We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely cottage in a fabulous location.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Second bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Second bedroom
Kitchen
Main bedroom
Lounge
Eating area
Main bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Salcombe, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rachael P
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely cottage in a fabulous location.”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in July 2015

As a a family of four with two children aged 12 and 15, we stayed at Clifton Place for a week at the end of July. The cottage is in a fabulous location within Salcombe. Across the road is the butchers, bakers and grocers. The cottage was very well equipped, clean and tidy. The bedrooms are a good size with lots of storage. Even though the property has no parking, you are able to pull up outside to drop off luggage etc. We parked on the car park about a 5 minute walk away and paid for a weekly ticket. It was lovely to not use the car for the week as all amenities are in walking distance.

We would recommend this cottage to anyone who is looking for a central location in the heart of Salcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah C
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely, Amazing, Brilliant!”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My Partner & I + 3 year old stayed in this lovely little place for 5 days - all 3 of us loved it. Not only did having amazing weather help but the location was superb and our accomodation was very cosy. Both Bedrooms were a superb size and enough storage to fit out stuff. The amenities were great. It had everyhting we needed + more! There a littlwe balcony which gives a great view - just adds to the greatness of this.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No Parking
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happyinro...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Amazing little place.”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This little cottage is located in the middle of Salcombe, close to all shops and local amenities. You won't find a better spot.

It is small but perfectly formed. I travelled with my partner and one year old. The cottage suited us perfectly with lots of crawling space.

The living room is cosy with a TV and wifi, comfy sofas and carpets. It's a old fashioned but charming and clean. This leads onto the kitchen and bathroom. Both adequate. We cooked in the kitchen without problems and utilised the local butcher whose produce is amazing.

The is no bath in the bathroom but shower is fine and always good supply of hot water.

The bedrooms are upstairs. The main bedroom is roomy and nicely decorated. The view from here is lovely. The kids room has plenty of beds but we used their travel cot.

Everything was very clean and tidy.

This is a fantastic little cottage and such excellent value for money. I still cannot believe how cheap it was for a whole week. Worth a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valeolmo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic little place right by the water.”
Reviewed 19 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely time with my family at Clifton place. Very cosy and clean, right in the centre of town.Recommended.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2015
Many thanks for the positive review, it's very rewarding to know you are doing something that is on the right track.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andyinvis...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Champagne taste on lemonade money”
Reviewed 9 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How do you start?

Location amazing, right in the middle of salcombe next to the lifeboat station. Couldn't be better.

The property, if you are trying to rent the ritz, then this isn't it, equally it doesn't pretend to be, if you have seen the pictures you know what you are getting, and that's why I give it a five.

The property was clean and tidy, the beds are comfy, the information pack arrived the day after we booked, so as for service it was amazing.

So for the price you pay you would not get better value anywhere in Salcombe, a true gem that I hope we stay at again.

Thank You.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2015
Thank you very much for the positive review, if I paid someone to give me a favourable review, they would struggle to come up with a better description of the location and property.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$112
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing