We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasurable surprise”
Review of The Tudor House

The Tudor House
Ranked #23 of 74 things to do in Weymouth
Attraction details
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

We found the Tudor House by accident as we were strolling round Weymouth. As I love historical places we decided to have a look round and we were so glad we did. There were just 2 volunteer guides on duty and we had personal attention as there was just one other person who joined our tour. The guide was extremely knowledgeable and interesting and was keen to engage with us and answer questions. Well worth an hour of our time.

Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary S, Charity Volunteer at The Tudor House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Thank you for your kind comments. I am so glad you enjoyed your visit. Our Guides are all enthusiastic volunteers and endeavour to make your time spent at Tudor House interesting as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2017 via mobile

Not very well signposted which is a pity as this is a little gem in Weymouth! We felt that even though it wasn't a massive place to walk around the history and general facts that we gained from this visit was more than worth the visit! It only cost £4 each and the tour took around 45/60 mins. The staff were very well rehearsed in the facts and well informed and able to answer questions put to them. There were steps to go up to the two other floors and no lifts so would be unstable for those in wheelchairs. This really is worth finding and visiting!

1  Thank deanniajayne12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary S, Charity Volunteer at The Tudor House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Thank you for taking time to leave such a lovely report about Tudor House. All our Helpers are volunteers and share a passion for history but especially the 16th & 17thc. Anyone unable to manage the stairs can take part in the downstair tour only at a reduced entrance fee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017

I had the guided tour with Lynn which only cost £4 . The talk was so interesting covering not just the house but how the people of the times lived and their work that it kept you listening all the time. The furniture and exhibits in the house are wonderful. Not disabled friendly due to stairs.

1  Thank Jaffyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary S, Charity Volunteer at The Tudor House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Thank you for your kind comments. I am so glad you enjoyed your visit. Anyone unable to manage the stairs can view the downstairs only at a reduced entrance fee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

Tour guide was very well informed and friendly. So interesting to hear about the lives of that time! Would recommend

Thank geoff_scotland96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary S, Charity Volunteer at The Tudor House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2017

Thank you for your kind comments. I am so glad you enjoyed your visit. Our Guides are all enthusiastic volunteers and endeavour to make your time spent at Tudor House interesting as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017 via mobile

At only £4 each this tour is great value. We were shown around by a lovely lady who was very knowledgeable and friendly. She explained everything to us and didn't rush the tour at all....a fascinating tour and fully recommended. You can't walk around on your own, which is absolutely fine.

Thank Derek E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary S, Charity Volunteer at The Tudor House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Thank you for taking time to leave such a lovely report about Tudor House. All our Helpers are volunteers and share a passion for history but especially the 16th & 17thc. The guides take great encouragement to know that their hard work is appreciated by our visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tudor House also viewed

 

Been to The Tudor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing