We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”
Review of The Green Dragon

The Green Dragon
Reserve with OpenTable
The Green Dragon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #93 of 480 Restaurants in Warrington
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Green Dragon in Lymm is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Me and my family booked a table for 5pm. We arrived at The Green Dragon at 4:30pm to ensure we was on time and had drinks in the waiting area/bar. We were not seated until 5:40pm (40 minutes after the booking time) and didnt even receive an apology for the inconvenience.

After being seated late and without complaining we ordered drinks, starters and mains. The mains arrived after 20 minutes (Pâté and the garlic prawns and scallops) which giving credit where it is due we’re beautiful.

After eating our starters our mains did not arrive for another 30 minutes and much to our disappointment arrived freezing cold? Very confused as to how we were waiting for such a long time yet our dishes arrived cold.

We all then went on to order our desserts which to no surprise arrived after 45 minutes after making it aware to one of the waitresses we had been waiting for that amount of time. The waitress did not apologise but did tell us the table in front of us did have a really “big order though”

Overall. Poor service (apologies go a long way), Time between dishes were shocking and the food cold. We used to love visiting here but is now definitely the last place we would visit.

1  Thank samanthabF7337PR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Green Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Samanthabf7337pr, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We regret that you had a negative experience, and will use this as an opportunity to improve.

Hope to see you again soon so we can show you what we are about.

Team Dragon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 525 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

This is our local and used to be a firm favourite of ours to go to. Within the last couple of years, the place has gone downhill rapidly! The food portions are paltry and on our most recent visit our food was cold served on cold plates, it’s not as if the meals are reasonably priced either. To top it all off we had to get up and call over staff members on more than one occasion because we were being left waiting for long periods of time. Also the decor following the refurb wasn’t necessary as the pub has lost its cosy feel which was a major plus point of the place before. I’m sad to say that we will not be coming again, which is a shame as it used to be our favourite pub.

4  Thank Mātt Ć
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Green Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Hi Mātt Ć, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that you are not satisfied with your visit.
We are currently investing heavily in terms of training which will hopefully alleviate the issues you have highlighted.
I will pick the issues up about the food with the head chef as cold plates are not acceptable.
Kind Regards
Kev

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

A terrible experience from start to finish. Wrong with the order, terrible waiting times poor service

3  Thank pauledwards35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Green Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Paul, we pride ourselves on providing exceptional service, so we are disappointed to hear that your visit with us was anything less than satisfactory. We are currently going through a recruitment drive, which will hopefully alleviate the issues you encountered.
I apologise that your experience was not what we aim for and we fell short.
Hopefully we will see you again so we can show you what we are about.
Kind Regards
Kev

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Visited for first time after refurbishment. Ordered garlic bread to start & ate what we wanted. Remnants sat there for 30 minutes afterwards. Eventually our mains were served to another table who directed them our way. Waiter couldn’t have cared less! My lamb duo was half cold half hot & my husband’s hunter’s chicken came with oven chips (not twice cooked) and without bbq sauce. We were asked what we thought as we paid the bill & were honest. We left no tip at all for the first time ever!!

3  Thank TEDCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Green Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

We appreciate all reviews, and appreciate you giving us the chance to improve by providing us with this feedback.I will definitely be picking the food issues up with the head chef as there is no excuse for cold food/missing items.
Once again i am sorry for these issues I hope we see you soon so we can show you what we are about.

Kind Regards
Kev

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

Lovely fresh interior, opened up the small seating area and lighter carpet makes it feel spacious. The downside is the hospitality of the staff, welcomed initially but then went to the bar for a second round of drinks to be ignored by a staff member on the till and 4 other staff members stood behind the bar chatting and laughing. Eventually the staff member on the till asked if I wanted anything, a drink would be good as I was at a bar. Asked for 3 bowls of fries, skinny but unfortunately the order came as thick. Asked to change and the waitress stormed off and then a little while later brought the skinny chips which she slammed down on our table with no communication and again stormed off. A shame as the revamp is nice, lets hope they revamp the staff training.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank katiejonesfia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Green Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Hi Katie, we can assure you that we do not find this type of behavior acceptable, and we would like to address the situation you have described. I personally will look into what happened that day as i do not condone any type of behaviour like that.
We are investing heavily in training and recruitment at the moment so hopefully these issues will be resolved

Kind Regards
Kev

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Green Dragon also viewed

 
Altrincham, Trafford
 

Been to The Green Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing