We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best caravan park in dorset.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weymouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Waterside Holiday Park & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The best caravan park in dorset.”
Reviewed 8 June 2012

we have visited waterside on many occasions and go back year after year and this is easily the best holiday camp in weymouth and probably one of the best in the u.k. the caravans we have stayed in have always been new in looks, spacious and comfortable. the camp is clean and tidy, has nice landscaping and is in a beautiful area of weymouth which is a short bus ride from the town centre. there are also plenty of options for food such as fish and chips, a resturant in the show bar, a pizza bar and a resturant which i highly recommend the sunday carvery. there is also a convenience store, 2 arcades, a fun fair and play ground for children with 2 different show bars 1 for children the other more for familys theres plenty to do for all ages. also take time to visit the pool gym and spa which is beautiful and very relaxing. waterside is also located right next to the beach which can get busy on hot days, to sumerise its hard to see how anybody can get bored or dissapointed with this fantastic holiday camp.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    112
    51
    16
    14
See reviews for
343
48
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We have just returned from a week at the Waterside, our second holiday there in two years. I really cant fault it for the money paid. Its got great facilities compared to other similar caravan parks. The location is great too. There is a small beach called Bowleaze Cove within walking distance. There is also a small funfair right outside the caravan park too. Both of the caravan we have stayed in have been fine. The one we had this time didnt have an outside balcony area ( we could have used this, and so its worth being aware to ask for a caravan with one if the weather is good)
I have read the other reviews about the caravans being cold and its true they are not very warm first thing in the morning, ours didnt have central heating but had a fire which warmed it up in the morning. Maybe take slippers and dressing gown as a tip as caravans are not great in general at holding temperature.
You make up the beds yourself and we have never had a problem with this, you get to ensure your bedding is clean and you know that it is fresh too. The brochure details this so this was never a big deal for us really.
But I did have an issue with our bed not being that comfortable as well, it didnt stop me sleeping though.
Some other general tips would be the following:
If you are going on family day trips then check with reception if they do any discounts, we went to the Sealife Centre in Weymouth and got quite a bit off ticket price through the Waterside. They do discounts for other places like Abottsbury Swannery too.
The funfair outside the Caravan Park has a happy hour from 7pm to 9pm, tickets are 50p each during this time. Normal price is nearer 80p per ticket
Bowleaze Cove is a mixture of sand and some rockpools, if you want pure sand on a shallow beach then travel into Weymouth.Watch out if its windy though as sand is so fine it ends up everywhere.
Have plenty of change if you are going into Weymouth as all car parks are pay parks and they are not terribly cheap either.
I cant fault the location, facilities offered and having stayed at other caravan parks this one is far better than other we have used recently. The Swimming pool was used twice and was never crowded and the changing rooms were always clean. All in all we had a great week there and we also had a week of sunshine too. The staff have always been really friendly and are all very knowledgable on the local area.

Room Tip: Check whether you have a balcony to the caravan as not all vans have them
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Just came back from Waterside Park after having fantastic family holiday. It was our first time staying in the caravan with two kids. One 2 years old and second 3 months old, so we looked for family friendly holiday parks with plenty attractions on site.To book holiday directly via Waterside Park was quite expensive, but found nice website with private rentals at the same park. http://www.directholidayhomes.co.uk/ Found the Park and contacted the private owner. Pictures of the caravan from outside and inside were very actual to what we have seen on arrival.The owner is cleaning and looking after the caravan itself so it was very nice and clean.We felt almost like at home as the caravan was very well equipped. It was a very good last minute deal and for week holiday in May we paid only £230 where for the same stay directly booked with waterside park we would have to pay more than £350.So quite a big saving. Therefore, look carefully first before final buy. The downside of hiring from the private owner is only the pool as we had to pay each time we wanted to use it but it was only £2.50per person (kids went free) which is not bad, but having fantastic sunny weather we spend more time being out and about. The Park is very big but very clean and kept at high standard. Shop is on site but quite expensive. However, there is not any near by shop so worth to do your shopping before getting on the park. It is only 5 minute drive to the Weymouth town centre or quite close to the nearest co-operative or morrisons shop so it is not so bad. There is also a bus travelling to the Weymouth town centre (as the Park is located virtually on the beach at Bowleaze Cove, around 3 miles from Weymouth town). Never use it as we always use own car, but seen the bus quite often as we were based near the main road at the park.There is plenty to do each day at the park for all members of the family. Indoor facilities - pool, sauna, gym, SPA, soft play area, Boomer`s show twice a day from 10.30 am and 6.30pm (it`s someone dressed as kangaroo entertaining kids in a funny way). Outdoor facilities- wooden play area for kids with slides and swings and also the pool. Across the road very nice and affordable funfair for young kids. After 7pm tokens for all rides were only £0.50. My wife also enjoyed the Spa very much.Even though the treatments were quite expensive it was definitely worth going. For parents there is large entertainment venue across the road from the park (passes included, even for those of us dealing privately) is a grate place to spend some nice time at evening. Played bingo for a first time and had good fun. There is also Restaurant & Take away but would not recommend kebab as it did not taste nice and the fries were not freshly made.However would definitely recommend the fish and chips shop near the beach. Very nice and fresh fish and chips.I came back there few times as could not resist the freshness and crispness of the fish.
The beach is quite rocky ,which was not that big deal, but we went to Weymouth town to the beach, which was very sandy with no rocks at all. Also we found the internet access if you want to have it in your caravan to be extremely expensive £5/day or £20/week. However, there is a free internet access in the reception area upstairs.
Overall we had a very nice stay and would recommend the park to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DominikS377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We returned to Waterside in May 2012 having had an enjoyable stay in May 2010. My husband and I were both extremely disappointed when we entered our caravan this time. It seemed very tired and worn out and not at all how we remembered it. The bin in the kitchen cupboard was dirty and broken, the sofa seat covers were stained and the carpet seemed shabby, I didn't want to take my shoes off!! To say the beds were uncomfortable would be an understatement and the bedding and pillows provided are disgraceful for a Holiday Park which is rated 5 star, also having to make up the beds yourself is not good service when you go away from home for a break, the staff know how many people are in each van so they could make up the main beds prior to arrival. The double bed is so small and uncomfortable that my husband ended up sleeping on the double sofa bed in the lounge - not exactly how you want to spend your Holiday. As a result of this, and the 9.30am checkout being completely ridiculous for a family to vacate a Holiday home, we decided to leave the night before we were due to checkout - I just couldn't bare the thought of another uncomfortable cold night. We requested a van with central heating but was told there were none available the week we needed to go, it was a big mistake accepting a van without it. My Children aged 1 and 4 were freezing cold at night and first thing in the morning, not helped by the poor bedding provided previously mentioned. The best thing about the park is the Children's entertainment and Boomers Fun House is excellent. Johnboy is great with the kids and if it wasn't for breaking my kids hearts we would not have stayed.

Room Tip: Get a new one with Central Heating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We have spent many happy holidays at Waterside over the past 6-7 years, we usually stay at Easter as not our main family holiday, and come with nan and grandad. It seems a popular place to stay with extended families.
I think Waterside is far superior to the Haven parks in the area.

Always found the accomodation clean and well equiped, if you are missing anything they are always happy to supply, just ask at reception and it will be delivered to the caravan later.

Pool area is lovely, steam room and sauna by pool.
Outdoor pool closed at this time of year, but we did stay once in August and it was lovely and warm, like a bath :-)

Waterside restaurant, seems to be run by different staff almost every year, Thai food on offer this year, cooked by Thai cook, found this was very good, we had the set meal which allowed a little bit of several dishes, which mounted up to a huge meal!
The Sunday carvery as quite poor, soggy Yorkshires and very stingy with the meat.

Went to the venue a few times, Madness tribute act were quite good, the magic show we saw was quite embarassing as no one clapping and we sat at the front so felt obliged to :-D Race nights fun for the kids as well as adults!

Weymouth beach is good, nice and sandy but wasn't really beach weather this year, got sunburnt last Easter and beach was really crowded and was difficult to find a spot to put the towels down, could take your pick this year...
Bus goes from park into Weymouth, is quite expensive for the family, if the weather is nice you can park at the long stay car park near sealife and walk into Weymouth, nice and flat and a pleasant walk.
Lots of things to do nearby Lyme Regis, Bridport and Poole are all nice days out.

Looking forward to next year already, but hoping for better weather!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blondebee52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
2.5 km away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
3.0 km away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.2 km away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#19 of 22 in Weymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
6.9 km away
Chesil Family Holiday Park
5.9 km away
Higher Moor Farm
Higher Moor Farm
#1 of 22 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside Holiday Park & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Holiday Park & Spa

Property: Waterside Holiday Park & Spa
Address: Bowleaze Coveway, Weymouth, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Weymouth
Hotel Class:5 star — Waterside Holiday Park & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 500
Also Known As:
Waterside Holiday Park Hotel Weymouth
Waterside Holiday Park And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing