We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bourneville(Weymouth)
US$93
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
US$102
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
US$105
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sandy Dreams(Weymouth)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cunard Guest House(Weymouth)(Great Value!)
US$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Higher Moor Farm(Weymouth)(Great Value!)
US$21
Pitchup.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (731)
Filter reviews
731 results
Traveller rating
344
243
80
48
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
344
243
80
48
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshotel dogchesil beachlistening serviceresident dogclimbing wallcinema roomair hockeybaby listeningtable tennisluxury family hotelsfamily friendly hotelskittle alleyindoor play areaswimming pooltennis courtsplay barnthe main house
Filter
Updating list...
159 - 164 of 731 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2016

My cousin and I called into Moonfleet Manor after a November weekday walk. The cheery staff, the log fires and the charming decor made us immediately feel at home and want to stop. Although the restaurant was closed, staff offered to serve us sandwiches by the fire. The sandwiches were good but most of all it was the people and the warm, easy-going atmosphere of Moonfleet which make us want to return soon. A quirky, comfortable country house with a unique feel all of its own.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
Thank collinsweymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2016

Dear collinsweymouth,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for dropping in for a bite to eat. Your last sentence sums us up very well and I am delighted that you enjoyed the atmosphere.

We very much look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2016

We really liked this hotel. Our room was good with great views over Cheap Beach. The restaurant was good with a limited but well presented menu. Drinks are expensive and the bar service a little erratic. WiFi was poor, very slow.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner room with views over Chesil Beach
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2016

Dear Geoffrey B,

Thank you for your comments. It is great to hear that you had a lovely stay with us.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Moonfleet in the near future.

Kind regards
Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Not sure what people are complaining about. The location is brilliant, food was good, our room Hemingway was nice, staff very friendly only complaint I have is that the mirrors in our room/bathroom were a bit high for me and the TV is on the dressing table in front of the mirror but other than that it had everything we needed. This was a recce for a birthday weekend with family next year but it is just that bit too far to travel so we have booked New Park Manor at Brockenhurst. Moonfleet Manor has so much for children they'll love it.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Palpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2016

Dear Palpy,

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are disappointed that you will not be using us for your family get-together, but I'm sure that you will have a great time at New Park. We'll get you next time!!

Kind regards
Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Having had a good stay here for 1 night a few years ago after the birth of our third child we decided to return. We booked for 5 nights over the school half-term.
On the plus side: Our family room was spacious, the beds very comfortable and it was always nicely cleaned each day. There's a large under cover activity area and areas for the kids to play all manner of games/sports including squash, skittles, footy, pool, table-tennis, swimming, etc. This was great for the couple of rainy days we had. We had a few great walks along the coast, which is what gives this hotel a big tick. The 'fossil hunt' one morning for the kids and adults was great, thanks to Andrew's enthusiastic talk along the way.
However, the charm that we initially experienced has waned quite a bit over the years: The decor is dated and needs a revamp; Our room had a number of plumbing issues; The menu and food aren't the greatest and a bit pricey for what you get; WIFI is basically non-existent; There's no meal option for the kids other than high tea and sweets between 2-5pm.
At £530/night excluding kids' meals and drinks we expected a little more from a hotel that is part of the 'Luxury Family Hotels' chain. I'm now wondering if we should bother with the others in the group? Hopefully they will spend a little more on bringing this one closer to luxury

Stayed: October 2016
Thank Brendan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2016

Dear Brendan B,

Thank you for your very helpful review. We are always looking for ways to improve what we do and I can reassure you that we continue to invest in Moonfleet, year-on-year.

2016 saw £750k in refurbishments including Restaurant window replacement and decoration improvement, as well as re-renderering and painting the main house, pool improvements and other garden projects.

Wifi is difficult in such a rural location, but it is improving and additional improvements are expected in 2017.

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and hospitality and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Moonfleet in the near future.

Kind regards
Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016

We left saying that the coach house room we stayed in was one of the nicest rooms we have stayed in as a family of five. We all enjoyed the swimming pool and the younger children loved the Veranda (giant indoor play area).
Breakfast was great, with us all catered for, and lovely to sit in the natural light with a view to Chesil Beach.
Service was great.
The hotel buildings and decor are a very eclectic mix of design, style and age. It sort of works and gives a quirky feel to the place.
The evening meals did not work so well for us. The choice is quite limited and attention to detail in cooking and presentation let it down.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it for those with children, the facilities and staff make keeping them happy easy.

Room Tip: Coach house great for five
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2016

Dear John D,

many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback and I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, for a great number of reasons.

I am sorry to hear that dinner did not work out so well for you and we are always eager to learn how we can improve our whole guest experience, so please do let me know what we could have done better.

Our whole ethos is about making family time easy for parents and I am really glad that we managed this.

Kind regards
Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews