We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Everything we wanted - and more”

Review of Three Bears' Lodge

Lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge
Front View Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Lounge
Front View
Kitchen
Double Bedroom With En Suite
Twin Bedroom 1
Twin Bedroom 2
En Suite
Interior
Bathroom
The Neighbours
Penstowe Swimming Pool
By Night
View From Bedroom1
Dining Area
Fishing Lakes - Exclusive And Free To Guests
Side View Of Lodge
Surrounding Countryside
Local Scenery
Approach To Lodge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Bideford, Torridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
richard t
kingswinford
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“the real rewiew”
Reviewed 3 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

After returning from our stay it was clear it wasn't as good as described!. We followed directions there which were OK until turning off the A39 where there were no signs at all until a mile or so down a small country lane. For anyone. Else going you need to look for signs for west yagland. On arrival the site was poorly signposted but eventually found it, the cleaners were still cleaning but very pleasant, and on first impression it was very clean. We read we had free golf access and my nephew's were very eager to play so went off for a game only to be rudely stopped by some woman who went mad saying they weren't allowed, I tried to find her later and luckily for her I didn't. We then tried to find the lake which again was a nightmare . For the whole of the week we had a constant swarm of flies which was terrible and also had blocked toilets and yellow drinking water !!!. The nearest shop was miles away and there was nothing on site for kids whatsoever, luckily I only paid half for the holiday or would have been asking for my money back. Waited a long time for the holiday and was complety disappointed . Think carefully before booking . Oh and penstowe manor was no better and not free you have to pay for everything!! . Will not be returning ever !!!!!.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beds and utensils
Liked least: flies
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2013
This guest obviously did not read the comprehensive joining instructions which describe in detail how to reach the site and how to obtain free membership to Penstowe Manor .

Hartland Forest is situated in hundreds of acres of forestry and farmland - there may sometimes be flies in such areas in the hottest weather ( such as the week in question ) . The problem was not as described .

The blockage was of the guests' own making and had to be cleared by maintenance workers . This was work carried out quickly and efficiently .

The guests were advised in advance by mail that the Golf Course was closed .

There was a notice in the car park to the effect that South West Water advised a slight discolouration of water as a result of recent work and that there was no impact on water quality .

The joining instructions also ask guests to contact me during their stay if they have any problems - there was no contact from these guests .

I think that this review should be placed in the context of all our other reviews and be seen to be somewhat uninformed .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave G
Ivinghoe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Everything we wanted - and more”
Reviewed 19 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We were looking for somewhere to take two young grandchildren (a 2 year old and an 11 month old) close to the sea but with a good fishing lake for our son-in-law.

The location proved perfect for us. We were half-way between Bude and Westward Ho both with excellent sandy beaches. The fishing was superb. My son-in-law caught a personal best as did a friend who popped in for a couple of days.

The lodge had everything we wanted with the exception of a washing machine. However there were laundrettes in Bude and Bideford so that wasn't really a problem. In addition to the 3 bedrooms there was also a very comfortable sofa bed which proved very useful for our unexpected guest.

The property is a little out of the way although relatively easy to find with a Sat Nav that takes postcodes. My sat nav doesn't but so we had to ask for the Hartland Forest Golf Course at a local shop who gave us excellent directions.

The lodge is ideal for children as 3 quarters of it is surrounded by a fenced and gated decking area and walking around the site there was very little traffic.

The owner was extremely helpful, responding immediately to any query we had. We only had one problem during our stay when the shower hose in the en-suite sprang a leak but this was quickly resolved by the cleaning company who manage any urgent problems - an excellent service.

A wonderful holiday was had by all and my son-in-law is already talking about going back with a bigger net to land that fish that got away!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The fishing was superb
Liked least: Lack of a washing machine/drier
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OzzyBee
UK
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hartland Forest Lodge gets the thumbs up from us - a lovely holiday!”
Reviewed 28 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic holiday! The lodge was perfect with everything we needed, well equipped, lots of room and lovely to sit around the big table eating, chatting and chilling out together. The site was great with fishing and golf on site. It was great for the dogs and the weather perfect; we even sat out on the veranda one afternoon with a glass of wine! The location was ideally placed for lovely beaches and places to visit, especially Tintagel, plenty of choice of places to eat even so early on in the year all round exceellent!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely atmosphere, lovely lodge
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen B
Devon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic New Year break”
Reviewed 4 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

As a group of 15 friends (9 adults and 6 children) we booked both lodges for a New Year break. Booking was simple and we were e-mailed directions and additional information. On arrival at the site the lodges were spotless, well furnished and well equipped. Everything we needed for a break was provided and so much more. The standard of the accommodation was very high and we were all extremely happy. Exploring the lodges we found board games, DVD's, quizzes, books, torches and even black bags!! The lodges were big as we all gathered during the evenings to eat together and play games and found there was plenty of room. David was extremely helpful in sorting out wi-fi and even arranged for someone from the local village to bring a dongle so that the football lovers amongst the group could watch a game on an i-pad.

The site was as we expected - very quiet and pretty but with not a lot to do. The weather was not good during our stay with high winds and rain but we found plenty to do and explored the surrounding area. We visited the beach (Westward Ho!), FunderZone and the children enjoyed a walk to the lake looking for 'bears'.

We also found a local pub (sorry don't know the name but on leaving the site turn left and it is about one mile down the road) which was very helpful on New Years Eve when the men miscounted the cases of beer that they would need and three of us turned up in fancy dress.

Everyone had a fantastic break (three nights) and we will definitely be booking again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was just perfect
Liked least: There was nothing we would change
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bradburym...
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant Christmas at Three Bear's Lodge, lovely and cosy”
Reviewed 29 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Three Bear's Lodge Christmas week 2012, we had a brilliant time.
The lodge is well decorated, it was lovely and cosy, it had real homely feel to it.
David had put a christmas tree up for us which was lovely. It had everything we could think of, such as games, books and dvd's and the facilities were all well maintained and very clean.
We went there with the intention of spending quality time with friends and family, the weather wasn't very kind to us as it rained for most of the time. But we still managed to get to the beach on Christmas day.
The website is very informative and we found it very helpful for finding the nearest shops and pubs. Communication was great any questions answered straight away.
We had a fabulous time and would recommend this lodge to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy feel to the place
Liked least: not alot within walking distance
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$94
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing