We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off chance for lunch”

Village Inn Bar & Grill
Price range: US$7 - US$34
Cuisines: British, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Village Inn is one of Bowness-on-Windermere's most popular bars, situated just seconds from the shores of Lake Windermere and is open daily from 10am until late, serving fresh, locally sourced produce, with homemade pasta dishes and creations from the grill, a speciality. The bar offers a wide range of real ales and an excellent selection of vodkas, beers, brandies, and an extensive wine list with 50 wines from around the globe. In the summer, the Village Inn also launched a new range of alcoholic and non-alcoholic cocktails, which have proved especially popular, in addition to new outside furniture and heaters. The Village Inn Bar and Grill is in the heart of Bowness-on-Windermere, its busy restaurant and bar make it a great place for locals and tourists a like. Come and see for yourself!
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stopped by on the off chance we could get sone lunch as everywhere is always so busy.. This wasn't any different but we didn't have to wait long for a table.. The staff were friendly and made sure we were shown to a table as soon as possible.. Ordered off the app which was fairly simple.. Drinks came very quick.. We had the sizzling chicken kebabs on a hanging skewer and they were lovely! Very tasty and massive chunky chips.. Really enjoyed it and by far the best meal we had for the week we were there!

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank melissagU9968JU
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 27 of 2,293 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were visiting windemere and just went in here on the off chance. We had 3 bagels and a kids meal. The food portion was amazing and quality too. I had the ham hock bagel which came with chips and slaw, it was amazing for the price we paid. Only down side was that we had to order ourself on an app which was a little annoying, other restaurants have returned to face to face service, otherwise I would have given 5 stars. However, if we are ever in windemere again we will definitely return.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank NicoFarthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We been late and kitchen stopped serving food, but we said that we walked all bars and you are the last bar, then he said that alright sit in
Amazing experience, fingers licking food, helpful staff, will definitely come back tomorrow

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Linaskas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 August 2021

Staff seemed sick of their lives, I hate my job was written all over their faces. Decor was a lot to be desired, garish & cheap looking with extremely uncomfortable 80’s style sun lounge seats which were so hard I couldn’t feel the tops of my legs when I left. Long wait for food and very disappointing when it finally arrived. Extremely overpriced, the burger was in a pitta bread which is very bizarre . For £16 you would expect a brioche bun at least. Music was very loud and distracting, honestly felt like I was experiencing a cheap weekend in Benidorm. It was by no means a classy night in any way shape or form. If you are after a pleasant night with good food , ambience and service don’t venture into this establishment!!!

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank graceo958
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 August 2021

Felt like a rave , music too loud and lots of shouty people . A small child was sick all over the wicker chair and floor and the staff didn’t clean it up . The staff were acting very strange and quite and didn’t ask if the food was good because they problem already knew it was rubbish . The wagyu burger came in a pitter bread . My brother got the fish which was more batter than fish . And was far too expensive I got the hanging chicken kebab which had 4 small pieces of chicken and a few chips for £18 quid . DO NOT COME IT HERE IT IS OVERPRICED AND DISGUSTING.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank elliottgeorgenorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Village Inn Bar & Grill also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Village Inn Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.