We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,840)
Filter reviews
1,840 results
Traveller rating
1,207
449
121
41
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,207
449
121
41
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coach house a garden view room main restaurant heelis suite on arrival salt room lovely hotel the main house jacuzzi bath eden valley deluxe room two night stay dining rooms groupon deal leisure facilities evening meal both mornings
Filter
Updating list...
202 - 207 of 1,840 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2017

fantastic scenery, great staff good food, you would struggle to find a better location . Never tried the spa area, but we had a look and it looks nice and cosy and we wished that we had taken appropriate clothing

Room tip: the room we had was dated , that was our only gripe. It needs a modern look
Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gbreatcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Brilliant! Many thanks for your review.
We do feel passionately about the hotel & garden spa, and the service our guests receive, its quite personal as we put a lot of time and effort into the hotel to create a relaxing and friendly atmosphere. A hotel is not a hotel without its staff, so it's uplifting for them when they receive praise.
Many thanks for your time in sharing your experience at the Manor.
Its great to hear that you would come back to the manor, we look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future.

Many thanks
Mike & Angela Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

The location was lovely with lovely views from the Restaurant, and nice gardens. We went on one of their deals- it was quite expensive but the food was very good. The room was too small really though- there was a suitcase rack in the room but nowhere to open it out! Being vegetarian, I was pleased with the selection menu.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Steph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Thank you so much for your review of the Manor. The team take great pride in providing the wow factor to our guests and always try to exceed guest expectations, its so good to hear you were looked after well.
We do have great pride in the staff and thank you for acknowledging the professionalism of the all the staff, I will take pleasure in passing on your comments about the hotel to all the departments in the hotel.
Hope to welcome you back very soon.
regards
Mike Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 2 night deal on 27/09/17 for my birthday. Slightly dated bedrooms and bathroom, need updated. Meal however, was best ever dining experience due to the wee extra touches and the high quality of food served. Aqua Thermal experience great value for money and great way to unwind for 3 hours. Overall, great experience and would love to go back.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank johnmcguire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Thank you so much for your great review of the manor. Its fantastic to know we are doing something right and it does give all the team a buzz to know our guest are enjoying their time at Appleby manor.
We like to think we go the extra mile to make sure our guests get the best possible experience, we do feel we are unique in giving our guests a full tour of the hotel and facilites when they arrrive, it relaxes everybody and familiarises you to the surroundings so you can just enjoy your break. i will pass your fantastic comments on to the team.
Its really motivational for them to receive great feedback like yours - it makes the job worthwhile.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in 2017.
Regards
Angela & Mike Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Lovely hotel in a beautiful setting. Staff were very friendly. Food was top notch. We were in the coach house which was perfectly adequate, big bathroom, but some road noise from the A66, but that quietened down overnight. The reception rooms in the hotel are spacious and comfortable and have lovely views across the valley. The spa pool is sumptious.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Val_and_Sid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a fantastic review, the staff will be thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay so much. I will of course pass your comments on to the chefs and front of house team, as i have said before our staff are the hotels greatest asset.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in due course

regards
Mike Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

We had booked into one of the Garden Rooms but when we arrived we were show to room No.6 on the first floor. We were advised that we had been upgraded to a larger room. The room was very spacious with a king sized bed and a lovely sitting area, the only down side was the very small bathroom with dark staining on the wall with the window. We dined in the restaurant on the first night (2 course dinner was included in the package) the food was excellent and we booked again for the following night, again the food was delicious. Unfortunately we booked into the Bistro for the third evening which was a mistake, we should have stayed with the fine dining restaurant. Breakfast was very good with a good choice, not just the full English, good fish dishes and whatever egg you wanted and as many as you wanted. The staff were all very friendly and wanted you to enjoy your stay with them. Will certainly go to this hotel again.

Room tip: Garden Rooms are on the ground floor with a small patio area, good access to the rest of the hotel.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Porgie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Brilliant! Many thanks for your review.
We do feel passionately about the hotel & garden spa, and the service our guests receive, its quite personal as we put a lot of time and effort into the hotel to create a relaxing and friendly atmosphere. A hotel is not a hotel without its staff, so it's uplifting for them when they receive praise.
Many thanks for your time in sharing your experience at the Manor.
Its great to hear that you would come back to the manor, we look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future.

Many thanks
Mike & Angela Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews