We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Great time!!

Great experience. Boats were well maintained and dry(it was chucking it down so that was a bonus... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
cecdesigner1
,
Birmingham, United Kingdom
via mobile
Fun on the lake

Our boat was called Sandra. We had a lovely hour on the lake. The boat was clean and safe. Thank... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
AngelaR0
,
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 4,069 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Bowness-on-Windermere
from US$328.91
More Info
from US$439.49
More Info
from US$85.80
More Info
from US$65.21
More Info
Reviews (4,069)
Filter reviews
4,069 results
Traveller rating
2,645
1,125
194
51
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,645
1,125
194
51
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam train yellow cruise top deck boat trip lovely cruise return trip interesting commentary minute cruise steamers ticket office great trip enjoyable trip windermere lake self drive evening cruise value for money points of interest
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 4,069 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2021

Absolutely amazing day out with the family. Stunning views and friendly staff. They helped and looked after my partner as she couldn’t get on the boat and let her hang around and kept her company whilst me and the boys took the boat trip.

Date of experience: June 2021
Thank craigyd07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere L, Director of Sales at Windermere Lake Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2021

We were delighted to be of assistance to ensure that you could all have a great experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2021

Great service at Waterhead Boat Hire - very friendly and helpful staff. We had a great afternoon on the lake.

Date of experience: June 2021
Thank Annamch21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere L, Director of Sales at Windermere Lake Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2021

We will pass your comments to the team at Waterhead, we are delighted that you had a great afternoon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2021

We had bought a combined ticket for the Steam train from Haverthwaite and a boat ride. The train pulls into Lakeside station where you connect with the boat to take you to Bowness or onto Ambleside. We had chosen outdoor seating (we had checked the weather in advance) and were lucky to get at the front of the boat...lovely 40 minute ride to Bowness the scenery is stunning. Very busy at the dockside on arrival but the have it all sorted as to the queuing system. The boat was late on the return but the steam train waits for it to fetch you back to your starting point.
The boats main handling areas were cleaned at the port-side with wipes etc....we travelled on 'The Swan 'upstream and' The Tern' downstream.

Date of experience: May 2021
1  Thank Woody16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere L, Director of Sales at Windermere Lake Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2021

We are delighted that the combined experience was a great one. The boat and the train are timetabled, so that even if one is running a little behind, the other will always wait

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2021 via mobile

The whole experience was absolutely incredible, booking was easy and convenient and definitely worth the money. We booked an hour on the self drive boats and we were not disappointed. The boats were very easy to drive and the views on the water were amazing. Would definitely recommend and would do again if in the area. The staff were also extremely friendly and helpful

Date of experience: April 2021
Thank Will321E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere L, Director of Sales at Windermere Lake Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2021

Thanks for your wonderful review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2021 via mobile

We took the Blue Cruise as a circular trip around Bowness and the nearby Islands. The trip cost £10 per person and lasted around 45 minutes. We would encourage you to purchase this online at least the day before to skip the queues and disappointments!

Date of experience: May 2021
Thank ourwanderings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere L, Director of Sales at Windermere Lake Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2021

Our Islands Cruise is great way to see the lake, and pre booking is essential during busier times

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews