We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

The Owl & The Pussycat
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Was very impressed with the food, service and very friendly staff. Very reasonable prices. Enjoyed our visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank beegirl29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angiechezza, General Manager at The Owl & The Pussycat, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you for taking time to review us. I am really pleased you enjoyed your visit. I will pass your comments on to the team.

Hope to see you all again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

came here for dinner with the girlfriend was very quiet i ordered the 8oz steak sizzler the girlfriend the big plate gammon food to their credit came quickly girlfriend's gammon seemed acceptable unfortunately my steak was presented as if it where an island surrounded by a sea of grease was rather chewy and rather tasteless i ate it as i was hungry never again

Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angiechezza, General Manager at The Owl & The Pussycat, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Hello

I’m really sorry to hear you were unhappy with the quality of your steak on your recent visit.
We do try and ensure by carrying out check backs, that we can rectify any issues with quality at the time of your visit and would have been more than happy to replace this for you.

I hope this will not deter you from visiting us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

Very good food quickly and cheap especially if you get it on their offer nights. Would go back tomorrow

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank minijimmy321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angiechezza, General Manager at The Owl & The Pussycat, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Hi

Thank you for your great review. Hope to see you again soon!

Angie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018

Booked the week before and had to pay a £10 deposit. Booked a table for 5 for 4pm. Arrived at 3.55 and was shown straight to our table. We picked what we wanted and there is loads to choose from but then had to stand in a queue for 15 mins to order the food to then be told there is a 45 min wait on all meals. It was busy but that’s not acceptable. The food eventually arrived 1 hour later but was all good and tasty. We then after a little breather picked our puddings. 2 out of 5 of us went and joined the queue again to order. Whilst they were queuing a man with a clipboard came over to us and said whose shown you to this table please? To which I said the lady over there with the Clipboard and to our horror he then said I’m going to have to ask you to take your drinks to the bar and finish them there!!!! To which I replied I don’t think so as we haven’t even had our puddings yet !!! He sheepishly scuttled off ...... appalling customer service and out a dampener on the afternoon ... puddings were all nice but we felt under pressure to eat em and get out !!!

Thank moni1967-Villa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angiechezza, General Manager at The Owl & The Pussycat, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Hello

Thank you for your feedback on Mothering Sunday. I am really pleased you all enjoyed your meals and puddings.

I am sorry to hear that you felt rushed, which was never our intention.

I hope this has not deterred you from visiting ourselves in the future.
Thank you

Angie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018

as a family of 9 we booked for mothers day 11/03/18 and what a fantastic experience!
staff were extremely helpful, food was fantastic and served quickly and the price was very reasonable, never mind the freebies we received. all in all an amazing experience. well done all at the owl and the pussycat barrow.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dannyhess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angiechezza, General Manager at The Owl & The Pussycat, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Hello

Thank you for taking time to give us such a great review!
It’s great to hear you all enjoyed your visit on Mothering Sunday.

Hope to see you all again soon!

Angie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Owl & The Pussycat also viewed

Barrow-in-Furness, Lake District
Barrow-in-Furness, Lake District
 
Barrow-in-Furness, Lake District
Barrow-in-Furness, Lake District
 
Barrow-in-Furness, Lake District
Barrow-in-Furness, Lake District
 

Been to The Owl & The Pussycat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing