We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Thoroughly enjoyable stay.”
other travellers have booked this property
Your independent accommodation (annex), with main house to the left.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your independent accommodation (annex), with main house to the left.
Main living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
101 reviews
Your independent accommodation (annex), with main house to the left.
Main living area
Your kitchenette, which is stocked up with your breakfasts. Will be topped up during your stay.
Outside seating area.
private bathroom
Enter a caption for your photo
view of Defoe House with independent annex to the left.
Lymington river nearby.
Beautiful walks on your doorstep.
Lymington cobbled street.
Lymington river, where you can catch ferry to Isle of Wight.
Close to Exbury gardens, famous for its spring and autumn colour.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lymington, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 101 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
kay s
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyable stay.”
Reviewed 21 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We would highly recommend Defoe b&b.
We had a very warm welcome from Vanessa who continued to make sure we had everything we needed during our stay and at the same time ensuring our privacy.The room is a generous size and very comfortable.Nice size bathroom and kichenette .Everything was spotlessly clean.The breakfast which is left in the fridge to have at your own convenience was of a very high quality,we specially enjoyed the smoked salmon and also the freshly baked bread and homemade cake.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2016
Thank you for your review. So pleased to hear that you enjoyed the homemade bread and cakes. Vanessa .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel P
Lyndhurst, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Place to Stay”
Reviewed 26 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Defoe House for just one night over New Year but had a great time. There were 5 of us (2 adults and 3 children) which we knew was more than would usually stay but there was plenty of room for all of us. Vanessa was incredibly helpful, left us a well stocked fridge and the facilities of the accommodation are superb. It was very clean and catered for all of our needs. The walks on the forest nearby are great and Lymington is very close by. We really hope to visit again soon. Thank you...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The accommodation
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2016
Thank you for your review. So lovely to have met you all and really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially at such short notice. Vanessa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fraser G
1 review
“Quiet, comfortable and cosy!”
Reviewed 21 January 2016 for a stay in July 2015

What a fantastic stay! The setting was lovely in a friendly little village and the guest room was perfect! The room was very tidy along with the kitchenette and bathroom and although the hosts were away that weekend, they really welcomed us with fresh fruit and breakfast supplies in the fridge. I definitely recommend Defoe House B&B and would love to stay again! Thanks for everything Vanessa!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The room
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2016
Thank you for your review. So sorry that we weren't there to meet you, but delighted to hear that you had a great stay. Vanessa .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBS86
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic weekend away from London”
Reviewed 12 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015

I stayed here with 3 friends for a weekend in the New Forest. Vanessa and her husband could not have been more welcoming - what wonderful hosts. They told us of great walks, and helped us with travel reservations to The Pig for dinner in the evening. The homemade bread, jam and cake were divine too - I would highly recommend this place to anyone, and will be visiting again. Thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2016
Thank you for your review. Really pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Pig Hotel, and had a relaxing stay with us. Vanessa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie F
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely Stay”
Reviewed 8 October 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a lovely stay at Defoe House. The kitchen was stocked with plenty of food for breakfast and there was also a lovely chocolate cake. We were a family of 4 with 2 teenagers and there was plenty of room. The house is located within the New Forest and had donkeys grazing right outside.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2016
Thank you for your review. Lovely to have met you all and that you enjoyed the chocolate cake! Vanessa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing