We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Laurel Cottage B&B
Nearby Hotels
The Burn How Garden House Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$207
US$186
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windermere Hydro Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lindeth Howe(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$150
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$231
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Linthwaite House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ryebeck(Bowness-on-Windermere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Storrs Hall(Bowness-on-Windermere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield(Bowness-on-Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (319)
Filter reviews
319 results
Traveller rating
191
87
22
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
191
87
22
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsperfect locationsteep inclinecar parkfull englishtwo nightsmcdonald hotelweekend breakfriendly ownersbiscuitswarm welcomeboth morningsbars and restaurantsbreakfast was deliciouscouldn't do enoughmy partnerperfect staytwo night stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 319 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

We had problems with family members up and down 3 Stories of stairs and decided to move hotels because there was no other rooms available which was fair enough. We were then promised if the room is taken then the manager/owner would look at some sort of reimbursement which was fair play which we understood and didn’t expect the full amount of £400.
When we contacted the hotel / cottage .... yes Cottage with 3 stories !! the following Monday we were then told that the rooms were never taken .... really in Bowness ?? So we were told that no refund or reimbursement will take place and we will lose the full £400.
We travel to the lakes 6 - 8 times per year and I’ve got to say the attitude of the manager / owner was very unprofessional and threatening Safe to say we won’t be using again. An event that could of been easily resolved with the correct attitude, resolution and courtesy.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
5  Thank Harry6972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel01539445594, Owner at Laurel Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Im sorry you had to write this review we have tried to help you as much as we can.
You first cancelled an non refundable booking days before you were due to arrive so although we don't have to move your dates or refund your money as stated on booking.com when you book.
We said don't worry, we will move your booking to another date.
On none of these occasions did you request no stairs, all of our rooms are upstairs. When you arrived at the later date we checked you in and you used the room for several hours, only later that night you decided that the room would not be suitable so we offered you a room lower down but this was not acceptable to you as it was a smaller room which was the only one left .
Then you asked for a refund which we did not have to offer as you booked a non refundable room and we had changed the date two times (we had done this out the kindess of our hearts) & lost money on the second weekend as it was so late in the day the room did not get rebooked, if it had of we would of refunded this amount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

excellent position in the centre of Bowness , with free parking on site. Our room was at the front but we didn't have any issues with noise . Breakfast was ample , good quality produce too. Friendly owners who were very thoughtful and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JFEHUDDERSFIELD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

Booked here for a last minute stay last night. Perfect location right in the centre. Friendly warm welcome great nights sleep clean cosy rooms and even more amazing breakfast. We will be back thank you

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kenna104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

We visited the cottage weekend just gone, it was my partners birthday, so we were happy to upgrade to ‘superior’ room with view and four poster bed. Whilst room itself and the cottage was nice enough, our mattress was so worn out, it was impossible to actually sleep on. Not only it was all lumpy, but the springs digger into your back as you lie down. I barely slept the first night and neither did my partner, such a shame as it sort of ruined the next day, as we were too tired to enjoy ourselves. When we complained about the mattress the next morning, owners didn’t seem to be too surprised and swapped it with another mattress, as few of the guests left by then. Still, shocking experience, especially paying extra £30 per night for a ‘superior’ room. Given the mattress issue, would of thought owners would at least apologise and not charge the extra for first night, but it didn’t happen. Such a shame, as when we first arrived, we were already planning the next visit, but think we’ll be looking for another hotel or b&b. I know, the owners can say they don’t sleep in those beds, but the mattress was so visibly worn out, you would not miss it and giving that we are not exactly the fussiest of all people, we were unable to sleep on that mattress and it actually really hurt my back, with the spring digging into the back, I am sure we would of not been the first to complain, it really is shocking that mattress that worn out would be used for anyone to sleep on, let alone paying clients. I wanted to surprise my partner for a birthday to remember, unfortunately the lack of sleep on the first night, for what you call a ‘superior’ room, left a sour taste.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
5  Thank duffill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

First time to stay here, and we enjoyed it. Staff are lovely and welcoming, rooms are clean, lovely and warm and comfy beds,soft towels in rooms and toiletries. Tea and coffee making facilities also in room.
Breakfast was delicious.
This is in a perfect location, and also free parking.
We will be returning, wouldn’t go anywhere else, and we have stayed in several different hotels/b&bs.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Kirsty727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews