We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (881)
Filter reviews
881 results
Traveller rating
583
229
45
12
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
583
229
45
12
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the penthouse car park the river beautiful boutique hotel small balcony superior room fresh milk white company toiletries narrow streets ten minute walk small hotel your luggage no lift estuary view watch the boats little touches beautiful fowey
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 881 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2019

We always have a wonderful time at this chic boutique hotel we stayed in room six where the views are great,a new mattress on the huge bed gave us great nights sleep.
The housekeeping team take great pride in keeping the room and hotel spotless.
I cannot praise the staff enough they are so friendly and helpful they have a can do attitude with a smile, we stayed 6 nights at this wonderful hotel we ate in the restaurant every night and have to say the food looked as good as it tasted, the chefs really produce fabulous food and while the food is not cheap they use the finest local ingredients, a new product that hit the spot was locally grown tiger prawns so delicious.
Breakfast is the most important meal of the day so with the cold buffet and the cooked selection my wife and I had a great breakfast every morning.
We had such a relaxed wonderful stay at this beautiful hotel we have booked another stay in May.

Room tip: Book room 6 or 12 for the best estuary views.
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kernowphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theoldquayhouse, General Manager at The Old Quay House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Peter & Deanna,

It's always great to see you both again at our hotel, and it makes us feel special that you keep on returning. Your kind words have gone down a treat with our team here at the Old Quay House Hotel.

We look forward to seeing you in May and catching up again.

A huge thank you,


Julio de Carvalho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2019 via mobile

We visited for a meal on Burns Night, 25th January. Very talented chef Richard Massey and his team produced a Scottish themed menu for the evening. Each course, and each amuse bouche was delicious, well put together and beautifully presented. It was served by the friendly, courteous and professional team. The restaurant, terrace and hotel has a luxury, laid back vibe, with the focus on the food, location and wonderful views. Highly recommended! With many, many thanks to Julio, Richard, and the whole team.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 627nirvanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theoldquayhouse, General Manager at The Old Quay House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear 627nirvanas,

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are pleased that you were able to join us for Burns Night, it was our pleasure having you again this year. The team are really pleased with your feedback, and we hope to see you soon again.

Once again, a huge thank you from all of us here at the Od Quay House Hotel,


Thanking you,
Julio de Carvalho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2019 via mobile

Had the pleasure of staying here for a night. The room was perfect very clean hotel. Great views over the estuary and the breakfast was great. Would highly recommend this hotel for its location and how friendly all the staff are.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank tastebuds2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theoldquayhouse, General Manager at The Old Quay House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear tastebuds2000,

Thank you for your kind review and lovely recommendation, Glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to having you back soon.

Thanking you,
Julio de Carvalho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2019

Beautifully located and right in the centre of the village, the hotel is a gem with friendly helpful staff. The restaurant overlooks the sea, and the food is wonderful. A short walk to the ferry to Polran, lots of little shops and cafes. The whole place has a relaxed atmosphere.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank turner1p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theoldquayhouse, General Manager at The Old Quay House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2019

Dear turner1p,

Thank you for your lovely review of our beautiful hotel and location, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, not to mention our quaint little village and all it's amenties.

We do hope to see you soon again at the Old Quay House Hotel.

Kindest regards,
Julio de Carvalho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2019

This visit was my Christmas present to my husband. We know Fowey well and have been in the Old Quay House for meals in the past and I decided I would like a longer stay. From the time of booking, to the time of checking out, everything was perfect. The staff were helpful and friendly, the room immaculate, as are the communal areas, and the food was lovely. I would definitely recommend it for a relaxing, comfortable stay.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theoldquayhouse, General Manager at The Old Quay House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2019

Dear Pauline B,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, i am pleased that you decided to stay with us after numerous visits. We are well pleased that your stay was exactly what you expected.

The team are glad that you enjoyed everything and that all was perfect during your stay, we do look forward to seeing you soon.

Thanking you,

Julio de Carvalho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews