We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Embassy Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$106
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Imperial Hotel(Great Yarmouth)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Willows Guest House(Great Yarmouth)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Old Hall Hotel(Caister-on-Sea)
US$109
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kilbrannan Guest House(Great Yarmouth)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saffrons Guest House(Great Yarmouth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Merivon Guest House(Great Yarmouth)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Trotwood Guest House(Great Yarmouth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taunton House(Great Yarmouth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
228 results
Traveller rating
85
71
24
21
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
85
71
24
21
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely hoteltrouser presssister hotelgable endthe sea life centrewellington piersea frontfull english breakfastwould stay againbreakfast was excellenttea and coffee making facilitiesnothing too much troublesingle roomlovely roomcannot faultdamienstella
Filter
Updating list...
199 - 204 of 228 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2011

This hotel's rooms looked lovely in the photographs, but when we were shown to our double room it was cramped, needed decorating and the bathroom smelt off.

We overlooked the back of a restaurant so Saturday night (our first night) we heard voices and swearing which made it hard to sleep. Also there was a strange noise above us like a machine working into the night, this went on both nights.

Our second night included 2 occasions when the fire alarm went off, my partner went to investigate these and was told that someone must have been smoking in their room.

The rest of the hotel looked ok, breakfast was good, but there did seem to be a lack of staff generally.

We left early for some sleep and would not return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEmbassyHotel, Owner at Embassy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2011

After looking into the points raised on your recent review of the hotel, please find my findings, We have undergone a lot of work in the hotel in terms of refurbishment to our rooms and public areas. Approximatley 75% of our bedrooms are complete. The room you stayed in, whilst clean, is a little out of date in its decor. As we coming to the quieter end of the Summer season ,we are now able to continue with our refurbishments. Based on your review, I have put the room you stayed in at the front of the list to be refurbished. As you have pointed out that the rooms we have done, are lovely, and work is being undertaken on the room you were in. There is a Restaurant at the rear of the hotel (not part of the hotel). As far as I am aware this has been closed for apporx. 18 months so can only assume the swearing you heard, was noisy holiday makers on thier way home. I am sorry you had to endure this, had you have spoken to us, I would have been more than happy to relocate you. This also applies to the 'machine' you heard. I have tried to investigate this but am unable to find what it was, I can only assume that a room above you had left thier bathroom light on all night causing the extractor fan to be activated. Again, had you have mentioned it, I would have relocated. In the Guest Info packs there is a strong policy about No Smoking. We try and enforce this as much as possible but unfortunatley there are still a few people who believe them to be an exception to the rule. When people smoke in the bedrooms, the Fire Alarm will activate as it is highly sensitive to cigarette smoke and this is what happened on that occassion. All in all, im sorry you had a dissapointing stay but as I am constantly saying to people, "Tell us at the time where we can actually do something to correct the situation thus improving your stay".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Our party of 5 originally booked a double and triple room at Gable End Hotel, the sister hotel of The Embassy Hotel. We were moved as a result of a mixed up in the booking process.

The Embassy Hotel is well located opposite the Sea Life Centre, a short walk to everything in Great Yarmouth. Public areas in the hotels are quite nice, especially the bar and restaurant areas. Our triple room had ample room and a nice bathroom. Our double room was pokey, small bathroom and very hot. Neither rooms had any sort of view.

The major let down during our staff were the the breakfast staff. On our first morning, our waitress was what can only be described as robotic. She didn't converse with us at all. We were aksed if we wanted tea or coffee. As I wanted neither, I wasn't offered juice, I had to ask for this, and no one else was offered it either who did have the hot drinks. A vegetarian breakfast apparently takes 35 minutes to prepare and were told this should be pre ordered - no apologies that this couldn't be done for us that day. The substitute was 2 rounds of dry brown bed and one egg. We were served toast, 3 rounds between 5 of us and again, no offer of more. Standard cooked breakfast was ok - very poor quality sausages and soggy hash browns. Dishes were left on the table throughout, nothing cleared away. There was no 'have a nice day', 'did you enjoy your breakfast', nothing at all. The second morning was better but one staff member was serving so was rushed off her feet.

Best part about the hotel for us was David in the bar. He was always friendly, helpful with restaurant suggestions and made us sandwiches one afternoon when we were hungry. The other staff should take a leaf out of his book.

Next time, I'd probably try one of the many other b&b/hotel options on offer in the area. This hotel is self classified as 4* - it wouldn't definitely not achieve this is rated professionally.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ItchyFeeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Booked this hotel very late minute for a one night stay it was not the hotel I wanted but did not appear to be many hotels left being holiday period so not suprising. Was plesantly suprised & bonus, we could see the sea from one of the windows in our room. Hotel is just off the main road so was perfect. Man on reception was helpful & friendly. There is a lift. Family rooms did have a few minor faults especially the bathroom which had holes in the walls?? Would not take much to fill them in or replaster as a small area. Sleeping area was clean & spacious, bathroom clean, small but adequate. Could hear people in next room flushing toilet & showering at silly o'clock in the morning but I do have exceptional hearing & am a light sleeper. Room was very hot & matress a little hard. Lady in bar was nice & friendly.Breakfast was lovely, service good, polite enough but no interaction ie.. did you sleep well etc...Would of been nice to have someone at reception when we left to say thanks for your stay. Would stay again

Room Tip: room 3 sea view from one window
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evansangels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

The hotel is a few minutes walk from the seafront (street is opposite Wellington Pier & Seaworld) in a quiet side street. I stayed here with 2 freinds in July 2011 for a weekend and cannot understand the bad reviews on here. The bar & dining room area is lovely, the staff helpful & friendly & we had a very good breakfast. Our room spacious & clean. I would definately stay here again as it is in a good location & really good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whitbyabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Me and my family stayed here for two nights at the end of May. We had booked a family room (with adjoining bedrooms for our teenagers) at the Gable End Hotel but on arrival were told they knew nothing of our booking and were fully booked up. The staff were absolutely marvelous, they took us into the bar area and gave us a free drink whilst making alternative arrangements for us. Fortunately for us they have a sister hotel, The Embassy. We were promptly told that they could accommodate us. We left our vehicle in the Gable End car park (as parking can be a bit limited at the Embassy) and a member of staff drove us to the other hotel, which was a nice touch. On arrival we had a choice of bedrooms but decided on a superior double and a standard double which were located on the same landing and next door to each other. The superior double was decorated and furnished very nicely, the standard double was a bit more basic but both were a good size. It seems that they are gradually revamping all of the bedrooms but the whole of the downstairs areas have already been done to a high standard. The hotel staff were friendly enough and breakfast was delicious. The location ended up being alot better than Gable End Hotel as it was only a very short walking distance to all the attractions Great Yarmouth has to offer and is quite literally opposite Wellington Pier. But the cherry on top for us was that we were only charged half the price due to the confusion over the rooms, fantastic. Overall we couldn't have asked for more and would definately recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duraclad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews