We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearby bars playing loud music until 2am”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2017

Overall the hotel was fine and is located in the centre of Durham.

I’d arrived on a busy Friday night at 9.30pm and had to wait for quite a while to be checked in (the staff were busy which was fair enough but none of them had acknowledged that I was stood there waiting for some minutes).

My room was on the fourth floor and was on the side of the building closest to the nearby bars which did become a bit of a nightmare as there was loud music playing until exactly 2am (I’d read other reviewers mention this but I’d hoped that it might have been exaggerated- it wasn’t unfortunately).

The car parking for the hotel is directly behind the building. If you can park on level one near the exit there’s a door that takes you out within meters of the hotel reception. The tariff is only very slightly subsidised by the hotel- it’s normally £9 for 24 hours but it is £7.70 if you get your ticket validated on departure.

Room Tip: Perhaps request a room on the side of the hotel away from the bars
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank StuWitton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Premier Inn Team at Premier Inn Durham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Hi Stu,

Thanks for your review.

While I'm glad you enjoyed most parts of your stay and you found the location handy, I'm sorry you were kept awake by noise from the nearby bars.

Unfortunately, due to our central location even with our insulated windows we're unable to prevent all noise. We do however appreciate the disruption this would cause and apologise you were kept awake until 2am.

When we're unable to provide an onsite car park we try our best to offer a discounted rate and apologise the cost was higher than expected. We will pass your feedback on to the Manager for future discussions with the parking provider.

If you do stay again, although we're unable to guarantee room requests please contact us and we'll try to arrange a room at the back of the hotel.

I hope we have the chance to welcome you back in future.

Kind Regards,

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,612)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Durham City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 58 of 1,612 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2017

We are big fans of Premier Inn and use them whenever we can. We find they often out perform more expensive hotels. A case in point from this trip - their breakfast was cheaper and comfortably better that the MacDonald's hotel we stayed in earlier in our trip! As usual with Premier Inn the service was excellent and facilities are the best the best the budget hotel market has to offer. This one is in a fabulous location in central Durham.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keefey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
1  Thank happyaces
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 July 2017

An excellent staff who couldn't do enough to enhance our stay. Premier Inn should be proud of their professionalism. Howver, to have to pay nearly £24 for three days parking was unacceptable and PremierInn should seek a better agreement with the owners of the adjoining multi storey car park!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

All the things that you expect and commonly get at UK Premier Inns are here in the centre of Durham - rooms with comfy beds, clean and good showers and adequate wifi for all users. You get a bit more at Durham City: a really warm welcome when you arrive and each time you return to the hotel; cheerful and helpful staff; constantly well-stocked breakfast buffet even when approaching the end-time and generally smooth operations and service.

The location is perfect for castle/cathedral and also for city bars and restaurants. Avoid rooms facing the busy restaurants (especially Fri/Sat) if you re light or early sleepers.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room if in doubt.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.2 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.4 km away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.9 km away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,119 reviews
2.7 km away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#12 of 18 in Durham
436 reviews
4.8 km away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Durham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Durham City Centre

Address: Freemans place | Walkergate, Durham DH1 1SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#3 Business Hotel in Durham
#3 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range: RM312 - RM595 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Durham City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Durham, home to the World Heritage Site of Durham Castle and Cathedral ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Durham City Centre Hotel Durham
Durham Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing