We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable and relaxing.”

Trossachs Backpackers
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Callander
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Trossachs Backpackers
Reviewed 14 May 2011

Clean, modern hostel with good sized rooms within large gardens with spectacular views.
We only stayed for one night, cycling to Inverness, but were made to feel very welcome. Everything was immaculately clean and continental breakfast was included in the price. Wouldn't hesitate to go back.
The only gripe we could have had was that there was a TV in the room, but the aerial connector wouldn't fit it, making it useless. Though I suppose, who goes into the Highlands to watch TV?

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cragglerock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 8 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2010

Friendly, clean, great value for money. Great cycling options and country pubs.
The hostel is a 20 minutes walk from Callander 'city center', but it really is the perfect place for a mellow cycling holiday.
When back in Scotland I will definitely consider coming back here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrettigOntspannen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2009

I have been to alot of hostels in my travels -
this is the best.
no much more to say. havent found a hostel better - anywhere.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dogboy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2008

We have stayed at the Backpackers twice now and are about to book for a third time.We have been lucky enough to have fantastic weather for both of our Easter trips, which has meant that we could walk and climb and cycle, and sit outside to enjoy the sunshine. Mark's bikes are wonderful - we bought an ex rental one for our son to take home and its brilliant to just set off from the hostel along the flattish paths beside the loch and through the forests. Shame the teashop at the end of the ride wasn't open (Tuesday) and the hotel only served coach trips but never mind! Janet is a mine of local information and the Woodland Trust estate near by was great to explore. The cafe/fishing lodge by Loch Venachar was a fab new addition on our second trip, great cakes. We have had the family room with self catering facilities on both occasions which had everything we needed. The communal kitchen and dining room though have everything you could want. Callendar is a short bike ride away with lovely cafes and a leisure centre we have never had to use. The Backpackers is wonderfully clean and very friendly, with lovely pets around too. There are even two pianos! On our second trip we took my brother and his four children and they loved it too,.

Stayed: April 2007
Thank apples11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
39
Reviewed 4 October 2005

This was a great place to stay. The rooms and bathrooms were spotless, with more than adequate amenities for a hostel. The location was also superb, a great jumping-off point for exploring the Trossachs. You can rent bicycles right on the premises, and there was a large selection. There were, as promised, sheeps and goats and site, plus some very affectionate housepets, including a kitty that just loved attention! All in all, we had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Callander hotels
1 km away
Callander Hostel
Callander Hostel
#2 of 9 in Callander
86 reviews
1.5 km away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
444 reviews
1 km away
Coppice House
Coppice House
#1 of 34 in Callander
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 6 in Callander
273 reviews
0.9 km away
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
1.5 km away
Dalgair House Hotel
Dalgair House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Callander
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trossachs Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trossachs Backpackers

Address: Invertrossachs Road, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8HW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Callander
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing