We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldnt wish for more!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2017

Last week stayed at the Moonfleet Manor, Hotel quirky, traditional and full of character, perfect! Loved Snoopy the hotel dog, he was lovely! Jasper Room was fantastic, very quiet, very clean, would have appreciated a fridge but no big deal. Location of hotel out of this world. Even though hotel caters for children, still quiet hotel and staff cannot do more for you. The staff are so attentive, very kind and caring. I could not fault the service, nothing was too much trouble for the staff. My only gripe was watching a posh hotel guest moaning profusely at a member of staff that the tea she had been served in the morning was not breakfast tea. The poor waitress bent over backwards to do all she could, the tea was 'breakfast tea' and the lady was just sooooooo rude!!! Dont change anything in this hotel, its perfect. Thank you for a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms on both sides are lovely. Less noise at top floor.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Dear sharon b,

Couldn't wish for more either! Thank you so much for your lovely feedback.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (655)
There are newer reviews for Moonfleet Manor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 655 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2017

we asked for a balcony room and got one which was smaller than our allocated room but worth it for the view which was fantastic.the food was good but the drinks prices were horendous the wine especially .also i did not like the way they charged 10 per cent gratuities i asked for these to be removed as i thought we had paid more than enough already.they were very dog friendly but there could have had a small area of the dinning room where we could eat with our dog as he does not like to be left alone in the car or in the room. all in all we enjoyed the experience.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking lagoon wonderful views
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jenny-rouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Dear jenny-rouse,

Thank you for very much your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Gratuities are added to Lunch & Dinner bills and this is clearly stated on the menus. It is never a problem for this to be removed if guests do not wish to pay this.

Kind regards
Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed one night, as a couple, after hiking Portland this week.
We had our dog with us and could not have been made more welcome with her.
We arrived around 3.30 and were shown immediately to our room. Which wAs adequate, clean and stocked with everything we my need. Use of pool etc was explained and not confusing.
We were able to enjoy a a nice glass of wine on the terrace, which is pleasant and staff are unassuming, invisible, but turn up the minute you need anything.
We enjoyed a lovely 3 course meal, great menu, and exceptional service.
This is a family hotel, which we were aware of, but be warned that we were eating on the terrace until 9 pm and unsupervised children were playing on the lawn nearby. We were fine with this, but it may not be everyone's cup of tea. They certainly did not offend us though. Family dining is until 7.30, and if you eat inside you wouldn't even know if they were there or not.
There are great facilities for kids and lovely walk along the lagoon. A very pleasant place to visit, we would definitely revisit, either alone or with the kids/family.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mharris473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Dear Mharris473,

Thank you so much for your delightful feedback. It's great to hear that couples also feel the Moonfleet Love!!

Do come back and see us again soon!

Kind regards
Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017

We stayed for three nights with our 8 year-old and had a really great time. We were all in need of a break and the kids activities appealed. The weather was amazing and I think this really helped.

What we really liked - the food. I'm happy to pay a little more for good food and I wasn't disappointed. On one evening my husband's duck was not pink and a bit overcooked. A minor grumble. The chocolate torte was seriously good and one of the best deserts we've ever tasted.

I loved the decor. Yes I agree some areas such as the sand play area could be updated, and the pool area, but its a lovely hotel with great decor. Unfussy and comfortable.

The service is good and attentive.

The fossil hunt with head gardener Andrew deserves a mention as this was really enjoyable and educational. Highly recommended.

What we didn't like... I didn't like the fact that wine choices started at what I consider q a hefty price at 26.00. We eat out a fair bit and recently ate at one of the UK's best gastropubs, The Sportsman in Whitstable which has a fantastic wine menu, where v good wines start at a much more reasonable price. That said, the red we had on the first night was good. The wine, the second night, nothing special but still pricey. Also, two glasses of prosecco I ordered was on the stingy side. It felt like Moonfleet was trying to 'make cash' on the drinks side to us.

Another grumble... One of the things I love about a hotel stay is the nice toiletries. My heart sank when I read I couldn't keep them but could buy them for 15 pounds a bottle... Can I suggest maybe smaller bottles that guests could keeps to feel less short changed?

I appreciate Moonfleet is a luxury stay and its not 'value' you are seeking from a stay but v small amends would make it feel less begrudging when it comes to paying what for us was £1,000 for three nights. Full not third full glasses of prosecco would be a good start.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LouGarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Dear LouGarrett,

Thank you very much for your fab feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and look forward to seeing you again.

We are always happy to take on-board our guests comments, so please be assured that you comments have been noted.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017 via mobile

We've been going to Fowey Hall and other of the "Luxury Family Hotels" for years now, so thought this would be great to try out. It was great with views of a fantastic beach and beautiful rooms, the only issue was, was in the living room. There are 4 or 5 family areas in the hotel packed with sofa's etc. But one of them had obviously had a large roofing issue so instead of replacing said area of the roof they decided to "no joke" STAPLE a BED SHEET to the effected area of the roof. This not only looked terrible and ridiculous, it also looked extremely haphazard and dangerous. If Moonfleet see this review I would suggest sorting this out ASAP as I heard a number of people also complaining about it. Other than that Moonfleet Manor Hotel is a great family Hotel for a short one night break or the entire half-term.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Lol1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Dear Lol1050,

Thank you so much for your feedback.

The sheet that you refer to was a short terms measure whilst repairing a very old lathe and plaster ceiling. The process is much more difficult and time consuming than modern techniques, but as a Grade 2 listed building we do have the duty to ensure that repairs are in keeping with the buildings status - it has gone now, as the second coat has been applied and will be finished quite soon.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed the rest of stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
6.3 km away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
6.3 km away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
281 reviews
8.9 km away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#15 of 22 in Weymouth
16 reviews
6.6 km away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#8 of 22 in Weymouth
485 reviews
6.4 km away
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
#13 of 22 in Weymouth
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonfleet Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonfleet Manor Hotel

Address: Fleet Road, Weymouth DT3 4ED, England (Formerly Moonfleet Manor & Sports Resort)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range: RM572 - RM1,814 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moonfleet Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Moonfleet Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonfleet Manor And Sports Resort
Moonfleet Manor & Sports Hotel Weymouth
Hotel Moonfleet Manor Sports

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing