We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic!”
Review of Embassy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Embassy Hotel
Ranked #48 of 99 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 September 2011

This was by far the best holiday I have ever been on! My double room was lovely, plenty big enough for me and my friend and we also had a brilliant view.

We were seen to by Odette, who was very welcoming and ensured that we were shown to our room, letting us know all the times for meals and also about the attractions in Great Yarmouth.

Every day was brilliant - the full english breakfast was faultess, we were given extra toast when needed and extra cups of tea too. We got to know the waitering/waitressing staff: Carly and Charlotte the two fantastic waitresses and Casey the marvellous waiter! They were always extremely friendly, asking us how our day was and what we had planned; they ensured that our meals all came out together and if we needed anything they would always help. I'd like to give a mention to David the barman as he was full of useful information and was very friendly.

Overall, this hotel was again FANTASTIC! I'd like to give all the staff (Odette, Krystal, Charlotte, Casey, Carly, Kat, David and others) at the Embassy Hotel a big 10 out of 10! Thank you for a brilliant stay :)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 196 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2011

This hotel's rooms looked lovely in the photographs, but when we were shown to our double room it was cramped, needed decorating and the bathroom smelt off.

We overlooked the back of a restaurant so Saturday night (our first night) we heard voices and swearing which made it hard to sleep. Also there was a strange noise above us like a machine working into the night, this went on both nights.

Our second night included 2 occasions when the fire alarm went off, my partner went to investigate these and was told that someone must have been smoking in their room.

The rest of the hotel looked ok, breakfast was good, but there did seem to be a lack of staff generally.

We left early for some sleep and would not return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEmbassyHotel, Owner at Embassy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2011

After looking into the points raised on your recent review of the hotel, please find my findings, We have undergone a lot of work in the hotel in terms of refurbishment to our rooms and public areas. Approximatley 75% of our bedrooms are complete. The room you stayed in, whilst clean, is a little out of date in its decor. As we coming to the quieter end of the Summer season ,we are now able to continue with our refurbishments. Based on your review, I have put the room you stayed in at the front of the list to be refurbished. As you have pointed out that the rooms we have done, are lovely, and work is being undertaken on the room you were in. There is a Restaurant at the rear of the hotel (not part of the hotel). As far as I am aware this has been closed for apporx. 18 months so can only assume the swearing you heard, was noisy holiday makers on thier way home. I am sorry you had to endure this, had you have spoken to us, I would have been more than happy to relocate you. This also applies to the 'machine' you heard. I have tried to investigate this but am unable to find what it was, I can only assume that a room above you had left thier bathroom light on all night causing the extractor fan to be activated. Again, had you have mentioned it, I would have relocated. In the Guest Info packs there is a strong policy about No Smoking. We try and enforce this as much as possible but unfortunatley there are still a few people who believe them to be an exception to the rule. When people smoke in the bedrooms, the Fire Alarm will activate as it is highly sensitive to cigarette smoke and this is what happened on that occassion. All in all, im sorry you had a dissapointing stay but as I am constantly saying to people, "Tell us at the time where we can actually do something to correct the situation thus improving your stay".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Our party of 5 originally booked a double and triple room at Gable End Hotel, the sister hotel of The Embassy Hotel. We were moved as a result of a mixed up in the booking process.

The Embassy Hotel is well located opposite the Sea Life Centre, a short walk to everything in Great Yarmouth. Public areas in the hotels are quite nice, especially the bar and restaurant areas. Our triple room had ample room and a nice bathroom. Our double room was pokey, small bathroom and very hot. Neither rooms had any sort of view.

The major let down during our staff were the the breakfast staff. On our first morning, our waitress was what can only be described as robotic. She didn't converse with us at all. We were aksed if we wanted tea or coffee. As I wanted neither, I wasn't offered juice, I had to ask for this, and no one else was offered it either who did have the hot drinks. A vegetarian breakfast apparently takes 35 minutes to prepare and were told this should be pre ordered - no apologies that this couldn't be done for us that day. The substitute was 2 rounds of dry brown bed and one egg. We were served toast, 3 rounds between 5 of us and again, no offer of more. Standard cooked breakfast was ok - very poor quality sausages and soggy hash browns. Dishes were left on the table throughout, nothing cleared away. There was no 'have a nice day', 'did you enjoy your breakfast', nothing at all. The second morning was better but one staff member was serving so was rushed off her feet.

Best part about the hotel for us was David in the bar. He was always friendly, helpful with restaurant suggestions and made us sandwiches one afternoon when we were hungry. The other staff should take a leaf out of his book.

Next time, I'd probably try one of the many other b&b/hotel options on offer in the area. This hotel is self classified as 4* - it wouldn't definitely not achieve this is rated professionally.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ItchyFeeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Booked this hotel very late minute for a one night stay it was not the hotel I wanted but did not appear to be many hotels left being holiday period so not suprising. Was plesantly suprised & bonus, we could see the sea from one of the windows in our room. Hotel is just off the main road so was perfect. Man on reception was helpful & friendly. There is a lift. Family rooms did have a few minor faults especially the bathroom which had holes in the walls?? Would not take much to fill them in or replaster as a small area. Sleeping area was clean & spacious, bathroom clean, small but adequate. Could hear people in next room flushing toilet & showering at silly o'clock in the morning but I do have exceptional hearing & am a light sleeper. Room was very hot & matress a little hard. Lady in bar was nice & friendly.Breakfast was lovely, service good, polite enough but no interaction ie.. did you sleep well etc...Would of been nice to have someone at reception when we left to say thanks for your stay. Would stay again

Room Tip: room 3 sea view from one window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evansangels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

The hotel is a few minutes walk from the seafront (street is opposite Wellington Pier & Seaworld) in a quiet side street. I stayed here with 2 freinds in July 2011 for a weekend and cannot understand the bad reviews on here. The bar & dining room area is lovely, the staff helpful & friendly & we had a very good breakfast. Our room spacious & clean. I would definately stay here again as it is in a good location & really good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whitbyabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
1.1 km away
St Annes Hotel
St Annes Hotel
#56 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
124 reviews
1.8 km away
Gable End Hotel
Gable End Hotel
#39 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
240 reviews
1.2 km away
Silverstone House
Silverstone House
#15 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
The Kensington
The Kensington
#51 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
376 reviews
0.9 km away
The Ladybird Guest House
The Ladybird Guest House
#62 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
8 reviews
0.9 km away
Seamore Guest House
Seamore Guest House
#63 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Hotel

Address: 38-41 Camperdown, Great Yarmouth NR30 3JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range: RM210 - RM404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Embassy Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Hotel Great Yarmouth, with it's location close to the Norfolk Broads,offers short and long breaks for those seeking hotel and accommodation in Great Yarmouth, Norfolk Broads.The is situated 5 minutes from River Yare and 5 minutes from the seafront. We aim to be one of the friendliest hotel in Norfolk, where guest expectation & satisfaction is our priority. With it's Victorian Style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Embassy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Hotel Great Yarmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing