We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good”
Review of YO! Sushi

YO! Sushi
Ranked #66 of 298 Restaurants in Gateshead
Price range: US$39 - US$52
Cuisines: Sushi
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

Some sushi and sashimi snacks while at the metro centre. Lovely service, lovely food. Always reliable. Keep up the good stuff.

Thank Dr_Waugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team-YO, Manager at YO! Sushi, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Dr_waugh, thanks for stopping by Yo! Sushi - Gateshead Metrocentre for your favourite food fix! We work hard to provide top quality service to every guest, and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience here at Yo! Sushi - Gateshead Metrocentre! Please let us know if there is anything else we can do to make your experience a 5 star!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2018 via mobile

Perfect location in the metro, we got seated straight away. All the food we served was made fresh & was lovely. Really reasonable prices

Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team-YO, Manager at YO! Sushi, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

YO Louise M thanks for the awesome feedback, our teams really appreciate it! We’re so happy to have earned such great feedback. Thanks, and have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018

I haven't sat down to a review lately but l think its really important that you try to do as many as possible as it doesn't let people be treated like mugs or receive sub standard food.

This is a Yo Sushi that we have visited on many occasions as it fits nicely with the drive back from work in Scotland, its beside the A1, there is lots of parking and you can be in and out very quickly. Sadly the standard here has gone from a 9 right down to a 1 and l would strongly recommend not eating here, there is a Wagamama 15 metres away and the food there is excellent and makes this Yo Sushi look very ordinary. If that doesn't tempt you there are many other very good restaurant's in the Metro Centre.

As a frequent Yo Sushi diner l can tell you that this is the WORST by a wide margin anywhere from Glasgow to London, and there is no possible way I would ever waste money eating there in future. Firstly the portion sizes have been reduced to the point that l took pictures and showed them to staff from other Yo Sushi's who were shocked. When l challenged the manager about the portion sizes he said "this is a standard size across all Yo Sushi's and is company policy", well mate l have news for you.....its not and if you bothered your behind to go and visit somewhere else you would see that. Next thing was the belts, they were empty at 6pm and with most people coming the cinema nearby I find this hard to believe l have taken some pictures of the pathetic food they were throwing out.

You pay a great deal of money to eat Sushi and to be disrespected by the staff in this Yo Sushi throwing out awful food, small portions and no selection on the belt is not what the Franchise stands for, don't give them your hard earned money as there is much better value out there especially in respect to this particular establishment.

One small example of quantity....

Teriyaki Chicken is made from thighs, packet of 8 thighs is about £2 in any supermarket, in this Yo Sushi its £5 for about ONE THIGH - normal portion in most others is at least TWO.

EAT ELSEWHERE

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank BillyDixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team-YO, Manager at YO! Sushi, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Billydixon, we're disappointed to hear of the negative experience you had at our location. We would like the opportunity to make this up to you. Please contact our manager at yo.metrocentre@yosushi.com so we can make your experience a positive one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018

Don’t get me wrong I’m a huge Yo Sushi fan, the food is great and I love the conveyor belt idea. Today’s experience felt like a total rip-off. I hadn’t been to Yo for a few months but lo and behold the portions were half size. Honestly 50% less than my last visit.
Even a plate of endamame beans consisted of about 15 pods in the middle of the plate. Chicken Terayaki was padded out with chopped white cabbage and the pepper squid was half as much as I had last time.
What a shame, give it a miss and get value for money elsewhere.

Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team-YO, Manager at YO! Sushi, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Paul T, Thank you for taking your time to leave us a review. I am sorry to hear that your last visit with us was not up to our usual standards. If you would like to discuss it further please reach out to us at yo.metrocentre@yosushi.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018

I absolutely Yo Sushi, I just think its so different to any other restaurant on the high street right now. There are about a thousand choices for Italian and Burgers but this is something different. My favourite is the salmon and avocado hand roll which is just delicious. The food is always quick and tasty. We usually go on Blue Mondays as it is slightly more expensive than other places and it all soon adds up by the time you both have a few bowls! But on Blue Mondays some plates are £2.50 which is amazing. My boyfriend always said he didn’t like sushi but even he found something he liked here. They serve chicken and noodles and some warm food as well if raw fish isn’t your thing. If you fancy something different, give this place a try!

Thank KH2691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team-YO, Manager at YO! Sushi, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Kh2691, thank you for your kind words and this wonderful review! We hope to see you back soon. Thanks, Yo! Sushi - Gateshead Metrocentre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed YO! Sushi also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
 
Swalwell, Gateshead
Sunniside, Gateshead
 

Been to YO! Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing