We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveller rating
124
22
8
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
124
22
8
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews perfect hosts tea and biscuits recommend this b b to anyone car park rooms are clean bed and breakfast feel very welcome top floor cooked to perfection perfect location friendly hosts poached eggs long weekend full english breakfast cooked breakfast my partner fridge
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 160 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

The decor is quite dated but everything is comfortable like the beds and the sofa. It’s very spacious and I like that there’s a fridge. The tv is quite large too and the room is tidied daily though the towels and bedding weren’t changed at all during our 4 day stay.

It had quite a nice atmosphere however the walls were quite thin and we could hear the couple next door leaving and entering and a child upstairs crying and screaming a lot. There’s no actual reception just the disused tea room below that we didn’t see open or anyone in during our time there.

I’d tried calling ahead too to see if I could organise any birthday surprises for my boyfriend but the phone numbers I tried didn’t work and couldn’t get in touch and there was no email address which was quite frustrating.

It has a great location right in the heart of bowness and only five minutes from the public Car park. It had a nice view from the window and it was lovely listening to outside and it was summery when the window was open.

There was also a sign on the door saying no food, takeaways, drink or smoking in the rooms or there’d be a £100 fine which was strange and slightly annoying because of the tea and biscuits supplied, the lack of working cafe, and obviously the fridge.

Otherwise I didn’t mind our stay there but I probably wouldn’t go back.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jess C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

Booked this place through another website but worth a review on here as a warning. The photographs are in zero way an accurate representation. When we arrived we walked through the coffee shop (which is never open) following a socially awkward scouse guy. We were left in the room to drop bags and go for a wander. The location is ideal near the lake itself and surrounded by bars and restaurants and a 5 minute walk from a public car park which you will need to use if travelling by car. The room was spacious but appeared average at best. The carpet was grim, two single beds just pushed together which didnt line up properly, dirty fridge under the TV. There was a pretty and ornate dressing table in there which didnt seem to belong with the rest of the decor which was rushed, and poorly put together. The coat hooks on the door were put on with a single screw rather then the two required so you couldnt use them at all. This story continued in the bathroom which was a journey back to 1954. Everything was outdated, horrific suite, looked like a lick of paint had been slapped on the wall but it was patchy, spray from the pain on the floor so clearly hadnt even bothered to cover before painting. Paint was on all of the items screwed to the wall and hadnt been cleaned off (although it would have been easier to take fixings off the wall before paining). Everything was sloppy and just very poor quality. As for the name, the only view of the lake was from the shower and this was very slight. I still dont understand why there is plain glass in the bathroom, it's of zero benefit and made my partner quite uncomfortable while having a shower even with the (very) questionable blind rolled down. Would not be staying there again. Staff were nowhere to be seen apart from on arrival and on the morning of our departure and the place just isnt as advertised.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank bowmaker2130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018 via mobile

Highly recommended. Location ideal, near the lake & right in the middle of the shops & bars. Room spacious, clean & well presented. Owner/ Manager always on hand and very helpful / friendly. Perfect for a weekend break

Date of stay: February 2018
Thank glennvkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

We stayed at the Lake View for a long weekend. The service from the moment we arrived was 1st class and could not be faulted. The room was very clean and warm and the bed was extremely comfortable. The only issue we encountered was the television, not being able to change channels without it freezing. The bathroom was okay, with the shower cubicle being very spacious.
The breakfasts were brilliant and well worth the money. we will definately be returning

Date of stay: February 2018
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed at Lake View Guest House recently... Staff Very friendly. We were worried as being on the top floor there was not Fire Escape and No notification on Fire Exit should there be a Fire....Bathroom Too small... Cracked floor tiles... Sharp edges with Tiles

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kilnadeema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews