We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience”

The Original Pasty House
Ranked #21 of 69 Restaurants in Tavistock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: The Original Pasty House is a cafe & takeaway restaurant in Tavistock Devon, offering friendly eat in table service and fast takeaway. We serve a great selection of traditional West Country pasties, freshly made baguettes & sandwiches, toasted wraps & paninis, homemade cakes and oven baked jacket potatoes as well as fair-trade barista coffee, fruit smoothies and ice cream milkshakes.
Reviewed 24 September 2017

Visited while in the area and was impressed by the friendly waiting staff and presentation of food. Ordered a chicken salad sandwich which came with lots of filling crisps and coleslaw. Several people ordered jacket potato which appeared huge with lots of filling. Price was reasonable.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pineapple131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet E, Owner at The Original Pasty House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Thank you for your lovely review. We are a small independent shop and these reviews are very much appreciated. I will pass on your comments to our staff. Hope to see you again when you are in the area.
Regards Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

Re visit this place as often as I can, great food and great service. There's a good sized menu to choose from.

Thank lookingformanners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet E, Owner at The Original Pasty House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thankyou for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

Popped in for take away lunch whilst passing through Tavistock, pasties were yummy as always, but disappointed with the carrot cake which looked amazing but we were clearly given old cake that needed using as it was dry and tasteless.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet E, Owner at The Original Pasty House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Sorry we disappointed you on your recent visit. We will certainly look into your complaint, we make our cakes ourselves, and bake them daily on the premises. We will do our upmost to ensure that this will not happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

We stopped for a quick look at Tavistock after a mornings adventures at Tamar Trails. My husband found this pasty shop and bought a large pasty which we sat and shared in the August sunshine. Great pasty: the meat was juicy, tender and tasty, veg very good with a bit of bite, pastry excellent. Pasty as it should be and hardly ever is....or were we just very hungry? Anyway, recommend.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lincolnexpats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet E, Owner at The Original Pasty House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thank you for your recommendation. Pleased to hear you enjoyed your pasty.
Kind regards Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Good for a range of foods including pasties of course. Set menus in place but variations are allowed.

Thank Bert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Original Pasty House also viewed

Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
 
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
 
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to The Original Pasty House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing