We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the place it was”
Review of The Bay View Inn

The Bay View Inn
Ranked #44 of 113 Restaurants in Bude
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Bay View Inn is an award-winning hotel and restaurant overlooking the stunning Blue Flag beach of Widemouth Bay in North Cornwall. Our restaurant serves classic favourites with a uniquely Cornish twist, and signature dishes including our homemade fish pie, monkfish curry and mussels are usually found on our specials board. We also offer a fabulous range of innovative vegan, vegetarian and GF dishes. Adorned with original Cornish art works, our Surf Bar boasts over 60 world-class gins and the finest local ales, and outside a brand new pirate ship gives young children a fantastic place to play. Opening in 2021, our new Offshore Restaurant offers a creative hub for local artists and artisans to display and sell their work. Guests can enjoy private balcony views from our refurbished rooms and some of the most jaw-dropping sunsets anywhere in the world. A relaxed and informal atmosphere make this the perfect place for families or couples seeking a romantic break. We welcome dogs too.
Reviewed 2 June 2021 via mobile

We ate here whilst staying in Bude last week. We have been many times in the past but not since the new owners arrived. Whilst we can see that a lot of work has been done moving the entrance which is a great improvement, unfortunately once inside there is absolutely no atmosphere & it felt very sterile with the all white decor. Food was just ok, macaroni cheese which I think had been reheated & sweet & sour pork which had a few chewy bits in. Dessert which was just ice cream took ages to arrive. What was a good value local pub with character is now overpriced & soulless, we won’t be back

Date of visit: April 2021
1  Thank Daphne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,606)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 1,606 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2021 via mobile

As locals, we hadn’t actually been back to the bay view for a couple of years after a bad experience but really wanted to give them the benefit of the doubt after they have made such major improvements to the building. When we arrived our booking wasn’t in the diary even though we had booked a week before. To be fair they still managed to get us a table. We waited for over 30mins before going up to a member of staff to ask if we can place a drinks order. 90minute later our starter came out and by this point we had still not had a single member of staff come and check on us. We waited a while longer for our mains which came out, without garnishes like the tables around us and the food was really really disappointing. If they had been over to ask how everything was they would have known why. We get that they were busy but we could see staff checking on other tables but just totally blanked us! We then had to wait a further 15mins to be seen to pay and even then she didn’t even ask how our meal was, just said ‘oh no drinks’ which my husband replied that we had waited too long for them.
To be honest I am happy to wait for my food, we live in the town and know it’s like this in the summer and we accept that. What I don’t accept is the fact that staff were actively ignoring us and we had absolutely zero service the whole time!! We could hear them saying how they are understaffed and that they had done 500 covers the previous day. However this is not the customers fault and maybe they should rethink how many people they seat if they cannot cope. It’s just such a shame because we love supporting local places but we definitely will not be returning again.

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank Q5675NXhannahw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2021

Came to bay view last night for a friends birthday, waited 30 minutes for our drinks to arrive, and 1 hour 25 minutes for our food to arrive. The vegan fish and chips was excellent, unfortunately this was the only nice food between us. Chicken burger was ridiculous... a bland chicken breast in a bun (not what was stated on the menu) and the pork belly completely drowned in some kind of mash and sweet corn brown mush? Only part of the food was consumed and some of it we refused to pay for.

I have been coming to bay view for the last decade, very sad to see it decline in this way, it was clearly a busy night and the wait was some what understandable! And you can clearly see a big budget has been spent on renovating , but its lost its homely good food characteristics that bay view was renowned for. It now feels corporate and insincere. Unfortunately wont be returning

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank X5878FQlisab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2021 via mobile

This was our first time back at the Bay View Inn following the refurbishment. However, we have visited many times over the past decade.
We were greeted promptly and seated in the restaurant but sadly that is where the attentive service ended.
We were given one menu between the four of us initially and had to ask for the children’s menu.
Our drinks arrived, but no interest in taking a food order until we managed to attract the staff’s attention. When the food eventually came, we had to ask for some forgotten items, peas for the fish and chips, condiments. We had to ask for our drinks order twice.
The children both wanted deserts otherwise we would have left after our main meal. Another lengthy wait before we managed place our order.
The brownie was excessively hot and didn’t come with the blueberry compote as stated on the menu. The cherry on the top of all this was the millionaire’s shortbread being served in its cellophane wrapper.
My daughter wanted to use the toilets, but came straight back to the table as the they dirty and poorly lit.
Overall a very poor experience and as locals that have used the place frequently in the past, we would only use it for a drink in the future because of its location.

Date of visit: April 2021
1  Thank Seaside47680415581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2021

Restaurant looks very nice from outside, we had a table by the window and view was beautiful. We both have ordered calamari which was overcooked and dripping with oil. My husband for his main had a burger and once again it was all dripping in fat... I had smoked haddock mac and cheese and it wasn’t too bad but again too much oil was used.. Toilets on the back of restaurant not very clean. Very disappointed as on top of our food and drinks bill we paid £20 for taxi both ways from and to Bude. An evening that supposed be a treat was a big disappointment

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank AgaSull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bay View Inn also viewed

 
Bude, Bude-Stratton
 

Been to The Bay View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.