We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Old Court House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    The Burn How Garden House Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
    US$165
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    US$257
    US$175
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Pool
    Brooklands Guest House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
    US$104
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa(Bowness-on-Windermere)
    US$262
    US$211
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    Fairfield Garden Guest House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
    Free cancellation until 28/07
    US$98
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Elim Lodge(Bowness-on-Windermere)(Great Value!)
    Book now, pay at stay
    US$140
    US$120
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    • Free Parking
    Beechwood Guest House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
    US$95
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Aphrodites Boutique Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
    Free cancellation until 28/07
    US$308
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Lonsdale House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (327)
    Filter reviews
    327 results
    Traveller rating
    198
    87
    23
    12
    7
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    198
    87
    23
    12
    7
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsperfect locationcar parkfull englishweekend breakfriendly ownersboth morningsbiscuitswarm welcomesteep hillbreakfast was deliciousbars and restaurantscouldn't do enoughnight staymy partnerperfect staystayed for nightsfour poster bed
    Filter
    Updating list...
    16 - 21 of 327 reviews
    Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

    Recently stayed here and I have enjoyed several weeks. The rooms are tasteful decorated and the ensuite rooms of a good size. Tv screens good with signal. Looks like a family run business quiet informal.

    Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    1  Thank clive b
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

    We had problems with family members up and down 3 Stories of stairs and decided to move hotels because there was no other rooms available which was fair enough. We were then promised if the room is taken then the manager/owner would look at some sort of reimbursement which was fair play which we understood and didn’t expect the full amount of £400.
    When we contacted the hotel / cottage .... yes Cottage with 3 stories !! the following Monday we were then told that the rooms were never taken .... really in Bowness ?? So we were told that no refund or reimbursement will take place and we will lose the full £400.
    We travel to the lakes 6 - 8 times per year and I’ve got to say the attitude of the manager / owner was very unprofessional and threatening Safe to say we won’t be using again. An event that could of been easily resolved with the correct attitude, resolution and courtesy.

    Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    5  Thank Harry6972
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Tel01539445594, Owner at Laurel Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

    Im sorry you had to write this review we have tried to help you as much as we can.
    You first cancelled an non refundable booking days before you were due to arrive so although we don't have to move your dates or refund your money as stated on booking.com when you book.
    We said don't worry, we will move your booking to another date.
    On none of these occasions did you request no stairs, all of our rooms are upstairs. When you arrived at the later date we checked you in and you used the room for several hours, only later that night you decided that the room would not be suitable so we offered you a room lower down but this was not acceptable to you as it was a smaller room which was the only one left .
    Then you asked for a refund which we did not have to offer as you booked a non refundable room and we had changed the date two times (we had done this out the kindess of our hearts) & lost money on the second weekend as it was so late in the day the room did not get rebooked, if it had of we would of refunded this amount.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 25 October 2017

    excellent position in the centre of Bowness , with free parking on site. Our room was at the front but we didn't have any issues with noise . Breakfast was ample , good quality produce too. Friendly owners who were very thoughtful and helpful.

    • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    2  Thank JFEHUDDERSFIELD
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

    Booked here for a last minute stay last night. Perfect location right in the centre. Friendly warm welcome great nights sleep clean cosy rooms and even more amazing breakfast. We will be back thank you

    Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    1  Thank kenna104
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

    We visited the cottage weekend just gone, it was my partners birthday, so we were happy to upgrade to ‘superior’ room with view and four poster bed. Whilst room itself and the cottage was nice enough, our mattress was so worn out, it was impossible to actually sleep on. Not only it was all lumpy, but the springs digger into your back as you lie down. I barely slept the first night and neither did my partner, such a shame as it sort of ruined the next day, as we were too tired to enjoy ourselves. When we complained about the mattress the next morning, owners didn’t seem to be too surprised and swapped it with another mattress, as few of the guests left by then. Still, shocking experience, especially paying extra £30 per night for a ‘superior’ room. Given the mattress issue, would of thought owners would at least apologise and not charge the extra for first night, but it didn’t happen. Such a shame, as when we first arrived, we were already planning the next visit, but think we’ll be looking for another hotel or b&b. I know, the owners can say they don’t sleep in those beds, but the mattress was so visibly worn out, you would not miss it and giving that we are not exactly the fussiest of all people, we were unable to sleep on that mattress and it actually really hurt my back, with the spring digging into the back, I am sure we would of not been the first to complain, it really is shocking that mattress that worn out would be used for anyone to sleep on, let alone paying clients. I wanted to surprise my partner for a birthday to remember, unfortunately the lack of sleep on the first night, for what you call a ‘superior’ room, left a sour taste.

    Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    5  Thank duffill
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews