We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing hotel, setting, adventure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2016

Read the book, then visit the hotel. They do give you a copy of it when you check in which is quite a nice touch. Listening service for the kids, 2 films laid on a night for them which they enjoyed. The play room has everything, miy 2 played their for hours and we had to drag them away!
The hotel itself is just made for kids, it has everything you can think of.
The staff are brilliant, so incredibly caring - much better parents than I am!
Lovely food for the adults too, good selection of nice red wine.
I had a sea view with a mini-balcony, just perfect!
You have got to go!!!
Take their dog for a walk, he loves it!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. Go down to Portland Bill and eat crab in the Crab Shack!
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JoshMay54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2016

Dear JoshMay54,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We are so delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us so much.

Do come back soon!

Kind regards
Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (656)
There are newer reviews for Moonfleet Manor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 88 of 656 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2016

My cousin and I called into Moonfleet Manor after a November weekday walk. The cheery staff, the log fires and the charming decor made us immediately feel at home and want to stop. Although the restaurant was closed, staff offered to serve us sandwiches by the fire. The sandwiches were good but most of all it was the people and the warm, easy-going atmosphere of Moonfleet which make us want to return soon. A quirky, comfortable country house with a unique feel all of its own.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
Thank collinsweymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2016

Dear collinsweymouth,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for dropping in for a bite to eat. Your last sentence sums us up very well and I am delighted that you enjoyed the atmosphere.

We very much look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2016

We really liked this hotel. Our room was good with great views over Cheap Beach. The restaurant was good with a limited but well presented menu. Drinks are expensive and the bar service a little erratic. WiFi was poor, very slow.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner room with views over Chesil Beach
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2016

Dear Geoffrey B,

Thank you for your comments. It is great to hear that you had a lovely stay with us.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Moonfleet in the near future.

Kind regards
Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Not sure what people are complaining about. The location is brilliant, food was good, our room Hemingway was nice, staff very friendly only complaint I have is that the mirrors in our room/bathroom were a bit high for me and the TV is on the dressing table in front of the mirror but other than that it had everything we needed. This was a recce for a birthday weekend with family next year but it is just that bit too far to travel so we have booked New Park Manor at Brockenhurst. Moonfleet Manor has so much for children they'll love it.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Palpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2016

Dear Palpy,

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are disappointed that you will not be using us for your family get-together, but I'm sure that you will have a great time at New Park. We'll get you next time!!

Kind regards
Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Having had a good stay here for 1 night a few years ago after the birth of our third child we decided to return. We booked for 5 nights over the school half-term.
On the plus side: Our family room was spacious, the beds very comfortable and it was always nicely cleaned each day. There's a large under cover activity area and areas for the kids to play all manner of games/sports including squash, skittles, footy, pool, table-tennis, swimming, etc. This was great for the couple of rainy days we had. We had a few great walks along the coast, which is what gives this hotel a big tick. The 'fossil hunt' one morning for the kids and adults was great, thanks to Andrew's enthusiastic talk along the way.
However, the charm that we initially experienced has waned quite a bit over the years: The decor is dated and needs a revamp; Our room had a number of plumbing issues; The menu and food aren't the greatest and a bit pricey for what you get; WIFI is basically non-existent; There's no meal option for the kids other than high tea and sweets between 2-5pm.
At £530/night excluding kids' meals and drinks we expected a little more from a hotel that is part of the 'Luxury Family Hotels' chain. I'm now wondering if we should bother with the others in the group? Hopefully they will spend a little more on bringing this one closer to luxury

Stayed: October 2016
Thank Brendan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2016

Dear Brendan B,

Thank you for your very helpful review. We are always looking for ways to improve what we do and I can reassure you that we continue to invest in Moonfleet, year-on-year.

2016 saw £750k in refurbishments including Restaurant window replacement and decoration improvement, as well as re-renderering and painting the main house, pool improvements and other garden projects.

Wifi is difficult in such a rural location, but it is improving and additional improvements are expected in 2017.

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and hospitality and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Moonfleet in the near future.

Kind regards
Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
6.3 km away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
6.3 km away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
281 reviews
8.9 km away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#15 of 22 in Weymouth
16 reviews
6.6 km away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#7 of 22 in Weymouth
487 reviews
6.4 km away
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
#13 of 22 in Weymouth
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonfleet Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonfleet Manor Hotel

Address: Fleet Road, Weymouth DT3 4ED, England (Formerly Moonfleet Manor & Sports Resort)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range: RM573 - RM1,775 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moonfleet Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Moonfleet Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonfleet Manor And Sports Resort
Moonfleet Manor & Sports Hotel Weymouth
Hotel Moonfleet Manor Sports

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing