We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appleby Manor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Appleby
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Lovely hotel in a beautiful setting. Staff were very friendly. Food was top notch. We were in the coach house which was perfectly adequate, big bathroom, but some road noise from the A66, but that quietened down overnight. The reception rooms in the hotel are spacious and comfortable and have lovely views across the valley. The spa pool is sumptious.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Val_and_Sid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a fantastic review, the staff will be thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay so much. I will of course pass your comments on to the chefs and front of house team, as i have said before our staff are the hotels greatest asset.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in due course

regards
Mike Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,669)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 1,669 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2017

We had booked into one of the Garden Rooms but when we arrived we were show to room No.6 on the first floor. We were advised that we had been upgraded to a larger room. The room was very spacious with a king sized bed and a lovely sitting area, the only down side was the very small bathroom with dark staining on the wall with the window. We dined in the restaurant on the first night (2 course dinner was included in the package) the food was excellent and we booked again for the following night, again the food was delicious. Unfortunately we booked into the Bistro for the third evening which was a mistake, we should have stayed with the fine dining restaurant. Breakfast was very good with a good choice, not just the full English, good fish dishes and whatever egg you wanted and as many as you wanted. The staff were all very friendly and wanted you to enjoy your stay with them. Will certainly go to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Garden Rooms are on the ground floor with a small patio area, good access to the rest of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Porgie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Brilliant! Many thanks for your review.
We do feel passionately about the hotel & garden spa, and the service our guests receive, its quite personal as we put a lot of time and effort into the hotel to create a relaxing and friendly atmosphere. A hotel is not a hotel without its staff, so it's uplifting for them when they receive praise.
Many thanks for your time in sharing your experience at the Manor.
Its great to hear that you would come back to the manor, we look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future.

Many thanks
Mike & Angela Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

My husband and I stayed at the Appleby Manor for one night only as it was a wedding gift. I am well travelled and have been to many places and Hotels and spa's but I can honestly say that it was the most memorable experience. The Customer Service is outstanding absolutley outstanding. The warm welcome as we arrived, beautiful smile from every single member of staff. We were shown our room and around the Hotel. It feels like a warm big house where you can be comfortable and just feel at ease.
As we had arrived after lunch they kindly made us some sandwiches which were amazing and we sat in the conservatory which well the views are breathtaking.
I managed to book in a treatment for a facial and a 30 minute back and shoulder massage . The spa staff are just as amazing, warm, friendly and very professional.
( I would recommend you book treatments in advance if you were really wishing to experience the Elemis beauty and relaxation experience )
In the evening we chose to eat in the Bistro as by dinner time we just wanted to pick.
Here again the food is amazing, freshly cooked and served with such elegance and style.
The bistro is more casual the Restaurant is fine dining so those of you that really enjoy fine dining believe me it really is.
We then spent a couple of hours in the bar and again all the staff came to take photo's of us and make sure we were ok. Nothing is a problem.
We slept so well, the room was had our own terrace and garden view of which the view was breathtaking.
Breakfast amazing, service outstanding and we really didn't want to leave.
Again and again we both will definitely return for a whole weekend.
Just would really like to Thank every one at the Manor. This is a really really special place.
Unforgettable and will be returning again.
Thank you....

Room Tip: Room with garden view is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Penny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Perfect! Many thanks for your review, we are glad you had such a great time. The staff are one of the main reasons that make a stay here so enjoyable.
Many thanks for your time in sharing your experience at the Manor, its great to hear you thought your break was faultless - this is always our aim!
We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon, hopefully for a longer stay.

Many thanks
Mike and Angela Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights with friends. Bedroom clean and spacious, bathroom clean but little dated. We ate in the main restaurant on the first night and had a fantastic meal - couldn't fault. We also tried the bistro another night and again loved the food but not much atmosphere with an iPod playing music not to our taste. Staff were all very friendly and would always have a chat and recommended places to visit. We visited Gretna Green as only 40 mins ago and whilst glad we went was full of gift shops! We had a deal for one spa visit for 3 hours and would have preferred to have split this and gone a few times. Felt the £25 each charge to use the spa excessive for guests and stopped us using it again, it wasn't busy and a shame we couldn't pop in when we felt like it. Had a few treatments that were lovely and again beauticians were friendly and helpful. Gave 5 stars for the food, hotel, grounds and staff sort the bathrooms and spa entrance and would be perfect!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Iamthequeen26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you so much for your great review of the manor. Its fantastic to know we are doing something right and it does give all the team a buzz to know our guest are enjoying their time at Appleby manor.
We like to think we go the extra mile to make sure our guests get the best possible experience, we do feel we are unique in giving our guests a full tour of the hotel and facilites when they arrrive, it relaxes everybody and familiarises you to the surroundings so you can just enjoy your break. i will pass your fantastic comments on to the team.
Its really motivational for them to receive great feedback like yours - it makes the job worthwhile.
Looking forward to welcoming you back in September.
Regards
Angela & Mike Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We stayed here last week for two nights for our Silver Wedding Anniversary. From the moment we arrived, the staff could not do enough for us. We needed to change our initial room and this was done immediately and without any fuss and we were delighted with our garden room which was spacious and beautifully clean. The food in the restaurant was excellent on both nights and we can't praise the service enough. Breakfast was equally good. We can't fault our stay here (apart from the fact that the Heelis Suite was extremely warm!) Can't wait to stay again. Mr & Mrs C.
Many thanks to everyone..

Room Tip: Garden rooms are more modern but the Manor House is in keeping with its Victorian age.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sallycother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a fantastic review, the staff will be thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay so much. I will of course pass your comments on to the chefs and front of house team, as i have said before our staff are the hotels greatest asset.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in due course

regards
Mike Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appleby
35.7 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
20.1 km away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
35.3 km away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.7 km away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
32.5 km away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
36.1 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa

Address: Hotel & Garden Spa Roman Road, Appleby CA16 6JB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Appleby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Appleby
Price Range: RM499 - RM1,321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa is set in Cumbria within the Eden Valley on the edge of the Lake District, it is surrounded by the magnificent mountains and fells of the North Pennines and is close to the Yorkshire Dales.4 National parks within a 20 minute drive. Appleby Manor is a four star luxury Lake District Country House Hotel with everything you need including warm open log fires, excellent hotel bedrooms, a fine selection of wines and whiskies together with an award winning restaurant that offer superb views over Lake District fells. The Luxury Garden Spa at the manor is the newest destination spa in the Lake District, perfect for pamper days and relaxing spa breaks.Indulge in our unique aqua thermal journey and lift your spirits with one of our 80 rejuvenating spa treatments. Why not avoid the congestion of Windermere and other Lake District Hotels, explore the hidden Lake District - the Eden Valley, while staying at Appleby Manor Country House hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Appleby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing