We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrific”
Review of The Maiden Motel

The Maiden Motel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gateshead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Maiden Motel
Ranked #10 of 10 Gateshead B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 April 2015

Thought to book here as it was cheap. However the place is horrific. I would rather stay at a premier inn or travelogue than here. Music was shaking the bell until early hours. People outside screaming and fighting.

Would not advise anyone to stay here!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alouise2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2014 via mobile

I don't even know where to start!! Well thought we would have a girls weekend in Newcastle, booked the hotel through late rooms, looked good on the website....we had to check it was the right hotel when we got their! And to our disappointment it was! So go to check in, we got told we could pay by card but the woman said no cash only, so we then get our keys and get told to go round the back of the pub and to go up stairs where the rooms were, their was a horrid Smell as you went up the stairs, also at night theirs no lights so your basically walking up a high set of stairs in the dark! My sister nearly fell down them (and that was her sober) finally got to the rooms was extremely disappointed, very bland rooms, their was a kettle but no cups or coffee ect... No toilet roll!! One towel for the full weekend! Then we go ask for the WiFi password.....the woman didn't know it!!! We had to wait for the boss to come back! Asked where the local shops are....Oh I don't know! Much use as a wasp! Joke of a place! Also says it's near the city centre, very local....pahaa! Will never be back...con artists aswell! Highly recommend paying a bit extra for somewhere decent!

  • Stayed: September 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bex03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2014

we had two rooms booked in one room the bathroom light was filled with bugs......the lights on the stairs didnt work so come night time you were having too feel your way up and down them the staff werent very helpful the hotel wasnt anything like what it was advertised on the bookings.com site we were told we could pay by card when we phoned the hotel then on arrival we were told it had to be cash defo wont ever book there again

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

Went there because it was cheap. But for gods sake I really felt like I would have paid extra hundreds for a hotel rather than staying there. Bugs were everywhere. Walls, doors. Hair on bed sheets and pillows. Bathroom was clean but for rail or cover. Floor was dirty. Noisy until 12pm. Mattresses were really doggy and feel the springs right to your back. Please please please. Stay away from this place. I guarantee if you choose this you will suffer that night.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Tharindu J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Checked in.
Caught something terrible.
Checked straight out.
Lesson learnt - do not let idiots book your hotel for you.
In short, I am a dirty, filthy scumbag and I wont even stay here. No offence!!
My mate Melvin said it's so bad he wouldn't put a dead dog in the room. I think someone already has.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank generalhammond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gateshead hotels
9.9 km away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
453 reviews
3.8 km away
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
3.3 km away
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
8 km away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
4.6 km away
Premier Inn Newcastle - Team Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maiden Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maiden Motel

Address: Low Heworth Lane, Gateshead NE10 0YJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Gateshead
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing