We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Southville Guest House(Weymouth)(Great Value!)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kelston Guest House(Weymouth)(Great Value!)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Stanley Guest House(Weymouth)(Great Value!)
US$57
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandy Dreams(Weymouth)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach View Guesthouse(Weymouth)(Great Value!)
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour House(Weymouth)
US$85
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Higher Moor Farm(Weymouth)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (753)
Filter reviews
753 results
Traveller rating
351
255
80
48
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
351
255
80
48
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshotel dogchesil beachthe baby listening serviceresident dogclimbing wallcinema roomtable tennislounge areas areluxury family hotelsskittle alleyindoor play areafamily friendly hotelswimming pooltennis courtsplay barnthe main housesoft play
Filter
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 753 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2017

we asked for a balcony room and got one which was smaller than our allocated room but worth it for the view which was fantastic.the food was good but the drinks prices were horendous the wine especially .also i did not like the way they charged 10 per cent gratuities i asked for these to be removed as i thought we had paid more than enough already.they were very dog friendly but there could have had a small area of the dinning room where we could eat with our dog as he does not like to be left alone in the car or in the room. all in all we enjoyed the experience.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking lagoon wonderful views
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jenny-rouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Dear jenny-rouse,

Thank you for very much your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Gratuities are added to Lunch & Dinner bills and this is clearly stated on the menus. It is never a problem for this to be removed if guests do not wish to pay this.

Kind regards
Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed one night, as a couple, after hiking Portland this week.
We had our dog with us and could not have been made more welcome with her.
We arrived around 3.30 and were shown immediately to our room. Which wAs adequate, clean and stocked with everything we my need. Use of pool etc was explained and not confusing.
We were able to enjoy a a nice glass of wine on the terrace, which is pleasant and staff are unassuming, invisible, but turn up the minute you need anything.
We enjoyed a lovely 3 course meal, great menu, and exceptional service.
This is a family hotel, which we were aware of, but be warned that we were eating on the terrace until 9 pm and unsupervised children were playing on the lawn nearby. We were fine with this, but it may not be everyone's cup of tea. They certainly did not offend us though. Family dining is until 7.30, and if you eat inside you wouldn't even know if they were there or not.
There are great facilities for kids and lovely walk along the lagoon. A very pleasant place to visit, we would definitely revisit, either alone or with the kids/family.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mharris473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Dear Mharris473,

Thank you so much for your delightful feedback. It's great to hear that couples also feel the Moonfleet Love!!

Do come back and see us again soon!

Kind regards
Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017

We stayed for three nights with our 8 year-old and had a really great time. We were all in need of a break and the kids activities appealed. The weather was amazing and I think this really helped.

What we really liked - the food. I'm happy to pay a little more for good food and I wasn't disappointed. On one evening my husband's duck was not pink and a bit overcooked. A minor grumble. The chocolate torte was seriously good and one of the best deserts we've ever tasted.

I loved the decor. Yes I agree some areas such as the sand play area could be updated, and the pool area, but its a lovely hotel with great decor. Unfussy and comfortable.

The service is good and attentive.

The fossil hunt with head gardener Andrew deserves a mention as this was really enjoyable and educational. Highly recommended.

What we didn't like... I didn't like the fact that wine choices started at what I consider q a hefty price at 26.00. We eat out a fair bit and recently ate at one of the UK's best gastropubs, The Sportsman in Whitstable which has a fantastic wine menu, where v good wines start at a much more reasonable price. That said, the red we had on the first night was good. The wine, the second night, nothing special but still pricey. Also, two glasses of prosecco I ordered was on the stingy side. It felt like Moonfleet was trying to 'make cash' on the drinks side to us.

Another grumble... One of the things I love about a hotel stay is the nice toiletries. My heart sank when I read I couldn't keep them but could buy them for 15 pounds a bottle... Can I suggest maybe smaller bottles that guests could keeps to feel less short changed?

I appreciate Moonfleet is a luxury stay and its not 'value' you are seeking from a stay but v small amends would make it feel less begrudging when it comes to paying what for us was £1,000 for three nights. Full not third full glasses of prosecco would be a good start.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank LouGarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Dear LouGarrett,

Thank you very much for your fab feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and look forward to seeing you again.

We are always happy to take on-board our guests comments, so please be assured that you comments have been noted.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017 via mobile

We've been going to Fowey Hall and other of the "Luxury Family Hotels" for years now, so thought this would be great to try out. It was great with views of a fantastic beach and beautiful rooms, the only issue was, was in the living room. There are 4 or 5 family areas in the hotel packed with sofa's etc. But one of them had obviously had a large roofing issue so instead of replacing said area of the roof they decided to "no joke" STAPLE a BED SHEET to the effected area of the roof. This not only looked terrible and ridiculous, it also looked extremely haphazard and dangerous. If Moonfleet see this review I would suggest sorting this out ASAP as I heard a number of people also complaining about it. Other than that Moonfleet Manor Hotel is a great family Hotel for a short one night break or the entire half-term.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Lol1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Dear Lol1050,

Thank you so much for your feedback.

The sheet that you refer to was a short terms measure whilst repairing a very old lathe and plaster ceiling. The process is much more difficult and time consuming than modern techniques, but as a Grade 2 listed building we do have the duty to ensure that repairs are in keeping with the buildings status - it has gone now, as the second coat has been applied and will be finished quite soon.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed the rest of stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017

Beautiful situated hotel. We had a lovely pleasant walk on Jurassic coast . On return a excellent lunch on the terrace, was delicious. We had a 3 course meal which was brilliant lots of selection. We will be returning this summer The staff are very professional and polite. Thank you Moonfleet, job well done!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viocreatevfx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Dear viocreatevfx,

Thank you so much for your great feedback. We are all delighted to hear that you enjoyed your brief stopover with us so much.

Do come back and see us again soon!

Kind regards
Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews