We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lys-Na-Greyne
Nearby Hotels
Huntly Arms(Aboyne)
US$100
US$97
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Loch Kinord Hotel(Dinnet)(Great Value!)
US$152
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deeside Inn(Ballater)
US$83
US$73
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tor-na-Coille(Banchory)(Great Value!)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burnett Arms Hotel(Banchory)(Great Value!)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banchory Lodge(Banchory)
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton By Hilton Aberdeen Westhill(Westhill)(Great Value!)
US$84
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Macdonald Pittodrie House(Chapel of Garioch)
US$133
US$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
117
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bbeautiful housethe rivercomplimentary whiskydinner reservationsbed and breakfasttea and cakewonderful hostshelpful with local informationcomfortable loungethe wow factordrawing roomfinger tipssingle maltweek triplovely touchwee dram
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 118 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

OK so maybe we were spoilt slighty, we were the only guests staying at Lys-Na-Greyne (never did remember to ask what that actually means lol) so we had the whole place to ourselves and we were kindly upgraded to the best room. The experience was more akin to having private butlers than B&B hosts, but I'm sure that Joyce and Gary are as attentive, helpful and friendly when they've got a houseful.

I think I had every breakfast option over the four days we stayed and they were all cooked perfectly and very tasty, I especially enjoyed the fresh berries and homemade orange marmalade. When we had cooked breakfast it was always prepared exactly how we wanted it, and the salmon with scrambled eggs is a really tasty light way to start the day.

The room was stunningly well presented, spotlessly clean with two sinks in the bathroom along with a large shower and a separate bath, the bed was also really comfy and there was plenty of space to hang clothes. The rest of the beautiful building was equally nice with a huge guest living room (complimentary 12 year old single malt whiskey!) with a roaring log burner and a piano if you fancy pretending to be Noel Coward for the evening.

It's pretty clear that Joyce and Gary have approached this B&B with one thing in mind - if you're going to provide something for the guests, buy the best thing you can find. Bluetooth speakers for the bedroom? Harman Kardon of course. Hallmarked silver breakfast set? Naturally. I dare say the Queen probably stays here when she can't be bothered to drive the extra few miles to Balmoral.

The only problem we have now is, every other B&B is going to be a disappointment.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SunLoverAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L N G, Owner at Lys-Na-Greyne, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

My goodness, phew! I was a little worried upon reading the headline but thankfully it wasn't necessary. We are so delighted that you both had a wonderful stay and thank you enormously for taking the time to write such a detailed and glowing review, it really is greatly appreciated. And an even bigger congratulations to you both for braving Scotland in winter! Enjoy your upcoming holiday in the sun and we hope to welcome you back at some point in the future. Jxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018

Everything was perfect, the location, the room, the hosts. We have spent 2 night at Lys-Na-Greyne in February 2018 and I could not recommend it enough!

The house is situated at the most romantic spot of Aboyne, on the banks of River Dee. The Boat Inn is a nice pub only 2 minutes drive (or 25 minutes walk) from the house. We have spent our weekend walking&hiking the surrounding areas - and Aboyne was the perfect location for that. It only took us about 25-30 minutes each time to get to our destination. Ballater is only 10-15 minutes away and have some nice Cafes and places to eat.

Our room was immaculate (we stayed in Room 2) - spacious, bright and has everything you need for a lovely stay. I absolutely loved that the rooms have SMART TVs - so thatI could catch up on some of the TV shows in the evening, but also loved having the small portable bluetooth speaker in the room - such a great thing to have! The Wifi signal was strong and the connection was fast. Absolutely loved the design and lay out of the room - the combination of classic luxury and character.

Garry and Joyce are wonderful hosts, they make you feel most welcome in the house - it truly is an exceptional experience. The breakfast is cooked to perfection and prepared from mostly local ingredients. The complimentary afternoon tea and cake in the lodge were such a nice addition to our stay. We cannot wait to be back in October!

Room Tip: We have stayed in Room 2 - it was bright and spacious
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Veronika J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L N G, Owner at Lys-Na-Greyne, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2018

WOW, such a lovely detailed review and we thank you so very much for the time you have taken to write it. It really was our pleasure and we look forward to welcoming you back in October already. Till then enjoy the snow and have a wonderful summer, Jxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

Joyce is a wonderful host, so welcoming and friendly, and nothing is too much trouble. The B and B itself is second to none, immaculately clean and set within the most romantic of settings. I'd recommend Lys-Na-Greyne to anyone. looking for a relaxed stay in the countryside.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Adele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L N G, Owner at Lys-Na-Greyne, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Thank you so much Adele, so glad that you loved your stay and took time to write a review. Hugely appreciated and hoping to welcome you both back soon, Jxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

We spent a lovely night here. Describing this place as a B&B doesn’t do it justice at all. It’s an incredible property, absolutely huge, beautifully furnished and decorated to an exceptional standard. Joyce is a wonderful host, so welcoming and friendly, and nothing is too much trouble.

We stayed in room 2, which is enormous and luxurious, the bathroom was just amazing.

Breakfast here is fabulous, and the breakfast room with its big table is a lovely way to meet other guests.

We honestly can’t wait to go back.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Monica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L N G, Owner at Lys-Na-Greyne, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Thank you so much Monica, we are delighted that you both enjoyed your stay and the en famille breakfast experience. Can't wait to welcome you back too, Jxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

Wonderful accommodation and Joyce made us feel like we were most welcome and old best friends. Beautiful setting and excellent room bed and luxurious linens and pillows. We looked forward to returning every evening after adventures in the Cairngorms. We could not have found better in any 5 star resort. We will tell friends and hope to return soon!

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Joesavage1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L N G, Owner at Lys-Na-Greyne, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you so much Joe, what a lovely review. You were both a delight and the pleasure was all ours. Haste ye back, Jxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews