We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Beach Barn By The Sea!!”
other traveller has booked this property
Salcombe Estuary
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Salcombe Estuary
Upstairs living space Plympton Barn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Salcombe Estuary
Upstairs living space
Plympton Barn
Outside Seating
Kitchen
Woodburner
Dining
Bedroom with Kingsize
Bedroom with two singles
Timber clad Hallway
Shower
Bath
Salcombe Estuary and East Portlemouth
Salcombe - South Sands Ferry and Sea Tractor
Storm at Hope Cove
Sunny Cove as seen from Salcombe
Sunset over local Beach
Deer on the Cliffs
Race in the Salcombe Estuary
Soar Mill Cove
Ferry Steps in Salcombe
Old Lifeboat Station on South Sands
Salcombe Yawls Racing in the Estuary
Lifeboat at Salcombe
South Sands Beach
view of South Sands
Thurlestone Beach
Crab-fishing boats in the Estuary
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Salcombe, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
HMDUK
UK
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Beach Barn By The Sea!!”
Reviewed 28 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Plympton Barn was the perfect start to our Devon holiday. The barn itself was modern, clean and very spacious with comfortable beds and well-equipped kitchen and bathrooms. The location was perfect as we could walk to the to SounthSands and Northsands beaches via the country lanes while enjoying the architecture of the area and the inspiring countryside while picking enough blackberries to eat on the beach!! The Co-Op in Marlbourough proved useful for groceries, fresh bakery and an ATM!!
The Meijers were excellent hosts and were very gracious when we turned up a party of 4 instead of the promised 2 (last minute changes, apologies!!) and were quick to discreetly arranged the beddings.
We are so happy to have chosen the Barn for our stay in Salcombe and promise to return very soon.
Thank you Jaap and Michele!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2017
Dear H, Thank you for your very kind review an d the card you left for us! You were great guests and I hope we will see you again!
kind regards,

Jaap
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjrtongue
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful location.”
Reviewed 18 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

A beautiful barn conversion walking distance to south sands. Always a friendly welcome. Very quiet. The surrounding area is perfect for a family holiday. Beaches are very child friendly and extremely clean. Plenty to do in and around salcombe.
I would recommend highly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2017
Dear Rachel, many thanks for the kind words! Very happy you had a good time and hope to see you back! Kind regards,
Jaap
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine W
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Peaceful country location pleasant stroll to South Sands”
Reviewed 26 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This is a very comfortable barn conversion with comfortable lounge, well equipped kitchen and modern bathroom/ features. Perfect for a couple or a family as one bedroom has a king sized bed and the other has twin beds. The toilet is separate to but just next to the spacious bathroom and has its own sink so that provides a bit of welcome flexibility if you are a family. Lovely powerful walk in shower plus a great bath for relaxing in if that's your preference. One very nice thing about this barn is that it isn't at all damp as so many barns can be and has underfloor heating in the bathroom plus a hyper modern air circulation system which is silent. It's a very lovely location down a typical South Hams lane and we walked very happily down to South Sands beach in fifteen mins , it's a pleasant stroll with thatched cottages and picture postacard views. Ofcourse you can drive easily to Salcombe itself in ten mins and to loads of other lovely spots like Hope Cove, Thurlstone, Kingsbridge etc. There is a little private patio area just for the Barn which is shady in the morning and sunny in the afternoon. There is a table and chairs there. We'd definitely stay again as this was for us just the type of place we like.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2017
Dear Elaine, thank you for your very kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeHull_e...
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good location with everything you need.”
Reviewed 11 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

stayed for 7 night's here.The barn has everything you could need set amongst the country side. Ideal base for those who enjoy walking. Some great restaurantsand bars/pubs in the area. Lots of coves with sandy beaches nearby most with ample parking. Complimentary bottle of wine on arrival always welcomed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2017
Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad you ahd a great stay despite mixed weather. I hope we will see you back in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Hm
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful barn conversion in a great location”
Reviewed 9 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We had a fantastic week in this beautifully renovated barn. We loved the upside-down layout with a large, bright, open-plan living, kitchen and dining room looking out onto fields and woodland. The downstairs bedrooms are very comfortable and the travertine tiles with underfloor heating felt a little luxurious! The decoration is stylish and simple and the owners have thought of everything: from flowers and wine on arrival to providing plenty of hand soap, laundry and dishwasher tabs. There is a lovely outdoor seating area and the location is wonderfully peaceful with sounds of only birds, sheep and the small stream that runs through the farm. It's a short walk from South Sands beach where you can take a ferry to Salcombe - still an easy walk. It's a fantastic base for a beach or walking holiday, surrounded on all sides by the coastal path with its dramatic crags and pretty beaches. Communication with Jaap was excellent, and Michele was very friendly and helpful during our stay. We would love to go back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2017
Thank you for your kind review!! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$822
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing