We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely family holiday”

Review of Woodland Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Woodland Cottage front garden
Forest View
Forest View 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Brockenhurst, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Katherine...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely family holiday”
Reviewed 31 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed at Woodland Cottage for three nights as a group of five - me, my parents, my husband and our baby son (10 months old). The house was spacious, spotlessly clean and furnished very nicely. We were delighted with the quality of the property. The letting agency were kind enough to let us access the property a little earlier on the first day, when we arrived more quickly than we'd expected.

We enjoyed being so close to the forest and saw wild ponies everywhere we went. We made trips into Lyndhurst, Lymington and to Bucklers' Hard, and ate out a great deal, including at the Foresters' Arms next to Brockenhurst station, where the food was excellent.

I'd like to note in particular that the cot and cot bedding provided by the cottage were of really good quality. I was a little nervous so had packed our travel cot and bedding but I had no qualms about using the cottage's cot (and the high chair) for our small boy.

We would happily return to Woodland Cottage - the only problem we encountered was managing the hot water supply to allow four adults to have quick showers each morning. The quality of the upstairs shower is very good though! Our only other request would be for a small clotheshorse of some sort - we did the occasional washload and the garden and conservatory are such suntraps that it would have dried very quickly that way.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and quality of the property and its furnishings
Liked least: Some issues with hot water
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B
1 review
“Great family holiday especially the visiting donkeys”
Reviewed 16 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

A lovely location and house. Top tip drive all the way along Waters Green Road to find the property!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Dec 2014
This was actually Chamberlains Cottage that Mr Buis stayed in which is in Waters Green Road.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MjWilk201...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage, perfect location”
Reviewed 17 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a family weekend away 6 adults and a baby. Well equipped, modern and clean and step straight outside the front door on to the New Forest. We easily parked 3 cars on the drive way. We liked the fact that there were 3 double beds and two bathrooms - although neither are en-suite.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon K
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful and well equipped cottage in lovely location”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We were very happy to have spent a week at Woodland Cottage which is comfortable, spacious and well equipped, meeting the requirements of all nine of us, including a seven month old who enjoyed his first family holiday! The rooms were a good size, extremely clean and with modern furnishings. The main shower is lovely! We were blessed with great weather too, and were able to spend a day on the beach at Highcliffe beach, swimming and playing beach cricket at low tide. Bucklers' Yard provided a really enjoyable day out. Christchurch was an excellent day out and our little one enjoyed a visit to the local farm. We also explored some beautiful local walks with many different animals roaming freely - not something you see much in London! All in all, it was a wonderful holiday week for our extended family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juliaskeg...
skegness
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lovely cottage”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

very comfy cottage,super place convenient for everything.Would recommend to friends,ponies and cows passing the door every morning.Ate at Rose and crown in Brockenhurst 3 times,good food,good prices and excellent staff.We paid £68 between 5 of us for 5 days pass to hop and off the tour bus all day,so cheap,we toured the whole area,would highly recommend to all "do purchase one ".Super to come back after a hard day sight seeing to a glass of wine in our comfy conservatory.Thankyou for a lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfortable
Liked least: no wardrobes in 2 bedrooms
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing