We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend break”
Review of Laurel Cottage B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Laurel Cottage B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

Loverly location and very friendly staff, also a very nice breakfast. However, I understand due to the type of building that they have to maintain the old periodic look of the building. But, the room was cluttered with useless furniture, space could have been better utilised by removing the chair and table etc. The worst part of the room was the bed, every movement was followed by a loud creek and the mattress was thin and very very soft and uncomfortable. Woke up with bad back after first day, parking was also not well planned. Great location though and flexible opening.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

Recently stayed here and I have enjoyed several weeks. The rooms are tasteful decorated and the ensuite rooms of a good size. Tv screens good with signal. Looks like a family run business quiet informal.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank clive b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

We had problems with family members up and down 3 Stories of stairs and decided to move hotels because there was no other rooms available which was fair enough. We were then promised if the room is taken then the manager/owner would look at some sort of reimbursement which was fair play which we understood and didn’t expect the full amount of £400.
When we contacted the hotel / cottage .... yes Cottage with 3 stories !! the following Monday we were then told that the rooms were never taken .... really in Bowness ?? So we were told that no refund or reimbursement will take place and we will lose the full £400.
We travel to the lakes 6 - 8 times per year and I’ve got to say the attitude of the manager / owner was very unprofessional and threatening Safe to say we won’t be using again. An event that could of been easily resolved with the correct attitude, resolution and courtesy.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
5  Thank Harry6972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel01539445594, Owner at Laurel Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Im sorry you had to write this review we have tried to help you as much as we can.
You first cancelled an non refundable booking days before you were due to arrive so although we don't have to move your dates or refund your money as stated on booking.com when you book.
We said don't worry, we will move your booking to another date.
On none of these occasions did you request no stairs, all of our rooms are upstairs. When you arrived at the later date we checked you in and you used the room for several hours, only later that night you decided that the room would not be suitable so we offered you a room lower down but this was not acceptable to you as it was a smaller room which was the only one left .
Then you asked for a refund which we did not have to offer as you booked a non refundable room and we had changed the date two times (we had done this out the kindess of our hearts) & lost money on the second weekend as it was so late in the day the room did not get rebooked, if it had of we would of refunded this amount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

excellent position in the centre of Bowness , with free parking on site. Our room was at the front but we didn't have any issues with noise . Breakfast was ample , good quality produce too. Friendly owners who were very thoughtful and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JFEHUDDERSFIELD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

Booked here for a last minute stay last night. Perfect location right in the centre. Friendly warm welcome great nights sleep clean cosy rooms and even more amazing breakfast. We will be back thank you

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kenna104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.2 km away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,512 reviews
0.5 km away
The Westbourne
The Westbourne
#8 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
401 reviews
0.1 km away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#6 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Oakfold House
Oakfold House
#4 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
439 reviews
1.7 km away
Laurel Cottage Windermere
Laurel Cottage Windermere
#36 of 107 in Windermere
243 reviews
0.4 km away
Blenheim Lodge
Blenheim Lodge
#27 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Cottage B&B

Address: B&B Kendal Road St. Martins Square, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: RM 458 - RM 524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Laurel Cottage B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laurel cottage is under new ownership since March 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Laurel Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laurel Cottage Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Laurel Cottage Bed And Breakfast
Laurel Cottage B&B Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing