We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (639)
Filter reviews
639 results
Traveller rating
415
166
36
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
415
166
36
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rose garden chalet rooms chalet style balcony overlooking the main house bay room fresh fruit lake district cumbrian breakfast evening meal few minutes walk excellent hotel room was large wet room venison eggs benedict cooked breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
235 - 240 of 639 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2015

Food and service from the staff was excellent.The main building and setting were fabulous. Gardens was pretty, with a pleasant stroll down to Bowness Pier, weather was fine too.
Lovely two day break
Thank you to the owners and staff

Room Tip: Couples ask for the main house, Families chalets are best with loads of space.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank christine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2015

We hope that you will be able to have more than a first visit to us, thank you for your lovely review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2015

As the title says,this was our first visit to this hotel and we (wife and myself)were really pleased.Stayed in a Superior single room (one double bed) Absolutely spotless,tea/ coffee refilled for each morning.The breakfast was lovely with a large choice of fruits,cereals and of course a Full English.Didn't eat here in the evening as there is plenty of bars,cafes,restaurants and Chip shops in Bowness.Has reviewed before it's only a 5 minute walk from the hotel to the lake,where you can catch a boat trip or have a lazy half hour watching the world go by !!Walking back to the hotel is a bit uphill has is walking to the shops from the lake but as stated they are only 5 minute walks. Don't let this put you off staying at this hotel it's well worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mark d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2015

We hope that you will be able to visit us again when next in the Lakes, thank you for taking the time to review your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2015

We cannot allow another return visit to Burn How to pass without yet again extolling it's virtues. This is a hotel set apart. Why? The welcome from Mike and the staff. The clean, beautifully decorated rooms. The breakfasts - nowhere could there be more choice of fruits, cereals, etc., and our full Cumbrian served piping hot and cooked to perfection. To 'eat in' for our evening meal was a great decision, so much choice at prices to suit all and a well thought out children's menu - perfect for our grandchildren of 7 and 9 years. Modern, exacting standards amidst a little bit of old England. Peaceful, quiet with ancient trees in lovely grounds and a pre-breakfast stroll to the lake-side only 10 minutes away. Will we return? - Most certainly!!
Jenny and Don Prior.

Room Tip: Have stayed in several rooms - all beautiful and en-suite.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank deprior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2015

Thank you for another wonderful review, it was lovely to see you again and we look forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2015

We booked a family room here on a busy night in August on our way up to Scotland, we were lucky to find a hotel that could fit 5 of us in and I liked the look of the hotel on the internet.
When we arrived we were very quickly checked in. The rooms are in blocks outside so I am glad it wasn't raining. You walk up some steps to a small patio with a table and chairs and then into the room. It is like any other hotel room really, beds, bathroom and kettle etc. We had a double, a single and a bunk so it was well set up for the 5 of us. It was clean but dated and the window didn't close properly which left me worried about the children's tablets that had been left on the sill.
Disappointed that we were in the middle of a large, rowdy family. It would have been much better to put the family in rooms together, they were running up and down between their rooms late at night and early the next morning which was disturbing.
We ate in the restaurant which was delicious, as was breakfast.
Check out was slow but the staff were still trying to serve breakfast.
In all, it served a purpose as a stop over but I wouldn't have wanted to stop more than a night.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank197537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, we are sorry that we did not meet your expectations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2015

Positives:
+ good breakfast and service - although one of the waiters appeared to stressed when serving in the weekend when thee was a lot of people. 
+ great location 5 mins from that boat tours and 5-10 minutes from shopping and restaurant areas..
+ helpful staff in general.
+ hotel offers some vouchers which you can use to obtain discounts for the lake boat trips.
 
Negatives:
- no fridge in the rooms. Hotel offered to store baby food/milk in the reception fridge.
- not a lot of attention paid to instructions left at booking.com reservation
- steps at room door is challenging for guests with kids in strollers.
- shower temperature oscillates badly every time a neighboring room start the water 
- Hotel manual shows the presence of portable baby monitors which got us very excited, but not for so long, when we later discovered it do not exist, and the built in monitors do not work any more as we understood.
- The room have heaters, which are automatically turned off at about 3 AM in the morning - the kids woke up every night at that time feeling cold.
 
I would look for an alternate hotel next time.

Room Tip: Choose a room with no steps if you have kids in strollers.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ayoub W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2015

We always like guest feedback and thank you for taking the time to review your stay.We are sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations
We are a little confused at your comment re instructions on Booking.com, this only told us how old your children were,and how many .
As our rooms are situated in the grounds of the hotel the garden chalets rooms which run down the drive and are used for families as they are the larger rooms they do have steps up to them.
We do have a portable baby monitor and we are sorry that this was not found for you. Our heating is on timers for certain seasons but if you had mentioned this to us we could have altered for your comfort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews