We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Week-end away"”
Review of The Chase Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chase Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Reviewed 14 September 2017

We decided to have a short break away after hectic school holidays but did't want to travel too far. The Chase was the choice because of above, plenty of good walks in the area and the interesting town of Ross on Wye. We were not disappointed on any of the points. The Chase is in beautiful surroundings and gardens on the edge of Ross on Wye within easy walking distance of the town, but the hotel is very comfortable with all mod-cons. We were let down by Booking.com who failed to inform the hotel we wished to have a deluxe sized bed, but the staff were very helpful and tried to get us an alternative room, but to no avail.
We ate in, at Harry's Restaurant, and were not disappointed. The food was excellent, well cooked, enough and very tasty. Recommend the Pork tenderloin!
All in all a good experience. Will go again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the grounds are my choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 497 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

We stopped here twice on our journey to / from south wales. Lovely garden and patio, excellent food and good value (huge portions). Very nice beef noodles and best cheeseburger I have had in ages!

Made a perfect lunch stop and good service too.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank donnakebab1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Enjoyed a stay at The Chase hotel as a solo traveller. The hotel is in a fab setting in its own grounds & very local to the centre of town. The room was large, clean with all facilities, decor in keeping with the style of the hotel.
Dinner in Harry's bar was a little slow in coming but worth the wait. Good choice & service for Breakfast .
If back in the area would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Lovely venue for a party, beautiful grounds, and rooms very comfortable. The Christmas food served, was a little hit and miss, because of the amount of people being served, it took a while to get around to people, and it wasn't the warmest when it arrived, but it didn't spoil the evening.

Stayed: December 2016
Thank Wednesburylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

As part of a group of '4 ladies who lunch', we decided to attend an Afternoon Tea experience at The Chase Hotel to celebrate a significant birthday. Everything about the event was 5 star - even though we were definitely not paying 5 star prices. The location is lovely; the building itself is so gracious; the room we had the Afternoon Tea in was delightful (although we could also have chosen to eat outside or in the lounge); the quality and quantity of the food provided was excellent and the staff from Manager, Reception and particularly the young man dealing with waiting and bar duties was 10 star. I have been lucky enough to have had afternoon tea experiences in many places, including The Ritz and Claridges in London - and am delighted to say The Chase compares so favourably with all other places I have visited - most definitely the best Afternoon Tea in our locality. We will certainly be returning

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.4 km away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
416 reviews
0.5 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,152 reviews
6.1 km away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
601 reviews
8.2 km away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
506 reviews
1.4 km away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#9 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chase Hotel

Address: Gloucester Road, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range: RM417 - RM681 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chase Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chase Hotel in Ross-on-Wye is a Georgian Country house hotel set in 11 acres of parkland surrounded by stunning countryside. The hotel has been refurbished to reflect an up to date feel which blends sympathetically and seamlessly with the period charm and features of the building, enabling guests to relax and enjoy their stay in comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chase Hotel Ross On Wye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing