We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant place!”

Worthing Museum and Art Gallery
Ranked #3 of 40 things to do in Worthing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: If you have a passion for the very best in Regency and Victorian fashion, want to be inspired by artists such as Stanley Spencer, William Holman-Hunt and Philip Jackson, or are looking to discover why Worthing residents take such quiet pride in 55,000 years of their achievements, then Worthing Museum and Art Gallery is the place to visit. A variety of events throughout the year link to many of the exhibitions. The Museum Team also offer curator-led talks, object handling workshops, and educational visits (including dressing up days). The elegant Edwardian building also houses a shop, has disabled access and toilets and free entry. Opening hours: Tues - Sat 10am - 5pm
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

A really great place. Very interesting, variety of displays and good commentary. Get a feel for local history, covers social, artistic and political life really well

Thank Jeanette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen S, Marketing Officer at Worthing Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Hello Jeanette,
Thank you for leaving your kind review. It's always great to hear of people's pleasant visits to the museum and that visitor's leave feeling they have learnt something new and have been able to engage with our exhibitions or events. We look forwards to seeing you again on another visit.
Best regards,
Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"local history"
in 22 reviews
"costume collection"
in 5 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 20 reviews
"sculpture garden"
in 4 reviews
"on display"
in 10 reviews
"stone age"
in 3 reviews
"mouse trail"
in 3 reviews
"dolls houses"
in 3 reviews
"rainy day"
in 7 reviews
"well laid out"
in 2 reviews
"special exhibition"
in 2 reviews
"wealth of information"
in 2 reviews
"interesting things to see"
in 2 reviews
"free entry"
in 10 reviews
"small space"
in 3 reviews
"wheel chair"
in 2 reviews
"interesting place"
in 2 reviews
Filter

17 - 21 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2017

Lots of interesting local history. Currently showing costumes through the ages. I remember the 60s! Some of the items are poorly lit.

Thank anoliyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorthingTheatres, Public Relations Manager at Worthing Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Hello Anoliyam,

Thank you for your feedback, we hope you enjoyed your visit to our museum. Please do take our costume trail across Worthing if you haven't already if you're interested, the dresses date back to the 20's. Regarding the lighting some of our costumes must be stored in a delicate low light setting as not to damage the material over time, it is something we are looking into long term.

Many Thanks
Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

After living in Worthing for five years, finally managed a first visit to the Museum. It is quite compact, but houses a really excellent collection of treasures, from artefacts to artworks, carefully and interestingly displayed! We only had an hour to spend, but we will surely be regular visitors now. The free entry is a real bonus!

Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorthingTheatres, Public Relations Manager at Worthing Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Hello Mike,

Thanks for visiting our museum! We love that it is a free resource for people to enjoy, our exhibitions are always changing so please do become a regular guest. Hope to see you again soon.

Best Wishes
Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

I made my first visit here as a lad back in the late 50s and I can still see some of the exhibits I 'd seen then still there now. But there are always things I find that amaze me that I hadn't seen before. The pictures on display do seem to change on a regular basis as do the outside display items .
So a great place to get a grounding on Worthing's past and while away an hour or two!!

2  Thank Boyzdungood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen S, Marketing Officer at Worthing Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Hello,
It's great to hear that you have enjoyed your many visits to us over the years. Our collections are much larger that people imagine so we regularly change many of our exhibits and exhibitions with varying pieces from across Archaeology, Costume, Fine Art, Toys and others. We look forwards to seeing you again soon on another visit.

Regards,
Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2017

I recently had the great pleasure of visiting Worthing's Museum and Art Gallery for the very first time. What I really wanted to see was Sussex shepherd Michael Blann's song book, which he used when singing his early 20th century folk songs. However I spent over two hours looking at the wonderful displays of costumes, social history, toys, dolls and archaeology. And then there were some beautiful paintings in the special "Inspired by the South Downs" and "Schools of Thought " art exhibitions. A lovely museum, free to go in; I shall definitely go again.

Thank davidgC2390BS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen S, Marketing Officer at Worthing Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Hello David,
Thank you for leaving a lovely review. It's wonderful to hear about your visit. We're extremely proud of our collections and always looking to display them to and engage a wider audience, so it's great knowing that you found them of interest despite not being what you expected to enjoy or take time looking at. Alongside our object and item collections our art curator also tries maintain an exciting calendar of gallery exhibitions throughout the year,
We look forwards to seeing you again on your returning visit. In the meantime you can keep up to date with what our events and exhibitions by picking up a copy of our What's On Guide or by following us on Facebook and Twitter.

Kind regards,
Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Worthing Museum and Art Gallery also viewed

 
Worthing, West Sussex
Worthing, West Sussex
 

Been to Worthing Museum and Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing