We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay, wonderful location and fabulous cider!”
Review of Broome Farmhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Broome Farmhouse
Ranked #15 of 43 Ross-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Leighton Buzzard
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely stay, wonderful location and fabulous cider!”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We decided to have a short break to this b&b as we were highly recommended it! The farmhouse is about 2miles out of Ross town but this is great as the location is on the cider farms acres and provides some lovely walks of the local area. Very comfortable rooms, delicious breakfast everyday and both John and Hilary were very accommodating to our needs. We both enjoyed staying here and found Ross on Wye a very lovely place to visit. We ate dinner at the b&b (which doubles up as a restaurant a couple of times a week) dinner was truly delicious however we did find the cost of the evening rather expensive. We will be returning in the future and although we are really glad to have eaten here of an evening there are plenty of local pubs/restaurants that are much cheaper. We'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fivercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    18
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
6
92
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tiptree, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Decided to try an alternative from Premier Inn - glad we did, great hosts, best breakfast I can ever remember in the UK. Cider was lovely too shame is wasn't the weekend! We had to get up for a business meeting...


Many thanks for an enjoyable stay

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We only stayed here one night in the spring when the orchard was in full bloom. It was a really nice experience. When we arrived we were given a jug of apple cider and fresh home made cake.
They didn't do an evening meal but recommended a place nearby which did the most amazing steak I have had in a while.
In the morning we had an excellent breakfast and after that we walked it off in the orchard in where a little walk had been set out for the guests.
All in all a truly amazing place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josua78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Ideal for a relaxing break.

Hilary and John (who run the guesthouse) are very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast is locally sourced and well worth tasting, as is the home made cider cake.
The standard of our room was excellent, very clean and comfortable to stay in.

More to the point, if like me you are a cider buff, the orchards, barns and cellar are a must!

Mike (the brewer) and his colleagues whose names I can't remember, gave me an insight into how real cider is made (none of this strongbow stuff!!) and again were very friendly.

To sum it up in four words......... Deifinitely worth a visit!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

First, but probably not the last visit. An excellent find: great accommodation with a large comfortable room; food of a very high standard with the use of local produce for both the evening meal and breakfast, and very hospitable hosts. The added bonus of a jug of cider and a slice of cider cake on arrival was well received. The Accommodation is on a working cider farm and it was fascinating to see the apples being harvested and to sample the finished produce in the cellar and talk to those doing the work. Whilst in the area the Three Choirs winery is also worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
2.9 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,100 reviews
2.7 km away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
557 reviews
7.7 km away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#8 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
149 reviews
6.4 km away
Thatch Close Farm B&B
Thatch Close Farm B&B
#1 of 1 in Llangrove
27 reviews
2.8 km away
Radcliffe Guest House
Radcliffe Guest House
#11 of 43 in Ross-on-Wye
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broome Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broome Farmhouse

Property: Broome Farmhouse
Address: Peterstow, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Ross-on-Wye
Price range (per night): RM324 - RM447
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Broome Ross On Wye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing