We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Quay House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Old Quay House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We arrived on Friday afternoon and were shown to a fabulous room overlooking the estuary (room 12). The manager brought up a plate of freshly made sandwiches which was a nice touch and personally welcomed us. We felt well looked after throughout our stay - the staff were all friendly and accommodating. Dinner in the restaurant on Saturday was very good and the breakfasts both mornings were exemplary.
No hesitation to recommend this bolt hole in Cornwall - it was great in Feb but it must be fantastic in the summer!
If I could make one recommendation it would be to add valet parking to their service - especially if its raining!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterInsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    127
    30
    10
    8
See reviews for
30
376
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dunchideock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

We had my wife's 50 th birthday dinner here and there was 16 of us. Hotel staff were very accommodating and we had the penthouse rooms with great views. Pricey but worth it!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderingmarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Stayed here the first week in January just as Fowey seemed to be slowing down until the mid term break.The Old Quay staff were most friendly on arrival,took our luggage and then we went off to park our car which is about a eight minute walk away.We didnt find this any incovenience and you became acquainted with the small streets of Fowey.Our room had a side view of the estuary and was quite nicely appointed with a very nice bathroom.Breakfast was excellent in the morning and once again found the staff most attentive and friendly.We ate one evening in the restaurant which had a relaxed atmosphere and enjoyed a pleasant meal.
If we were to make one suggestion we would like to have been able to maybe sit in front of a nice fire for a drink in the evening and take in the views,the little area beside the restaurant was quite compact.But I suppose during the longer days most people can go out on the terrace and enjoy the world going by.I think that probably location,location,and the very friendly staff would encourage us to return again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dinger31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

The owner was excellent very helpful making sure we were comfortable and happy with our room. The rooms were very clean with great decor our room had a small balcony to the side which was small but had some nice views. Breakfast was slow we went for the full English, which wasn't too good they left the plastic around the black pudding and was not very warm. Serving staff not very sociable. But We had a fantastic couple of days there. nice little town they call Fow

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darksvenus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

Stayed here for the second time in early August and have to say it really is superb. The hotel is really nice and the staff were really helpful and were more than happy to recommend places to walk to / visit.
We have never eaten in the restaurant (other than breakfast which is excallent) so cannot comment on the evening food.

The rooms we have stayed in have both been really clean and had great views over the water. Only complaint is creaking floorboards which did keep us awake a bit - but it is an old property and to be expected.

Hope to be back again soon.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank d92qyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fowey
0.5 km away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
0.5 km away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#1 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
9.9 km away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,382 reviews
22.5 km away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
34.7 km away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Quay House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Quay House Hotel

Property: The Old Quay House Hotel
Address: 28 Fore Street, Fowey PL23 1AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Price range (per night): RM761 - RM1,377
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Quay House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Luxury Boutique Hotel in Cornwall- 2012 winner of a Cesar Award from the Good Hotel Guide - Best Hotel in Cornwall, Wind your way through the narrow streets of Fowey, passing cafés and pubs, boutiques and galleries and catch a glimpse of boats bobbing in the estuary. Breathe in a lungful of fresh sea air and you'll immediately start to feel relaxed. Pull up outside a whitewashed Victorian building and discover that what was once a refuge for seamen is now The Old Quay House, a boutique luxury hotel and a modern-day refuge from the stresses of daily life. With 11 luxurious bedrooms, a renowned restaurant, the best estuary views in town, and staff that are always ready to add that little extra touch to ensure your stay is perfect, The Old Quay House is one seafront hideaway that you might just want to keep all to yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and AAE Travel Pte Ltd so you can book your The Old Quay House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Quay Hotel
Old Quay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing