We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ben Mhor Hotel(Grantown-on-Spey)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grant Arms Hotel(Grantown-on-Spey)
US$184
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Craiglynne Hotel(Grantown-on-Spey)
US$104
US$101
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ardenbeg Bunkhouse(Grantown-on-Spey)
Book now, pay at stay
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
The Dulaig(Grantown-on-Spey)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunallan House(Grantown-on-Spey)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dava School House(Grantown-on-Spey)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (349)
Filter reviews
349 results
Traveller rating
162
119
34
15
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
162
119
34
15
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvenisonscottish hotellovely mealfriendly hotelthe main streetsunday lunchsmall hotelopen firesmall townfirst classlovely roomblack puddingwarm welcomedining roomfour poster bedenjoyable stayevening meal
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 349 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

We have stayed in Grantown on Spey 6 times in the past 12 months. We only ever come for a weekend but always have a meal in the Garth Hotel while we are here. We called ahead and booked a table as we have two dogs and therefore always eat in the bar. (Shadow was disappointed not to see Lisa) We have never been disappointed with a meal and the place is usually the highlight of our weekend... until now!
We were handed the à la cart menu, and we asked if we could maybe see the set menu as well. We were told ‘there is no set menu’. We were slightly surprised as the only time we have never seen the à la cart menu before was on Hogmanay, when we ate there with family. We nicely objected and said we have always eaten from the set menu... to which the lady (who looked like she has perhaps taken over from Lisa while she is on maternity leave) stated that she has worked there for over two years and nobody apart from residents of the hotel get to eat from the set menu. Her attitude was nothing short of disgusting. We finished our drinks and left. There are ways of saying things, she should not speak to paying customers in this manner.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank trackless1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018

I recently stayed for a night at the Garth - almost a year to the day that I last stayed - both times on a guided motorcycle tour of the beautiful highlands. I was "warned" that the hotel had overdone it on tartan - but why not - it's the right look for this part of the world and contributed to a hugely cosy feel. Very happy to accept our bikes and kit, which were kept in perfect safety overnight. I thought the bar was a nice place to start off and the dinner was really flawless - served by a lovely and keen young lady and cooked to perfection. When, on leaving, I realised that I had left an expensive pair of headphones in the bedroom, and unable to return, the hotel immediately located them and mailed them back to London. So overall, an excellent stay and I hope to return.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

We stayed Friday and Saturday with a few friends and has an excellent time. The rooms were not fancy but very clean, plenty room and nice and warm. We went there to spend some time walking and sightseeing.
The breakfast was one of the best cooked breakfasts I've had for a long time and good portions.
We ate out on Friday but there were eight of us for a meal on the Saturday night. Every one of us commented on how good the meal was and again ample portions.
In fact our stay was so good all of us are arranging for another visit later in the year.
Very pleasant staff as well.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GazzerD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

We had spent a lovely 3 days in Granton on Spey. We visited the Reindeer, the mountains and Loch Ness utterly fabulous scenery.

On our last night we arranged a table for 4 in the restaraunt. We had decided to stop for a drink in the bar first. Seemed reasonably friendly. We had a drink and after asking for the menus dutifully ordered our food.

What followed can only be described as attrocious. Firstly we were not asked if we wanted any drinks by the waitress, this lasted the entire meal. My medium rare steak was a well done 25 quid abomination. My god the pork belly was overcooked and dry and tiny. The veg was obviously reheated. And the sauce on the chicken had split. Thing is we payed! Why? because we were so hungry.

We couldn't be bothered to complain to the youngster serving because having been asked if we enjoyed our meal, by the waitress and having said no she just giggled, smiled and walked off!!

Having payed the bill at the till and told the very tall bar men our disatifaction he just grinned and said well if you had told me that before you had paid I would have taken it off.... more grinning and off. Dreadful experience.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
4  Thank guy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katie010Scotland, Manager at Garth Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2018

Dear Guests Thank you very much for your review. Myself and a lot of my staff working since a long time in hospitality and to be honest we never had a visit like yours here in the past. One Staff member offered you a refund on the same evening where you complaint after you had eaten everything off your plate but you declined. At the same evening you took the time to write this review which we can not understand at all, if you would have told us from the beginning we would have changed your Steak or anything else. The next morning the Guest House where you stayed phoned us to let us know your Complaint and asked us for a full refund for you, you came in and you have got a full refund after you was shouting to our Head Chef in front of reception that other guests could hear it in the hotel. I was pleasant and helpful to you after you told me that you hope that I don't let our Head Chef our to often and when he can't cook he shouldn't be here. I would like to ask you if you visit a restaurant the next time, if you don't like your Meal or anything else let the Staff know from the beginning and they can change it for you. But to complain after the Plate is empty and the full refund is a very unpleasant way. And to every story are mostly two sites and that our Staff Members would have laughed about you i am afraid was also not the case because we all take our positions very serious and try to make every guest happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018

The Garth Hotel Restaurant was recommended to us, however, on the night we chose to eat there it was totally disorganized. They told us they didn't have a table, then they told us they did. Finally, we were seated and ordered drinks and they never came. We could not even find our waitress and when she did show up, we told her about the drink order and she admitted she had forgotten to put it in. Drinks finally arrived...at least three out of the four did. Food orders taken...again..another wait. When food finally rolled out of the kitchen...it was considerably later in the evening, than we would have liked. Haddock and Chips and a glass of Shiraz should not have taken an evening. The dining room and hotel are charming, but there was something terribly wrong with the service...too bad for such a nice place.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank j68ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katie010Scotland, Manager at Garth Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Dear Guest My Apologize you haven't enjoyed your Dinner with us. But please, if you leave a feedback like that, can you let also everyone know in your text that you visited the hotel last year in May 2017. We have now April 2018 and part of Team and Management are changed and the Hotel is improving daily. We would like to welcome you back and if you would like to discuss your Visit from last year with me I am happy to listen to you. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews