We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good soup. Nice little place ”

The Real Food Cafe and Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 39 Restaurants in Kirkwall
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$22
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish, British, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Our Real Food Cafe/'Restaurant is situated in the Judith Glue Shop opposite St Magnus Cathedral in the heart of Kirkwall, Orkney's main town. We are open Monday-Saturday 9am - 10pm and Sundays 10am - 6pm during June, July and August. The rest of the year we are open Mon -Sat 9am -6pm and Sunday 10am - 6pm We specialize in home cooked local Orkney Produce cooked in front of you in our open kitchen, our restaurant has a very relaxed atmosphere and welcomes all ages. We are licenced and offer a good selection of wines,spirits, local beers and whiskies. Children are very welcome at any time of the day and table reservations are accepted in the evenings after 5.30Pm. Our shop is also open at the same time so there is a chance to browse and shop till you drop as well. Join our Facebook page or visit our website to find out all about us!
Reviewed 24 February 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed the daily special soups, which were, wonderfully, both vegetarian. It was good to see a choice of two avail. Interesting bread made locally, too.

Thank Backpacker_Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrkneyJudith, Owner at The Real Food Cafe and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

Thank you very much for your nice review and glad you liked our local Beremeal Bannock Bread our soups are always vegetarian and we make them fresh daily. Hope you can make it back to us again sometime

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 512 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

I had one of the best quiche and salad I have ever tasted. It was good to see there were no plastic straws and plastic cutlery was replaced by the real thing or wooden for takeaways. Only improvement would be to offer smaller portions. Half size would have been better for me.

Thank S2238QVwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith Glue O, Owner at The Real Food Cafe and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2018

Thank you very much for your lovely review we make our Quiche and Salads fresh every day so glad you enjoyed it and l will pass your comments onto our staff
We do actually offer a peedie Quiche with side salad as a smaller portion on our menu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

We had a very enjoyable lunch here. Nothing fancy, but an assortment of good quality and good value foods.

Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith Glue O, Owner at The Real Food Cafe and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2018

Thankyou very much it is always enjoyable to receive a good review such as yours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017

Strange place, half of it is in a shop, half in a kitchen. Food ok, though over reliance on thick white bread noted. Cheese on toast is not a toastie, not in any universe.
Note to staff, don't roll your eyes when someone orders a drink you have to make, it's on the menu, your menu, so learn some customer service.

5  Thank Windmillingthebat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith Glue O, Owner at The Real Food Cafe and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2018

We are baffled by your review and find it simply incoherent of course you are welcome to choose to go anywhere else to eat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

This is not only a nice café, but a shop as well. The coffee was good, they offer soya - milk. The selection of food is great and it tastes fantastic.

Thank Britta48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith Glue O, Owner at The Real Food Cafe and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2018

Thank you very much we do our best and l will pass your excellent comments onto my hard working staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Real Food Cafe and Restaurant also viewed

Kirkwall, Mainland
 
Kirkwall, Mainland
 

Been to The Real Food Cafe and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing