We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Craiglynne Hotel(Grantown-on-Spey)
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ben Mhor Hotel(Grantown-on-Spey)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ardenbeg Bunkhouse(Grantown-on-Spey)
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Haus Alba(Grantown-on-Spey)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunallan House(Grantown-on-Spey)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dava School House(Grantown-on-Spey)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grant Arms Hotel(Grantown-on-Spey)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bydand Bed and Breakfast(Dulnain Bridge)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveller rating
158
7
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
158
7
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssilvia and alangreat hostsdelicious breakfastcairngorm areaold housecomfortable accommodationfurnishings
Filter
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 168 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2011

It was like having family in Scotland. Excelent stay and service!!! Silvia Alan are great people.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marianneVogel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantown, Owner at Brooklynn Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2011

We enjoyed your family visit too. It was great fun discussing the very good Danish TV series 'The Killing' which we saw with subtitles. We can almost speak Danish now!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Brooklyn was the best B&B during our travel thrue Scotland. Silvia and Alan made us feel at home in no time. They don't just run a business but add this personal touch that makes you feel very welcome and comfortable. We decided to have dinner at Brooklyn at the evening of arrival and it wasn't difficult to decide to have dinner for the rest of our four nights stay. Delicous and honnest food made with knowledge and love.
We loved Alan's smile and Silvia's laugh but most of all the hospitality and nice conversations.

We will remember these people and place.

Love from Ludo & Annemie Soulliaert - Bresseleers
Belgium

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ludo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantown, Owner at Brooklynn Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2011

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We enjoyed your company too and all our after dinner conversations. Hope you have settled back into the routine of normal life again, but of course, we will love to welcome you back to Brooklynn for some excitement in The Cairngorms National Park. With love from the beautiful Highlands of Scotland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Right from arrival we experienced outstanding service and hospitality. Very nice, cosy and clean rooms.

The breakfast was very delicious, and made to order. Good location only a few minutes away from several restaurants.

If we are ever in Grantown-on-Spey again we are definitely staying in Brooklynn! Our best recommendations…

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madsrvj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantown, Owner at Brooklynn Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write. We appreciate our guests' comments and are happy when you are happy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Together with 5 friends my wife and I stayed at this lovely guest house for 6 days and we enjoyed each single day - and night. We had booked through the internet, relying on the information we found there and our gut feeling, which is always a bit risky. But this time we had a 100% hit.
Silvia and Alan, who run the guest house, are 2 very very nice people and it is obvious that they love what they do: to make their guests comfortable.
This can be seen in many facets:
- their cheerful, friendly and humorous disposition
- the love to little details, be it the abundant decoration, the delightful food, the very professional service, or the information provided on the region, tourist attractions or nature (e.g. birds and flowers).
- the helpful recommendations to select good restaurants (we had not a single disappointment)
- the breakfast (which includes everything from fresh fruit salad to the inevitable hagis) was always a solid basis for the extended walks and tours

The highlight of our stay was the home-cooked dinner which we enjoyed one evening. Delicious food, decorated in great style and with a good bottle of wine. It could not be topped.

The only negative aspect was that we had to leave after 6 days because our stay in Scotland was almost over and we still wanted to spend some time in Edinburgh.

Thank you Silvia and Alan for a great, great holiday experience.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank speyside_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantown, Owner at Brooklynn Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2011

Raimund, Thank you so much for writing such a super review and all true too! We especially loved the photos. We hope you got one from us of you all enjoying breakfast.

We are just getting used to a quieter time now that you have all gone! We look forward to your next visit, meanwhile tell all your friends what a lovely area this is and what wonderful whiskies we have.

The inscribed Findhorn stone has been much admired - you have started a trend.

All the best from Brooklynn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We toured Scotland, staying at 8 different B&Bs. Sylvia and Allan made this one our #1 favorite. The decor was fascinating -- personal collections representing their travels were everywhere and with a story to go with each item. Exceptionally clean inside and an interesting garden out back. Our only disappointment was that we didn't get to have dinner there because I suspect it would have been extraordinary. Go out of your way to experience the Brooklynn.
Barbara and Gregg Taylor

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraTaylor_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantown, Owner at Brooklynn Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2011

Thank you very much for your comments. We are thrilled to be the best of 8! Pity you could only stay one night with us. May be longer next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews