We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned hotel in pleasant gardens”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Appleby
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 14 October 2017

I have deliberated before posting my review of this hotel.

My review is part good, part not quite so good, so it will be in the rarely read 3 star section.

We were attracted to the hotel by the large number of very positive reviews, and also its location handy for both the Lake District and the Northern Pennines. Appleby is an attractive little market town, set on the banks of the River Eden. It is slightly off the beaten track, being by-passed by the busy A66.

The hotel is a lovely, somewhat old fashioned building set in its own attractive gardens and a short drive out of Appleby. I think some might say a faded splendour, perhaps.

We upgraded to a garden view twin room, which turned out to be large and reasonably well furnished with French window access to the open garden area. The garden area included chairs and a table for each of the rooms with access. The room was quiet and peaceful and offered views across Appleby to some of the distant Lakeland fells.

Throughout our stay the staff were friendly and polite. Car parking was free and there seemed to be plenty of room.

Unfortunately there were some negatives too which is why I've placed it in the 3 star zone rather than the 4 or 5 star reviews.

The bathroom radiator/towel rail was extremely hot to the touch. There was no temperature limiter on the hot water system which was much hotter than it needed to be. Additionally the grouting between the floor tiles in the bathroom was quite dirty.

I wasn’t a great fan of the food. We stopped in for a meal one night and found it expensive, pretentious and not necessarily that tasty. I accept this is a personal view and not shared by some other guests. The fried breakfasts too were exactly the same every day of our stay, I wonder if a hot breakfast buffet bar would be more welcome.
I hasten to add that the service both at breakfast and for our evening meal was excellent throughout.

I have to concede it was probably just not my type of hotel, I found it old fashioned and pretentious, despite the lovely setting.

Room Tip: Garden view twins are fine. They can at a premium cost however
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quintonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Thank you for your review, i am so sorry that some aspects of your day did not fully meet your expectations. I am pleased the service you received from the staff was to our usual high standards.
Like you say in your review maybe we're just not your cup of tea. I will address the towel rail you highlighted in your review.

Regards
Mike Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,690)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 58 of 1,693 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2017

fantastic scenery, great staff good food, you would struggle to find a better location . Never tried the spa area, but we had a look and it looks nice and cosy and we wished that we had taken appropriate clothing

Room Tip: the room we had was dated , that was our only gripe. It needs a modern look
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gbreatcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Brilliant! Many thanks for your review.
We do feel passionately about the hotel & garden spa, and the service our guests receive, its quite personal as we put a lot of time and effort into the hotel to create a relaxing and friendly atmosphere. A hotel is not a hotel without its staff, so it's uplifting for them when they receive praise.
Many thanks for your time in sharing your experience at the Manor.
Its great to hear that you would come back to the manor, we look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future.

Many thanks
Mike & Angela Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

The location was lovely with lovely views from the Restaurant, and nice gardens. We went on one of their deals- it was quite expensive but the food was very good. The room was too small really though- there was a suitcase rack in the room but nowhere to open it out! Being vegetarian, I was pleased with the selection menu.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Steph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Thank you so much for your review of the Manor. The team take great pride in providing the wow factor to our guests and always try to exceed guest expectations, its so good to hear you were looked after well.
We do have great pride in the staff and thank you for acknowledging the professionalism of the all the staff, I will take pleasure in passing on your comments about the hotel to all the departments in the hotel.
Hope to welcome you back very soon.
regards
Mike Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 2 night deal on 27/09/17 for my birthday. Slightly dated bedrooms and bathroom, need updated. Meal however, was best ever dining experience due to the wee extra touches and the high quality of food served. Aqua Thermal experience great value for money and great way to unwind for 3 hours. Overall, great experience and would love to go back.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank johnmcguire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Thank you so much for your great review of the manor. Its fantastic to know we are doing something right and it does give all the team a buzz to know our guest are enjoying their time at Appleby manor.
We like to think we go the extra mile to make sure our guests get the best possible experience, we do feel we are unique in giving our guests a full tour of the hotel and facilites when they arrrive, it relaxes everybody and familiarises you to the surroundings so you can just enjoy your break. i will pass your fantastic comments on to the team.
Its really motivational for them to receive great feedback like yours - it makes the job worthwhile.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in 2017.
Regards
Angela & Mike Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Lovely hotel in a beautiful setting. Staff were very friendly. Food was top notch. We were in the coach house which was perfectly adequate, big bathroom, but some road noise from the A66, but that quietened down overnight. The reception rooms in the hotel are spacious and comfortable and have lovely views across the valley. The spa pool is sumptious.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Val_and_Sid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a fantastic review, the staff will be thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay so much. I will of course pass your comments on to the chefs and front of house team, as i have said before our staff are the hotels greatest asset.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in due course

regards
Mike Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appleby
35.7 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
20.1 km away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
35.3 km away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.1 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,447 reviews
35.7 km away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
37.7 km away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa

Address: Hotel & Garden Spa Roman Road, Appleby CA16 6JB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Appleby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Appleby
Price Range: RM 508 - RM 933 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa is set in Cumbria within the Eden Valley on the edge of the Lake District, it is surrounded by the magnificent mountains and fells of the North Pennines and is close to the Yorkshire Dales.4 National parks within a 20 minute drive. Appleby Manor is a four star luxury Lake District Country House Hotel with everything you need including warm open log fires, excellent hotel bedrooms, a fine selection of wines and whiskies together with an award winning restaurant that offer superb views over Lake District fells. The Luxury Garden Spa at the manor is the newest destination spa in the Lake District, perfect for pamper days and relaxing spa breaks.Indulge in our unique aqua thermal journey and lift your spirits with one of our 80 rejuvenating spa treatments. Why not avoid the congestion of Windermere and other Lake District Hotels, explore the hidden Lake District - the Eden Valley, while staying at Appleby Manor Country House hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Appleby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing