We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, historic hotel”
Review of Kirkwall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kirkwall Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Kirkwall
Reviewed 28 September 2017

On a recent stay to the Kirkwall Hotel, we were greeted warmly by reception and handed a key to a beautiful waterfront view from the second floor. This hotel is older and full of character complete with "creaky" floors,..loved it. It was warm, quiet and comfortable for our short stay to the Orkneys.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms provide a nice view to a busy port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 391 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2017

On our recent visit to Orkney we were trying to find somewhere dog friendly and that catered for vegans - Kirkwall Hotel answered both.
We called in for lunch (served 12 -2pm) and were amazed to find a separate full vegan menu - starters, mains and desserts. Normally we just get offered one option. Main meals were about £10 each and desserts around £4.
The bar area accepted dogs so that was another bonus. Yes the place could have been a bit smarter but to be honest the staff were lovely, the food was really tasty and we had a choice of meals. We would have gone back for another meal but we were leaving not long after.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Heidi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

The Kirkwall is well situated on the waterfront, a good home base for touring the magical Orkneys. However, the hotel itself could use some improvements. This was our most expensive accommodation during our 2 weeks in Scotland and I have to say we were disappointed. The decor is dated and dark, the air is dank and stale and the vintage elevator is often out of commission because someone forgot to close the cage tightly and send it back down. The rooms, beds and shower are very small and even though we had a "sea view ", there was condensation on the inside of the double glazed windowpane so we never actually got a good view of the harbour. Our TV never worked during our stay even though we asked at the front desk to have someone look at it.
Dining room staff, on the other hand, were lovely. We ate one dinner and three breakfasts in the very large, formal dining room and were greeted each time by professional and friendly staff. Lots of selection for the full Scottish breakfast (included) and the traditional dining room menu even includes a vegetarian option.
FYI to travellers, all the main hotels are either right beside the Kirkwall or within a block or two, so you should check all options before booking.

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank JPF146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Eaten at the Kirkwall a few times and the food quality has taken a down turn. Frozen peas and carrots, boring! Frozen chips, what's wrong with real chips.The chairs in the dining room need re upholstering, they are hard and lumpy! The staff are a mixed bag, some very nice and attentive and some others couldn't care less. Table service is weird, clearing side plates before the main course is served and any deserts served in small glasses are plonked straight onto the table, no plate and no sweet fork. The decor is sad, shabby and dated, I wish we could get the olds to eat somewhere else!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lily208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

we stayed here for my suprise henny, and i had a fantastic stay, although our room was probably not best one in the hotel and it was a bit chilly in the room, im sure if you asked for a better room when booking they would have no problem.
the hotel is obviously slowly getting made more modern as the other girls had better more modern rooms and decor.
the breakfasts was to die for so good, and i asked to remove some items from the full breakfast which they happily done.
the staff is so friendly considering we were a hen party and not the quietest of bunch we where treated brilliantly and even given an extra 2 hrs checkout so we could rest after our night out.
i would definatly recommend staying here, and if you want a better up to date room just ask. :)

Room Tip: ask for a modern room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwall
0.2 km away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
387 reviews
0 km away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
136 reviews
0.1 km away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#7 of 9 in Kirkwall
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#6 of 9 in Kirkwall
258 reviews
15.9 km away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burray Village
189 reviews
0.5 km away
The Orkney Hotel
The Orkney Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkwall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkwall Hotel

Address: Harbour Street, Kirkwall KW15 1LE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Kirkwall
Price Range: RM 399 - RM 903 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kirkwall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kirkwall Hotel with stunning views to the north is one of Orkney's finest Victorian Buildings, perfectly situated within the historic town of Kirkwall, on the picturesque harbour front, close to the marina and the main shopping area, ideal for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kirkwall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing