We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peace, quiet and comfort”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Raleigh Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Bideford, Torridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
PaulW W
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peace, quiet and comfort”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We enjoyed a tremendous week at Rayleigh Barn. Despite some mixed weather the quality of the accommodation and the superb hosts made our week very special. The barn conversion is most tasteful with plenty of style and comfort to make it a 'home from home' experience.
I have no hesitation in recommending Rayleigh Barn to anyone who is looking for a perfect location to unwind and enjoy the wonderful Devon countryside.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: Having to come hiome
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Tranquil relaxing break”
Reviewed 16 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Nestled down a secluded quiet country lane Raleigh Barn has been converted into 1st class holiday accomodatiion. The decor and styling of the property is just exquisite with no expense being spared in the decor and furnishings.

We had a fantastic time as a family of four staying at the location. What we really enjoyed the most was the tranquility of the place. Quiet country lanes, fields, rolling hills, birdsong and the wind blowing through the trees......heaven! We have seen a different side of life!

Myles and Sarah were fantastic hosts and made us feel really welcome, We loved the small 'welcome' touches such as the flowers and the cakes, the children loved Sally the Springer Spaniel and the free roam chickens! Not forgetting the freshly layed eggs as well.

I truly cannot recommend this accomodation enough.

If your looking for a relaxing get away in lovely countryside then this is the place for you and I would not hesitate to recommend it.

Truly Outstanding!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Arriving
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cooperson...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best cottage we have ever stayed in :)”
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a really relaxing week in this beautifully converted and tastefully decorated cottage set in a wonderfully peaceful hamlet for our annual week away together with our '20 something' daughters. The views from the cottage are just lovely, rolling Devon countryside, cows in the fields, wild flowers, very tranquil.
The beds are very comfy as are the sofas. Light spacious living area, very well equipped kitchen and stylish and clean bathrooms. There is a great outdoor eating area just outside the patio doors.
There were so many lovely little touches, fresh flowers on the table, freshly baked cake waiting for us on arrival. We loved buying the eggs from the honesty box outside the house next door.
It is a great base for exploring North Devon, North Cornwall and Dartmoor, a lovely place to return to after a day exploring.
Myles and Sarah are lovely hosts, very friendly and helpful, not to mention the daily visits from their lovely dog Sally.
We celebrated both a birthday and an anniversary here and it was the perfect setting for both. We would love to return and would definitely recommend it. We all agreed it was the best cottage we have stayed in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being surrounded by fields, chickens and a lovely dog
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki D
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Stunning, homely and relaxing”
Reviewed 9 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We had a wonderful, relaxing, rural escape at Raleigh Barn. It could not have been better. It has been renovated and decorated to such a high standard. The weather was on and off but the barn remained cosy but not too hot.
Myles and Sarah (and especially Sally the dog) were wonderful hosts providing a great welcome pack with information about the local area and what they were doing on another conversion.
We cannot recommend this barn enough. Such a perfect getaway from our hectic lives. Just wonderful.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Family stay”
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The barn is absolutely beautiful and perfect for children and adults of all ages. We enjoyed the wildlife and our two year old loved watching the barn owl and chickens. The barn has been converted to a fantastic standard with very thoughtful extras, plenty of Dvds and games for evenings and bad UK weather days.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing