We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy atmosphere and very reasonable prices”
Review of Helgi's

Helgi's
Ranked #4 of 37 Restaurants in Kirkwall
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$35
Cuisines: British, Bar, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, View details, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Firstly it is important for any new visitors trying to book or visit Helgi's to know that we are an over 18's only bar. That includes throughout the building and at all times. Helgi's is a small cosy pub overlooking the harbour. We serve good pub food of the home cooking variety, trying to use local produce where possible. We have a great selection of local ales in bottles and three Rob Hill ales on draft, we also have a good selection of Orcadian and Scottish whisky, and our wine list has been selected by our local wine expert, Duncan McLean from Kirkness & Gorie. We also offer a great selection of cocktails, beers and spirits. Please be aware that we have an over 18's only licence, which means that we cannot allow children, even for meals.
Reviewed 1 June 2021 via mobile

Great cosy atmosphere. Ordered a starter and a main. Limited vegetarian choices but were tasty! Very reasonable prices. Would definitely recommend. Id definitely advise booking to avoid disappointment!

Date of visit: April 2021
1  Thank fin1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,028)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 1,028 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2021 via mobile

Helpful and efficient staff, tried to book a Friday night by email, and got a swift message back apologising not available,but equally quick positive reply for the Saturday night. Great table upstairs in the window, tables socially distanced, staff helpful in providing extra cutlery for us to share a nice starter. The Brazilian curry a tasty good different option, along with pulled pork burger, which again staff happy to provide a “doggy bag” even offering choice of how we wanted it stored, ie. foil or box! Good house wine selection, beer selection could have been larger, but very acceptable choices on offer.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank JudyOswestryUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2021

This was a recommendation from a friend and I have to say the menu had a varied selection. The food was well presented and was very tasty. For starters the squid has lots of flavours and the chicken fajitas for mains was delicious. Desserts if you can manage them are a must. If visiting this is a must to eat here. It does get busy so recommend you book

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank intercity235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2021 via mobile

Love the location - right opposite the harbour. Lovely bar atmosphere & nice menu choice using local ingredients. Staff following covid restrictions. Revuwe score dropped as allocated table upstairs which has no atmosphere in the room & can hear the kitchen sounds. Also, ordered a burger that was nearly raw in the middle - very pink

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank U8982CDkarenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2021 via mobile

Heard a lot about this restaurant however was not blown away by experience.
Firstly the staff greeting on arrival was lukewarm at best.
Given the location the almost complete lack of seafood on the menu was disappointing.
Not sure why everything these days has to be spicy but the prawn and crab salad did not benefit from the fiery sauce.
Quality of the food by large was good and service was ok would just have liked to have seen more seafood on the menu.

Date of visit: April 2021
1  Thank Newt639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Helgi's also viewed

 
Kirkwall, Mainland
Kirkwall, Mainland
 

Been to Helgi's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.