We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful and Friendly rural retreat”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Coleford, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Teignmout...
teignmouth
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Friendly rural retreat”
Reviewed 25 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

If you want a quiet peaceful break which we did you cannot fault this,Accommodation is comfortable and easy going. We enjoyed the log burner and logs are supplied. The horses love carrots so bring plenty !! Lots to do in a short drive away with lots of places like Malvern and Ross on Wye really lovely to wander round. The onsite owners are lovely as are the other horse owners we met there. We also enjoyed the birds that came down for the fat balls we hung in the bushes. We hope to return in the future.

Date of stay: February 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Position
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyclers20...
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“It ticked all the boxes for a relaxing weekend away, not too far from home”
Reviewed 25 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The Acorns was comfortably furnished, well-equipped and warm and Sarah offered a very warm welcome. The huge bed was super-comfy and it was lovely to have the hot tub to relax in after the arduous 1hr journey! It was quite a surprise to find ourselves surrounded by horses on drawing the curtains the first morning. We treated ourselves to a real "holiday breakfast" so the freshly-laid eggs went down very well and we enjoyed strolling it off in the surrounding gentle countryside. It was good to have a selection of eating possibilities within staggering distance, although next time we'll take a torch!

Date of stay: February 2015
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxandcoh...
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous holiday - as always”
Reviewed 2 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

5th visit - returning again Easter 2015. As always Sarah, Ryan and family are so welcoming we almost feel part of the family! This was our first visit over the festive break and the cottage looked gorgeous with its fireplace garland, tree and decorations. The cottage is well equipped with everything that you could possibly need in the kitchen (including a fabulous welcome pack with fresh eggs) and spacious bedrooms with huge, comfortable beds. The wood burner in the lounge provides a lovely, cozy touch. Such a welcome break from everyday life - warm and cosy, quiet and relaxed. Our crazy dog Woody loves to go on his daily walk with Albie and Murphy while we relax in the hot tub and take in the gorgeous views all around.

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it but particularly the hosts
Liked least: Nothing - all fantastic
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki T
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful place to stay!”
Reviewed 3 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We had a great stay in The Acorns and will definitely be going back. It's in a perfect location for adventures in the Forest of Dean. The Mountain biking at Cannop Trail centre is fantastic and there are so many great places to visit with little one's. We went to Puzzlewood and Perrygrove railway. The owners of The Acorns were so friendly and even let me have a ride on one of their many beautiful horses, it was amazing. The dogs are friendly and if you love being in the countryside, this is the perfect place.

Date of stay: November 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The most comfortable bed I've ever slept on!
Liked least: The hot water tap in the kitchen
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
225SuE
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family Orientated”
Reviewed 12 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had a wonderful time at the Acorn . The lodging was plain and basic but comfortable and family friendly . There were six of us .Two were chidren . During our stay we had relatives visiting us . Our children and the relatives children enjoyed the place . Acorn is a woking farm . The owners embraced the chlidren , encourage them to use the playing facilities , feeding the horses etc . They even had the opporturnity for horse rides which was their highlight.
For the price and customers service I would vote Acorn is valued for money .

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable for family and extended family gathering
Liked least: Every one at the farmer were friendly and helpful.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.