We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A night away in a very pretty town”
Review of The Chase Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chase Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Overall the stay was great. I can't say we were welcomed warmly initially but it was pleasant enough. We were shown to our executive room which I had chosen instead of the superior because the website bills it with a larger TV and Jacuzzi bath. The TV was tiny and although it was not a massive issue I felt the room was small and if I am sold something I like to receive it. The young woman on reception was very helpful and kind and showed us another executive room, as described but it was above the rear patio and we had already been warned after booking that there was a potential for disturbance from the party taking place. I asked for an upgrade and was immediately given one to a four poster room which was much more befitting of the price I paid. The room was spacious, comfortable, had great views and the bed was very comfy. (The TV was large too!!)

We ate in the restaurant and again although the service was good it wasn't really warm or engaging. Our male server was a person of few words. The steak we had was delicious and presented nicely. However again, what was sold on the website is not was is the reality and I find this disappointing. The website advertised a 3 course table D'Hote meal included in the deal. In reality there is a £25 allowance which will cover a 3 course meal if you choose the less expensive, less table D'Hote options. We had a very nice 2 course meal and used up the allowance.
Parts of our stay were lovely and the breakfast service and food was excellent but I can't help feeling I was sold a package, an image that did not match the reality.

Room Tip: The 4 poster room has great views and is comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peacock5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 111 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2016

The grounds of the Hotel are beautiful. Wonderful entrance and staircase. Very good food in Harry's restaurant. We were a large group so they coped well. However, I reported to them the the telephone in my room did not work, but nothing was done about it. I had asked for an iron and board that arrived eventually. They need to removed the dated TV stand where they keep a kettle and tea/coffee tray that is not practical. Not easy for anybody disabled. The best part was Harry's restaurant for dinner. Very pretty village that is only a few minutes walk from the Hotel

Room Tip: upper rooms facing the front with views of the garden. no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank belbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here on a Sunday and Monday night for a friends wedding. Was charged £104 per night and generally left very dissapointed. The staff were pretty uninspiring throughout the wedding and left the bride and groom to fix a lot of niggly problems. There was no real management or direction around the wedding from the staff either.

The room itself was tiny and very dated, with a bit of a stale sort of smell. Facilities were adequate but where the television was placed you couldn't see it from the bed. I also had to wait about 3 hours after requesting an iron before helping myself to one as it wasn't sent.

The morning we checked out there was building work going on which started at around 7am seemingly right outside our room which, the morning after the wedding, was not much fun. I called down to reception but the lady on the end of the phone said 'it wasn't work being done on the hotel' and didn't really care.

Before checking out some friends of ours told us what they had paid for the two nights which was a lot cheaper than our bill, when we enquired at reception about this the lady stated that it was because we had used an 'outside booking agency' - we had booked directly through the hotels website!

The lady also seemed pretty uninterested in my complaints about the building noise.

All in not a great experience which is a shame because the lobby and bar areas are nice and the gardens too but I will definitely not stay here again, not worth the money.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed at the Chase hotel for one night after a party celebration. I couldn't have stayed any longer because the beds were so hard there was no way of sleeping. I had asked for a mattress topper as I suffer with severe arthritis but this made no difference what so ever. The rooms were extremely small and the paper thin walls didn't stop you hearing next door and beyond.
The food was very nice which is why I gave it 2 stars. The staff too at both the party the evening before and serving us our breakfasts were really efficient and attentive a credit to the hotel. The grounds and settings are beautiful so it's such a shame they can't provide a good nights sleep.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

This is an excellent hotel with superb friendly , efficient, courteous staff. The room ,though small was very good and the view from it lovely. The food in Harrys Restraunt was superb and a good choice on the menu. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the grounds, preferably on the top floor..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pauleter72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.5 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,151 reviews
0.4 km away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
415 reviews
6.1 km away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
600 reviews
8.2 km away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
506 reviews
1.4 km away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#9 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chase Hotel

Address: Gloucester Road, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range: RM352 - RM683 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chase Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chase Hotel in Ross-on-Wye is a Georgian Country house hotel set in 11 acres of parkland surrounded by stunning countryside. The hotel has been refurbished to reflect an up to date feel which blends sympathetically and seamlessly with the period charm and features of the building, enabling guests to relax and enjoy their stay in comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chase Hotel Ross On Wye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing