We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tea and scones”
Review of The Wardroom

The Wardroom
Ranked #2 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Salcombe
Price range: US$4 - US$12
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

Called in today to enjoy their lovely river view and ordered tea and scones with butter and jam. Order was taken and the scones arrived very quickly with the tea shortly after. The tea was lovely and refreshing the scones a lovely colour, light and very fresh, the butter and a jar of quality jam completed our treat. Nothing is too much trouble here with all staff busy. We weren't ready for a lunch this time but we saw food arriving to other tables which all looked great and diners commenting on the great quality and taste of their choice. See you our next trip to your lovely town and hopefully we will be hungry enough to enjoy your lovely meals.

Thank ColintGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariyaRoder, Owner at The Wardroom, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2017

Dear ColintGrant,
Thank you very much for your kind comments on the Tripadvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to our cafe and the cream tea that we serve. Yes, we do use only the best quality ingredients: Tiptree strawberry jam, Cornish Trewithien butter, Tregothnan tea, the only tea grown in England, and only fresh locally baked scones.
We recently have employed the South West winner of the master-chef competition & the quarter finalist Jamie Rogers. We also are open in the evenings now! So when you are in Salcombe next time, we will be happy to greet you again and hopefully you will try his delicious lunch or dinner dishes.
Regards
Mariya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
There are newer reviews for The Wardroom
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2017

Great place for breakfast or to sample the soup of the day. Super crab sandwiches and coffee. Small so you may have to wait for a table at busy times.

Thank Orange54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariyaRoder, Owner at The Wardroom, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2017

Dear Orange54,
Thank you very much for your kind comments. I am delighted you enjoyed your visit to "the Wardroom". See you next time.
Regards
Mariya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2017 via mobile

Food was very good and staff very friendly. We went here 3 times during the week and the egg's benedict is to die for.

Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariyaRoder, Owner at The Wardroom, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

Dear Phil W,
Thank you very much for your excellent report, and we do hope to see you again.
Regards
Mariya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017

First time we ate here the food was good, second time there was a smell of burnt cheese or something in the air which didn't enhance the taste of the food... We came back a few days later to eat on the deck but were "barged" out of the way by a local wanting her regular place, so moved on, manners can not make a person or a place...

Thank Redpec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariyaRoder, Owner at The Wardroom, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

Dear Redpec,
We are very sorry about the smell of burnt cheese, it is most unusual. We agree with you : the manners can not make a person or a place! And we don't condone anyone who tries to push someone else of the table, no matter how often they frequent "the Wardroom"; and we are sorry this occurred from one of our apparent regular customers. No tables are normally reserved for anyone. Hopefully you will come and see us again soon, and have a perfect experience.
Regards
Mariya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

Five members of staff chatting inside by the counter and only three pairs of customers at tables on the outside terrace. I walked into the restaurant to make my arrival known and was told to sit anywhere I liked and my wife and I would be served shortly. We sat at a table overlooking the waters edge but still had plates and cutlery from the last serving. After waiting a good long time with no service we thought if the staff couldn't be bothered to clear the table and serve us we couldn't be bothered to eat there, so walked out.

    • Service
Thank andrewjhj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariyaRoder, Owner at The Wardroom, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

Dear andrewjhj,
We are very surprised and sorry you had such a bad experience with us. All of our staff are well trained, and take their job very seriously, some being family members. We have employed Jamie Roger, who has recently won South West chef of the year. He is overseeing all our staff, so hopefully if you come to "the Wardroom" again your next experience will be amazing.
Regards
Mariya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wardroom also viewed

 

Been to The Wardroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing