We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty tapas treat”
Review of Olive

Olive
Ranked #22 of 132 Restaurants in Newton Abbot
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$16
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Olive is a tapas style eatery with dishes influenced from around the world including Spanish & Mediterranean dishes, homemade paella, albondigas, pizza & many more. Extensive wine list, cocktails and beers available.
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

We have been here before and a few times at the partner Restuarant in Paignton

This is a great place to go with friends or family sharing tapas is fun and lets you try lots of scrummy things!!!

The vibe in the place is really relaxed and the service is really good and friendly

Onto the important bit the food. On the whole this was good. We had dates wrapped in Parma ham and a nice little tortilla which were delicious We also had the salt and pepper squid and some fries which was also good This was helped with a well sourced bottle of Sauvignon blanc which was delicious, we had 5 dishes between us which was plenty

However the small seafood paella we had was a little bland this time (last time it was lovely) and my Tiramisu was very heavy and disappointing and not light fluffy and boozy as I was hoping for

That said the waiter was quick to offer a replacement or refund for my pudding when I pointed it out. There was no quibble just really good service so well done for that I can accept a odd mistake hence the four stars this time

We would definitely go again really lovely night thank you

Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess S, Manager at Olive, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Firstly thankyou for your review. I do apologise about your dessert and am pleased our waiter dealt with it in the correct manner. I will also pass your comments onto our chef.

We look foward to seeing you again- hopefully we can make it 5 out of 5 next time!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2017

We took advantage of the 2-4-1 offer on a Monday night. Good atmosphere, friendly helpful staff, excellent food. Will definitely visit again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Scatcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess S, Manager at Olive, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

A 'Must Visit' - we are overwhelmed... thank-you! We agree- the 2 for 1 deal has definitely got to be taken advantage of.

We are glad you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

One of the best tapas place's I know the food is just delicious and a varied menu the staff are always welcoming friendly and professional

Thank chrisdazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess S, Manager at Olive, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Wow! Thank-you for your review. Your pictures are brilliant too!! I will relay your praises onto the staff at Olive- they will be delighted.

See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

We were looking for somewhere to have lunch and came across Olive. It has a great lunch option where you are able to choose various tapas dishes for a reasonable price There are many choices with the lunch time deal and they're lovely to share with others and to pinch some of what they choose. The food is tasty and well presented. My only critism would be to have something that keeps hot dishes hot once served to the table. However, that is a minor thing given the experience we had.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Birthdaygirl186258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess S, Manager at Olive, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Thankyou for your review! We love our lunch time offer of 5 dishes for £12 too! You can really have a taste of everything!!

In regards to your criticism we value feedback as it helps us keep improving; so thankyou.

Look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Visited here last week and the food was great, hardly any wait time and even better for me a whole gluten free menu! The desserts and drinks are also to die for!

Thank Laujade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess S, Manager at Olive, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Thankyou very much for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your visit. See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olive also viewed

 
Paignton, English Riviera
Newton Abbot, Devon
 
Newton Abbot, Devon
 

Been to Olive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing