We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small museum but well worth a visit”
Review of The Tudor House

The Tudor House
Ranked #23 of 74 things to do in Weymouth
Attraction details
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Lovely old Tudor house and museum. The guides bring the house alive and are very knowledgeable. Entry is free but worth a donation. Do visit if you are in Weymouth, it will only take around half an hour.

Thank Teresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary S, Charity Volunteer at The Tudor House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

We are glad you enjoyed your visit but must remind everyone that entry is not free at the Tudor House Museum, Trinity Street, Weymouth.
The Tudor House is open for Guided Tours only which cost £4 per adult, £1 for children, £1.50 for students and a concessionary £1 rate for anyone restricted to the downstairs only. Please leave a bit longer than 30 minutes for a tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

This is a small museum presents a guide to the style of living in the early seventeenth century for a middle class family.
The history of the house is brought to life by the very interesting and enthusiastic guide during the tour of the house. I would highly recommend a visit and strongly recommend that you opt for the guided tour.

Thank rvb269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

What a lovely house. Great care has been taken to restore the building. The staff were very pleasant and knowledgeable. Each room has a remote activation to tell a story about that particular room. Fully enjoyed the experience.

Thank kazzybrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Have tried a few times to visit but it is only open on certain days and times, this time we were lucky, the guide was fun and knew her stuff, an enjoyable hour was spent and we came away knowing a lot more about the area. It is not advertised and unless you were looking for it you could quite easily walk past.

1  Thank havetosaynow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary S, Charity Volunteer at The Tudor House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

We are pleased that you enjoyed your tour of the Tudor House Museum. Our Guides enjoy showing visitors around the House and sharing any local knowledge.

During the times that the House is open to the public we usually display large signs at the top of the road, half way down the road and outside of the House itself. We have a board attached to the House advertising our opening times and all detail can be found on our web site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

Very interesting
We had decided to visit anyway , but it was suggested we had only gone in because of the rain . We had a good hour of information on the house and the Tudor period and way of life. The volunteers were very knowledgeable we had Jenny as our guide .

Thank Doreen Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary S, Charity Volunteer at The Tudor House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review Tudor House. We are so glad you enjoyed your tour and I will pass your comments onto your Guide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tudor House also viewed

 

Been to The Tudor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing