt was not emailed, so am hoping no further charges are taken by credit card given to secure initial booking.
It was about a 3rd of the cost of a hotel but with above problems so trade off had to be accepted.
Could not recommend until managed properly

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WayneIngpowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We first visited Chateau and Wye House in 2010 and really enjoyed our stay. The apartment was lovely, well furnished and clean. Fast forward two years and it is hard to believe this is the same place. We stayed in apartment 15, a 3-bed penthouse, and whilst it is easy to see how nice the place once was it is now badly in need of some care and modest investment which would make a huge difference.

The kitchen was disgusting, with filthy, greasy frying pans not having been cleaned by the previous occupants or the cleaner. The overn was greasy and dirty, same goes for the grill pan. Two of the grand total of five mugs provided for a 3 bed apartment were dirty, clearly not having been cleaned. the dishwasher required rinse aid and salt (obviously not provided either). Just two dishwasher tablets were provided. In terms of other cleaning apparel, there was a used and dirty scouring pad and one eighth of a bottle of washing up liquid. No tea towel provided.

Continuing with kitchen problems... Four cutlery knives provided. How this could be considered adequate for a three bedroom apartment I am really not sure. The other knives provided were a huge chopping knife and a bread knife. No vegetable knife and the vegetable peeler was blunt.

Complimentary coffee, tea and biscuits: There were eight individual sachets of coffee and one loose tea bag all sat in an appallingly dirty plastic tray. I would disgusted at this even in a one star hotel. If you like to make your own fresh coffee there was no cafetiere and no coffee maker of any sort. Not what you expect in allegedly five star apartment these days.

There were cheap and tatty placemats; and only four of them. Chipped plates, chipped mugs, a miss match of cheap wine glasses of various designs.

the kitchen floor is littered with loose tiles, with regrouting badly requried (If the owner is reading, I would suggest flexible grout this time so it doesn't break out due to the underfloor heating in the room).

The shower had mould growing in it and is generally tatty.

The hot water system clearly has a problem. You could get scalding water from some of the taps, whilst the shower would give you hot water for one or wo minutes then go completely cold. Consequently the five adults staying in the place resorted to giving up on showers by the third day. Whilst I had to use about ten kettles of water to get the bath up to an acceptable temperature to give my twin babies a bath.

Of six spotlights in the kitchen, two did not work and two of the others had dim LED bulbs, insufficient as the main source of lighting in what is quite a dark room.

The lounge had similar lighting problems with 4 of 9 lights having not functioning light bulbs. On the same theme, one of the two lamps in the top floor bedroom also did not work.

The wifi does not work either, clearly something they used to offer, which the information folder in the apartment erroneously claims that they still do.

The exterior to the apartment block requires some maintenance as well. The gardens are weed infested and the steps to the apartments are broken and loose in places.

Clearly, what was once a well run operation, with well kitted out and cared for apartments is falling apart. On my first visit I would have recommended to anyone. I would now not recommend to anyone until some money is invested in bringing things up to standard.

Not much investment is needed to make a huge difference. Firstly a cleaner who does a proper job of actually cleaning. Then carry out basic maintenance tasks and restock the kitchen with a decent array of cutlery, crockery and standard kitchen implements. These small changes would make a world of difference.

Also, please note, that whilst the website shows the Chateau, which is an attractive, old building, it does not show the 2004 building off to the side, where it appears all the apartments available for rental are. Previously you could stay in the Chateau. I don't believe this is now the case. So the website is a little misleading in this respect as well.

Room Tip: Room 15. Attractive inside. when new, would be lovely. But dirty and also in need of TLC.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RMB2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews